We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$156
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posada Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$106
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$271
US$209
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$330
US$163
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
US$162
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chac Chi Hotel & Suites(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Poc-Na Hostel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$25
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$551
US$515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
61
32
15
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
32
15
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachinfinity poolnorth sidequiet hotelnice poolenjoyed our staylaid backplaya del carmenper daythe wait staffguacamolesunsetparadiseislanddockbarracudaluis
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Maria's Kan Kin has clearly put most of their money into the restaurant and the beach area. The beach was lovely with a great view and lots of reclining chairs to sit in next to the infinity pool. The room we had was large, with a sitting area, a futon pad on a concrete pad that could be used as a couch, and a queen bed. The air conditioner, ceiling fan, and fridge work once plugged in/turned on. There is wifi in the public areas that works pretty well.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigido a, Gerente at Maria's Kan-kin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Denis , thanks for your comments it will help us to give a better service , hope have enjoy the Island and the Hotel .
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Our accommodations were adequate and the staff eager to please. The small property suited as we did not want to be on a noisy beach. There was noise from a barking dog or two in the area, but quieted finally after a few complaints. The owner had many projects on the way and it would have been better if did not proceed with them while the property had guests. The food was pretty good and we spent time finding as many local places as we could. We did and liked all of them. This is a sweet place and would be sweeter with just a little more effort. Ana and Angel were such nice people to be with. The flowers were lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigido a, Gerente at Maria's Kan-kin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Hi thanks for your comments we appreciate them very much sorry about the dogs are from outside, and workers .
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at this place and it was one too many. The room wasn't clean, aunts all over the room and in the coffee maker. Tried to get coffee from the hotel restaurant but they wouldn't serve us before 9- opening hour.
Bad location and waaaay overpriced!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank LanaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigido a, Gerente at Maria's Kan-kin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thanks for your comments we appreciate it very much we apologize about coffee and aunts will take care about it .
Regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

From the host Anna, the food to the view are indescribable brilliant.

We will definitely come back again to this quiet and breathtaking place which offers a wonderful escape from the rush of the daily life...

From

alemán & tailandesa (Sebastian & Yos)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yos_Suvadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigido a, Gerente at Maria's Kan-kin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thanks for your comments we appreciate it very much ,are glad have enjoyed the place .
Regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Hubby and I just returned from a week at Maria's Kan Kin. The first hotel we'd booked canceled our reservations at the last minute (under renovation), so we scrambled to find the best option on an island 80% booked during high season. Maria's had mostly glowing reviews and a handful of negative ones, so we crossed our fingers and hoped for the best. We booked online through Expedia and got Maria's last available room, #3, a queen bed with garden view.

I can best describe Maria's as a little Flintstone jungle. White, formed-cement bungalows are huddled together on a narrow hillside garden overlooking the sea. A little path winds down from the office at the top (the gates are locked at night; guests receive their own key) to the restaurant/bar overlooking beach below. Guest rooms are located between. Ours was attached to the office, and a couple of them are attached to the restaurant & bar.

We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there several times. The food is very good and nicely presented, but not gourmet, if that's what you're looking for. A little higher priced than some places, but fair. Drinks are yummy and higher than you'll find going north. If you want to indulge a bit and not break the bank, I'd suggest getting your own alcohol/mixers at Chedraui (the island "Walmart") and mixing a few in your room.

There is a very small pool for guests only, attached right in front of the bar/restaurant. Personally I'd feel a little conspicuous using it, but there was a family whose two young boys spent hours there, and it was perfect for them, as the parents could lounge at the table right next to them. If you're a pool lounger, you'll likely find better options.

The tiny beach area has plenty of loungers and palapa tables for both hotel guests and day visitors. It’s clean, quiet and nicely relaxing, away from the crowds of the public beach on the north. Yes, there's some sea grass, but it's not a deal breaker - there's enough sand for sunning and swimming. The dock stretches out long into the sea, offering a quiet walk for some beautiful views. But be careful, as many of the boards are weathered and you really need to watch your step.

And then... there's the room. I honestly don't understand the five-star reviews, except to think that maybe those folks had an updated room. Room 3 does not fall into that category.

Room 3 was a complete disappointment. It smelled of dank sea that never quite dried. The bedside lamp didn't work. The TV didn't work. The toilet seat was broken, and the bathroom door didn't close. The refrigerator wouldn't turn on (which Ana, the lovely manager, promptly replaced). There was one light in the living area - in the ceiling fan - which didn't work. The free wi-fi was slow and intermittent.

The bedding, towels, sink and toilet were nice & clean. Beyond that, the room definitely was not. The bathroom mirror had spatters from previous guests. Drips & spills covered the TV ledge/bar area. The bathroom switchplate needed a good scrubbing, and cobwebs clung to the walls. Even the windows were grimy, and they were covered with stained curtain sheers. The complimentary coffee was a small, already opened (and hardened) jar of instant Nescafe. One of the creamer packets had been opened, too.

All that aside, what a traveler really needs is a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, our mattress was as hard as our little rock hut, with flat pillows that offered little comfort. Out of six nights, my husband and I each had just one night that we actually slept - out of sheer exhaustion, I think. The dogs barking in the alley outside our window probably didn't help, nor did the bright lights of the walking path on our other side. We woke every morning sore, sleepy and bleary-eyed. There was no way to really relax or refresh in our room, which we really needed, as our Isla vacation was pretty active. Recommendation: bring ear plugs and a sleep mask.

On the plus side, the a/c worked great; our room was always nice & cool. We had plenty of hot water (although it petered out after two showers), and the plumbing worked very well. A nice beach towel was provided for each of us. The bed was nicely made every day, the toilet cleaned, and new bath towels provided daily.

The food is very good, the wait staff friendly, and Ana (the manager) is sweet and helpful.

Maria's Kan Kin is a special place whose beauty has faded. Renovations and deep cleaning are desperately needed in the parts that we saw.

Our room was booked through Expedia at $163/night ($199 after taxes/fees). For that price, we expected more. (BTW, we were actually charged $221 for our room when we checked in, and we've asked for a refund for the difference. Another guest we spoke with had the same experience.)

Room Tip: Ask for one that's been updated.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanaStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigido a, Gerente at Maria's Kan-kin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thanks for your comments we appreciate it very much , it help us to give you a better service , will take care about all of it .
Regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews