We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time staying on Isla Mujeres”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Del Mar
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We chose Posada del Mar based on reviews here on Trip Advisor. We were looking for low budget and location. We bought our trip as a air/hotel package and figured the hotel portion worked out to about $70.00 per night. That's a really nice price for what we got. Nice hotel room with balcony (partial ocean view) right across from the beach with free beach chairs included. (Beach umbrella 50 pesos extra). The free wireless in the lobby was a nice bonus. Some people reported being able to get it in their room also. The restaurant did not appear to be open regular hours. I think they were open for lunch most days, but I don't recall seeing them open for breakfast or dinner. Maybe we were just out too early to notice? We did order lunch at the beach one day (beach service was available) and the prices were good, as was the food. Nice sized portion of chicken nachos was 49 pesos and a club sandwich with fries was 55 pesos. Pina coladas (etc) were 45 pesos. The location was convenient to everything. Half a block to rent a golf cart. Four blocks to the all-important 7-11 (morning coffee....open 24 hours). Four blocks to the bank. One block to get any boat tours you might want. Three blocks off Hidalgo, the main drag for restaurants. I'd stay here again if i was on a budget (which is pretty much all the time). :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNhasSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 319 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great location, close to the beach and downtown, the staff was nice and helpful. Wifi is in the lobby. Our room was great, on the third floor in the new building. Had both a safe and minifridge. Only downside was the bathroom, nice and clean, but terribly design. The wall facing the beds and most of the room is only half wall, the rest is glass, where you can see the shower, and if the showercurtain is open you also see the toilet, and to top it off the glass doesent go all the way up, so noise carries throug to the room. Would definetly recommend this place, but try to find a room with a private bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Posada Del Mar has always been one of our favorite hotels in Isla Mujeres. The location is perfect, located just across the street from the beach. As a hotel guest you receive complimentary beach chairs throughout your stay. The staff is always friendly and attentive. We have had family and friends stay at this hotel over the years and have never been dissapointed. If you are looking for five star services and amenities, then you may want to look elsewhere. However if a great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, free beach chairs, nice pool & bar all at an affordable price is what you are looking for, then look no further. Posada Del Mar is a great choice!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAXIslaMujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at PDM from Jan 15-Jan30, 2012. We love the location as it's a short stroll to the shopping areas & a great beach right across the street.We were shown 3 different rooms on different floors and decided to go with the ground floor in the new section due to an injured knee which my wife had before we left home. Also we wanted the in room safe and fridge that the other rooms didn't have. We had read about the $100 deposit for the safe key and tv remotes, but we were never asked to pay it. The room was adequate for our needs and everything worked. TV reception in our room was bad, but we didn't go to Mexico to watch tv anyway. This is not a 5 star hotel so we got what we expected from it. Clean & safe room with good clean linen daily (some towels were a bit frayed,but clean.That will NOT ruin a vacation for us) and as friendly and helpful staff & quick to smile as you'll find anywhere. The grounds are nothing great, no lush tropical gardens like you'll see at most larger resorts. We only ate one meal at the restaraunt there but only because we wanted to try so many other places on the island. Breakfast & lunch are the only meals served at this hotel. We did take in Happy hour at the bar a few times. It runs from 5-7. Not a noisy atmosphere like some of the sports bars can be and we liked it for that reason. You could actually carry on a conversation without shouting. Romi and Lee are great bartenders, very funny. Romi made the best Mohitos we found anywhere on Isla. When you order one he runs out back & picks the mint leaves himself.
The beach across the road is one of the best on the island. The loungers were free to hotel guests, but you have to pay 50 pesos per day if you want an umbrella. Beach towels are furnished at the hotel lobby. Sometimes they take your room number & sometimes they dont. Juan does a great job of taking care of your needs there as far as drinks & food. We would definitely return here as it fits our needs perfectly as a mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We wanted to add a couple extra nights to our vacation and stay downtown. We have walked by Posada Del Mar many times and always thought it looked nice, what a let down! When we checked in, they took an imprint of our credit card as a deposit for the remote for the television, the A/C remote and the lock and key for the in room safe. On our deparature date we would be leaving around 8 AM and I wanted to be sure if we should check out the night before or if someone would be available in the morning. They advised me to check out the night before and it was a good thing I did. It took over 3 hours to complete the check out process. The imprint of my credit card was locked in the manager's office and no body but the manager had a key so the manager had to come back to the hotel. First I was told she would be there in 20 minutes and they would call the room when she arrived. After this time passed I went down to complete the check out process, but she had not arrived. The desk agent called her again and was told she would not be there for 3 hours. So we went to dinner, packed, and went back down over three hours later. She had in fact returned and my imprint was waiting. I am glad we did not wait until the morning to check out, even though it says the reception desk is open 7 AM-11 PM. When we left in the morning and turned in our key at 7:30 the reception desk was not open but someone was there to take our key.

Good thing about the hotel is the beach area. There are plenty of loungers and they are free if you are staying at the hotel. They do charge 50 pesos for an umbrella. You just give them your room number the use of the chairs.

To use wi-fi you have to go either to the hotel lobby or to the hotel restaurant. Drinks seemed resonably priced in the bar, but we did not try any. There was not much of a crowd there.

As for the room, we had a king sized bed, tiny flat screen tv, balcony, and mini-fridge. Big draw back to the room is the bathroom design. The bathroom has a glass wall that seperates the shower from the main area of the room. The glass does not go all the way to ceiling so all bathroom noise is carried thru out the room. And since the glass is clear, when you turn the light on in the bathroom it lights the main area of the room. Very poor design. We did enjoy sitting on our balcony and looking at the palm trees in the evening. It was not a large balcony but was perfect for having a drink and talking.

All in all I would not return to Hotel Posada del Mar or recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eser1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
420 reviews
0.4 km away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#17 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
347 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
456 reviews
0.2 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Mar

Address: Avenida Rueda Medina 15A, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: €57 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Posada del Mar, an island tradition! The Posada del Mar is located close to the downtown area, and a short distance from the island's world famous North Beach. We have 98 rooms with ocean and/or pool view, including rooms with flat-screen TVs, mini-refrigerators and in-room safe deposit boxes. All rooms have individual air-conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, cable TV, and private bath. The relaxing friendly atmosphere, is ideal for a pleasant and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Mar Isla Mujeres
Posada Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing