We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel Las Palmas is the perfect home away from home. The owners (Kate and Safari) greeted us with open arms and made us feel very comfortable. We received a tour of the new community kitchen on the rooftop terrace that has more appliances than our kitchen at home.
Our room was super clean and no shortage of showering hot water during any time of the day. Each room is equipped with a small bar fridge, ceiling fan, and air conditionning. The entire atmosphere in this hotel is so relaxing. You can suntan on the rooftop or relax in the pool, or sit in the shade and watch the island pass you by under any of the shady areas on the first, second, or rooftop. For those of you are "chatty Kathy's" and want to socialize there is plenty of that during the many "happy hours" on the rooftop, but if you want a quiet, lazy holiday the hotel is big enough for that as well.
We have been to Isla on several occasions and as a rule we never stay at the same hotel twice, but after experiencing Las Palmas we have already booked our December stay with this lovely hotel/guest house.
We look forward to seeing Kate, Safari, Dania, Francesco, Cochito, and hopefully Ken and the girls during our next stay.

Room Tip: We preferred the second floor, but to each his/her own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schatzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

safari and the gang are so great, i haven't been in years, but i still think of these guys all the time. the hotel makes you feel like home from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. very close to everywhere you wanna be. 2 blocks away from one of the most amazing beaches anywhere. love this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I had just spent 2 days at a "luxury" B and B on Isla and it was great....wanted to try a new place. Loved this place! If you want a laid-back atmosphere, lots of friendly people and a great location ( right across from the market), look no more. If you want fancy stuff, go elsewhere.
Rooms are nice, beds comfortable. Beach towels and yoga mats available.... roof kitchen/outside area with chairs and a "cool" tub.
I will be back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for a better room.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful trip to Isla Mujeres. My adventure included a stay at 3 different hotels on the island, and by far Hotel Las Palmas was the most welcoming, fun & relaxing place that I stayed.
The roof top deck is spacious, and includes an outdoor kitchen where guests gather over morning coffee, chatting, laughing & becoming friends. There are many lounging options from tables & chairs overlooking the lively street below to a custom made soaking pool!
The first floor has a courtyard with beautiful greenery that create intimate spaces to read & relax, with a fresh water cooler a frig with soda & chocolate, and a nice library.
Kate, her daughter Safari & little Dania are the onsite owners, and have a lovely way about them that cause you to instantly relax, and be present in the moment. The rooms have special touches, excellent water pressure, and of course the beds are so comfortable (by far the best nights sleep), with mosquito netting and crisp sheets.
The beach is so close, restaurants are abundant & very good +++, you can walk to shops of all kinds, book snorkeling trips & check the internet easily while enjoying the leisurely pace.
Hotel Las Palmas is one of those rare places that you dream about finding...and know that you will return to, over & over again.
Great for solo travelers, very safe, I felt comfortable being out at night, and so happy to return to my home away from home after an excellent dinner.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and was peaceful with a nice breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noire48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I don't know what I can add to the other five star reviews. The beds are comfortable, which is important, and it's surprising how many hotel reviews don't mention the comfort level of the beds. These are quality mattresses: good support, but not hard as a rock. Decent pillows, so you won't end up with a sore neck.

All that other stuff about Kate & Safari, cleanliness and affordability are all true.

The courtyard plants and the paint job create a very cool vibe.

Room Tip: I would go for the second floor to take advantage of the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
0.2 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
0.3 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
0.3 km away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
733 reviews
2 km away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: €42 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing