We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Two Weeks Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Two Weeks Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just returned yesterday from a two week stay at the Ixchel and I can't say enough about how perfect it was. Stayed in a single room on the penthouse floor of the west tower and I couldn't have been happier. Sure, the beds were firm but I had no trouble sleeping. Room was very clean ... my guy Angel made sure of that and often surprised me with my towels molded into different characters. Everyone was very kind and helpful --- and they put up with a very large, rambunctious wedding party with no problem. Arturio at the Kalak Cafe was brilliant and we felt we were leaving a friend when we left. Location is perfect for strolling thru the main part of town, restaurants abound, lots of shopping. Rented golf courts for a couple of days and explored the sourthern part of the Island; even took a day trip to Chicen Itza that was fabulous. We had considered staying at the Privelege but so glad we didn't. Already planning a trip next year and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else ...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LunaToones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    332
    86
    29
    17
See reviews for
374
540
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is our third time staying at Ixchel. The first and second time we stayed in phase 2 (the west side of the hotel). The pool at phase 2 is heated a little bit warmer than the one at Phase 1 and the beds are harder in Phase 2 (like a slab of concrete) even with an egg topper on them. This year we stayed on the Phase 1 side ground floor, beach front units (110/109). It was great! The kids could just walk out the door to the pool or the beach and we could see them from the windows or while we were sitting on the patio. The kitchen was well stocked and the full-size range and oven were a plus. We cooked dinner in a few nights. The beach and swimming are wonderful on Playa Norte. The water is warm and clear.

Around the Island:

On Hildalgo Street we ate at Compadres (use to be Bucaneros) 3 times. They have good food and excellent service!

There is an awesome Italia Ice-cream (gelato) shop off Hildalgo on your way back to the hotel. The guy has been there for years and his gelato is "to die for".

Also, on Hildaglo Street on the right hand side as you are coming from the hotel there is great restaurant next to a clothing store and there is an alley that runs between them, and across the street is a Padi dive shop. The chef there is really talented. All the dishes had lots of flavor and were great! (Sorry can't remember the name).

Some of the best fish tacos ever are found at Velasquez. It is on the beach on Avenue Rueda Medina

For your grocery shopping needs there is a BIG supermercado in town (not on Hildalgo Street) called Chedraui (spelling?). You will have to rent a golf cart or take a taxi to get there. Well worth the trip.

We love Isla Mujeres! We had stayed in Cancun and Cozumel before we found Isla and we will never go back to the others!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidisue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

First let me say Isla is AMAZING - we picked it for our destination wedding because we wanted amazing beaches without paying the cost to travel to the Bahamas - Ixchel has the best beach on the island - we went Sept 21 for 7 days which is considered low season and it was incredible - The hotel was great - we had the pent house suite as we had a big group staying at the hotel so we got a great deal.

The hotel are actually condos that people rent out through the hotel. Each unit it diffrent but they all have a kitchen which will allow you to pack a cooler - have drinks and make sandwhiches if you choose to save money. Also the island is small so the hotel sits in the heart of the down town area - the town is dead after 10pm. Only two or 3 bars that are open for late night fun. The island is definetly not a party island - go to Cancun for that.

I highly recommend staying here - they are great and we had a blast - you cant go wrong with the location and price. This is not an all inclusive hotel and i highly recommend NOT doing all inslusive the island is perfect to walk around or rent a golf cart and explore.. very safe and friendly. I wouldnt have changed a thing.. we will be going back and all of our friends said it was the best vacation/ wedding they have been too

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imenen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night at the Ixchel last week, and I want to give it another chance. Its a great property, located in the middle of the best beach on the island. The views are extensive and the buildings are quite clean and lovely. we only gave them 24 hours notice that we needed a room and they only had a couple left, so I wasn't surprised that our room wasn't as great as we'd hoped. We were able to tour one of the penthouse suites, though, and I think that next year we are going to try to get one.
If you do stay there, request a room in Phase One, or the east tower, the rooms are family owned condos and looked cared for.
Things I didn't like about the hotel, there are no hot tubs or jacuzzis by the pool. The pools don't get much sun in the mornings because of the shade, and they have a very small deck area. Other than that, we will probably book here next year.

Room Tip: Request a room in the east tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ok so let's get the ugly part of this review out of the way because the postitives will outweigh the negatives! Stayed in Unit #507 & #508 in West Tower (Phase2) and the beds were made for Fred Flinstone apparently. Begged over 3 days at front desk for an additional 'Egg Crate' topper and they swore there were no spares. 1st night hips & ribs were so sore from that bed I was ready to move to another hotel! They added 2 Blankets underneath to help and as long as we slept on our backs we were fine. Not comfy-but just fine. The Units sparse furnishings were tired, some chair covers were stained, there was no dresser in either bedroom so we had to keep suitcase out which was LAME and the kitchen equip was just OK and some stuff needed to be rewashed (ick). Now the good stuff....the view was incredible, the balconey was very generous and location on the North Beach Fantastic. The pools were clean and very warm. Staff were very friendly and while we were there we looked at other units which DID have great beds, were nicely furnished and kitchens equipped very nicely so there are some good units there. It's well worth the money if you get a decent unit but I would avoid #507 & #508 unless they seriously overhaul it.

Room Tip: Rooms in West Tower (Phase 2) that were perfect; 609 & 610 and 407 & 408.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthBeach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.5 km away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
3.1 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.1 km away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
6.2 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing