We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Las Palmas for a real 'Hakuna Matata' vibe :)”
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay at Las Palmas for a real 'Hakuna Matata' vibe :)”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I just spent my Christmas at Las Palmas, and it was a wonderful experience! As a young female traveling alone, owners Kate and Safari made sure I felt comfortable and safe and before long I felt like a part of the family at the friendly little yellow hotel.

The environment at Las Palmas is very conducive to socializing and fun, and the open rooftop patio became the venue for more than a few margarita nights with the other guests. Kate and company generously provided all the guests of the hotel with a delicious Christmas feast, which was enjoyed by all.

I stayed in room 5, which I found suited all my needs perfectly. It had great AC, a very comfortable bed, and a personal mini fridge for storing food or suntan lotion :) The whole place is decorated with bright hand-painted murals, and all the foliage in the courtyard provides a fresh, tropical smell throughout the building.

Coming from Vancouver and knowing just a bit of Spanish, my biggest worry was about communication. Luckily these bilingual hosts make everything from reservations to shuttle organization a breeze.

As I said once or twice during my stay, if I had my way I would live there forever. :)

Room Tip: Room 5 was excellent, with a mini fridge, powerful AC and comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicklet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    38
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
116
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The owners and managers at the Hotel Las Palmas were the most helpful and friendly folks you could ever hope to meet. Very attentive to our needs in not only our accommodations but to our overall experience in Isla Mujeres, Cancun, and all surrounding adventures. We were led to some of the most amazing restaurants on the island thanks to their help. We were also given help in traversing the island, the nearby sights and to the ruins of Mayan Mexico. Their knowledge and helpfulness was superb and they are continually adding on to their building in order to give their guests the most comfortable and worthwhile time during their stay. No TV in the rooms was a huge plus. Many communal areas allow guests to socialize with each other and share experiences and make new friends. The location is close to the beach, to Hidalgo Ave and to many shops, restaurants, and transportation hubs. A short walk from the ferry and you are already on your way to the best possible place to stay in one of the most quiet and beautiful places in Mexico. If a real authentic experience with real, good folks is what you want in a vacation then Hotel Las Palmas is the place for you.

Room Tip: Two levels of rooms with an open courtyard. We stayed on the ground level right next to the communal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opieparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location...close to the beach and all of the dining and shopping on Hidalgo Street. Kate and Safari are extremely friendly and instantly made us feel at home. We miss them and Las Palmas already. The rooms are extremely comfortable and have everything you could ever need. For the price this place cant be beat. The icing on the cake was their dog Cachito who we fell in love with instantly and even spent a day with on the beach. We will definaltley be staying at Las Palmas on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zdbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalière, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Fantastic hotel on an amazing island. Forget Cancun, get on a 20min boat ride straight to this hotel where you'll find the warmest welcome along with the best beds ever!
After arriving luggageless (thanks to Airfrance!), very tired and grumpy, we made it to Kate and Safari's cute hotel where our trip was brightened by their smiles! Not only did they all help us get our luggage delivered back to the hotel after three days, they made us feel like we were at home. Very laid back, very clean, giant beds along with a lovely roof top terrace with a dipping pool to cool off- we couldn't have asked for anything better. The beach was a 3 minute walk where we found literal paradise.
Seriously good value for money on a quiet road so no noisey cars to wake you up. Just be advised that you need to be happy to interact with others in the courtyard and not want to scuttle off to your room- that's the fun! Will be back in an instant. x

Room Tip: Choose top floor as it's more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suziabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel feels like you're staying at someone's (very large ;-)) home. Safari was a super-friendly and excellent host and we felt very much at home. Location is great. Rooms are basic and no-nonsense but the hotel is great value-for-money. The sundeck upstairs is a great place to sit in the evening / at night and to wash away yet another splendid day on wonderful Isla Mujeres with an ice cold beer. The hotel has a very personal approach and we loved it. I would especially recommend it if you are travelling with children. They have all sort fo beach gear that they are happy to let you use when you're off to the beach.

Oh yeah, and last but not least... Isla Mujeres is like a postcard; just perfect if you're looking for great beaches and a small town experience (as opposed to the Cancun resorts that you see in the distance).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.3 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 km away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 km away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
3.0 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Property: Hotel Las Palmas
Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing