We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Posada Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$209
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$284
US$258
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Joya(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
US$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$295
US$187
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ixchel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$601
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
US$801
US$516
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
118
184
158
88
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
184
158
88
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini suitemain buildingnachospublic beachnice poolbudget hotelfloor roomthird floorferry dockrestaurants and shopsbeach chairsgolf cartlaid backbeautiful beachromyislamaid
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great location, close to the beach and downtown, the staff was nice and helpful. Wifi is in the lobby. Our room was great, on the third floor in the new building. Had both a safe and minifridge. Only downside was the bathroom, nice and clean, but terribly design. The wall facing the beds and most of the room is only half wall, the rest is glass, where you can see the shower, and if the showercurtain is open you also see the toilet, and to top it off the glass doesent go all the way up, so noise carries throug to the room. Would definetly recommend this place, but try to find a room with a private bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Posada Del Mar has always been one of our favorite hotels in Isla Mujeres. The location is perfect, located just across the street from the beach. As a hotel guest you receive complimentary beach chairs throughout your stay. The staff is always friendly and attentive. We have had family and friends stay at this hotel over the years and have never been dissapointed. If you are looking for five star services and amenities, then you may want to look elsewhere. However if a great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, free beach chairs, nice pool & bar all at an affordable price is what you are looking for, then look no further. Posada Del Mar is a great choice!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAXIslaMujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at PDM from Jan 15-Jan30, 2012. We love the location as it's a short stroll to the shopping areas & a great beach right across the street.We were shown 3 different rooms on different floors and decided to go with the ground floor in the new section due to an injured knee which my wife had before we left home. Also we wanted the in room safe and fridge that the other rooms didn't have. We had read about the $100 deposit for the safe key and tv remotes, but we were never asked to pay it. The room was adequate for our needs and everything worked. TV reception in our room was bad, but we didn't go to Mexico to watch tv anyway. This is not a 5 star hotel so we got what we expected from it. Clean & safe room with good clean linen daily (some towels were a bit frayed,but clean.That will NOT ruin a vacation for us) and as friendly and helpful staff & quick to smile as you'll find anywhere. The grounds are nothing great, no lush tropical gardens like you'll see at most larger resorts. We only ate one meal at the restaraunt there but only because we wanted to try so many other places on the island. Breakfast & lunch are the only meals served at this hotel. We did take in Happy hour at the bar a few times. It runs from 5-7. Not a noisy atmosphere like some of the sports bars can be and we liked it for that reason. You could actually carry on a conversation without shouting. Romi and Lee are great bartenders, very funny. Romi made the best Mohitos we found anywhere on Isla. When you order one he runs out back & picks the mint leaves himself.
The beach across the road is one of the best on the island. The loungers were free to hotel guests, but you have to pay 50 pesos per day if you want an umbrella. Beach towels are furnished at the hotel lobby. Sometimes they take your room number & sometimes they dont. Juan does a great job of taking care of your needs there as far as drinks & food. We would definitely return here as it fits our needs perfectly as a mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We wanted to add a couple extra nights to our vacation and stay downtown. We have walked by Posada Del Mar many times and always thought it looked nice, what a let down! When we checked in, they took an imprint of our credit card as a deposit for the remote for the television, the A/C remote and the lock and key for the in room safe. On our deparature date we would be leaving around 8 AM and I wanted to be sure if we should check out the night before or if someone would be available in the morning. They advised me to check out the night before and it was a good thing I did. It took over 3 hours to complete the check out process. The imprint of my credit card was locked in the manager's office and no body but the manager had a key so the manager had to come back to the hotel. First I was told she would be there in 20 minutes and they would call the room when she arrived. After this time passed I went down to complete the check out process, but she had not arrived. The desk agent called her again and was told she would not be there for 3 hours. So we went to dinner, packed, and went back down over three hours later. She had in fact returned and my imprint was waiting. I am glad we did not wait until the morning to check out, even though it says the reception desk is open 7 AM-11 PM. When we left in the morning and turned in our key at 7:30 the reception desk was not open but someone was there to take our key.

Good thing about the hotel is the beach area. There are plenty of loungers and they are free if you are staying at the hotel. They do charge 50 pesos for an umbrella. You just give them your room number the use of the chairs.

To use wi-fi you have to go either to the hotel lobby or to the hotel restaurant. Drinks seemed resonably priced in the bar, but we did not try any. There was not much of a crowd there.

As for the room, we had a king sized bed, tiny flat screen tv, balcony, and mini-fridge. Big draw back to the room is the bathroom design. The bathroom has a glass wall that seperates the shower from the main area of the room. The glass does not go all the way to ceiling so all bathroom noise is carried thru out the room. And since the glass is clear, when you turn the light on in the bathroom it lights the main area of the room. Very poor design. We did enjoy sitting on our balcony and looking at the palm trees in the evening. It was not a large balcony but was perfect for having a drink and talking.

All in all I would not return to Hotel Posada del Mar or recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eser1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

There are many different types of places you can stay in Isla Mujeres. Posada del Mar isn't the ritziest, nor is it shabby by any means, it's just perfect! Maybe the other reviewers just had a bad day or something because I thought it was quaint and friendly, just as I had hoped. If you expect the HIlton, don't go! You can only get internet in the lobby, and the cafe when it's open. This wasn't that inconvenient, even though I was taking an online course at the time. While working on school stuff there were a few couples that were flat out berating the staff about the stupidest things, that in 1 case wasn't even the hotels fault and in another it was because they wanted 3 rooms instead of 2 and it wasn't ready! I never heard any complaints from anyone that wasn't obviously wound a little too tight. Bottom line: it's clean, quiet, the staff was always friendly to me and who cares about a continental breakfast! If you want someone to bring you coffee when you wake, and rub your feet when they're sore from walking a half mile across the island, just go somewhere else! Isla Mujeres isn't for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in either the upstairs near the lobby which is closest to everything with a great view, but if not just be sure to ask for a room in the new section. It's a little bit more money, but nicer. The old section is fine too but I think it's worth the extra pesos.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews