We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect on so many counts !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantamar Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cantamar Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect on so many counts !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

We spent 8 nights at the Cantamar #202 the owner of the condo went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed before and during our trip. The personal attention she paid to us was wonderful. Loved having beach towel - washer and dryer and plenty of room for the 4 of us too. The snorkeling is wonderful right there at the condo - very easy in and out of the water via the ladder - this was a concern of mine and it worked out wonderfully for all of us. Very close to town - we had a car for the week - but on the night we took a cab to town it was only $4. This is a deal that can't be beat !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXGal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

My husband and 3 kids LOVE Cozumel. We wanted to spend 2 solid weeks enjoying the sun, snorkeling, scuba diving and fantastic freindly people of Cozumel. Cantamar Condos is not far from the Airport on the Northside of the island. We found it to be very quiet and family oriented. We rented a car although it wasn't necessary.. The condos were RIGHT on the water. The snorkeling in the front is the best we've seen in Cozumel. If we wanted to snorkel.. we walked 1000 ft to the water and there we were.. and it was great. We saw Rays, trumpet fish, French Angel fish, eels, puffer fish and even and octopus (well, part of him.. he was trying to hide). They have a great pool with a curfew so no one can be out TOO late as the rest of us sleep. A nice manmade beach and great hammocks to relax in.

We stayed the first 4 days in Unit 102. This unit is beautifully decorated. Comfortable beds, lots of extras and just overall and gorgeous property. On day 5 we moved next door to 101. This is also a really nice condo. The decor was not as modern and there were a few things that could use some updating but overall it was also a great bargin for literally being right on the water. The grounds keepers were really freindly. The maids were so sweet and took great care of us.

If you decide to stay here I doubt you'll regret it.

Oh, and they have the cutest dog who lives there named Freda. She's so sweet ! If she didn't have a tag that she belonged to the Complex we would have tried to take her home.

  • Liked — The views and great snorkeling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tr1sho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherst, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

Stayed at Cantamar condos july 24-aug 1. What a great place. It really felt like home away from home. Loved the location, close to town(within walking distance) but far enough to get away from all the cruise ship traffic. We've been to Cozumel before but this was our first time at the Cantamar. The condo was very spacious and very clean. Stayed at Cantamar 102 and loved staying on the first floor to walk right out to the pool. The snorkeling was good. We saw lots of different fish and even an octopus. The water made us drift a little but not like I expected. Luis takes care of maintenance there and lives on the top floor. Any problems we had, we felt could be handled in a timely manner. The pool was nice and refreshing from the Mexican heat and humidity. We will definately return in the future. Loved staying at the Cantamar.

  • Liked — Loved snorkeling right on the property and the location
  • Disliked — no restaraunt, had to leave to eat but we knew this before our arrival
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2flyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2006

Stayed at room 302, the little studio apartment and enjoyed it a great deal. Don't mind fact there is NO water pressure or hot water (forget about a shower). We were concerned that the phone never worked (even after we called and were assured it would be fixed). We wanted to get a taxi into town instead of another 1.5 mile walk, but with no phone - we walked again. Don't forget the bug spray, especially if you are walking at dusk!
All in all, we would stay there again if we were assured the phone worked. We can always take a shower in the pool rinse area.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — lack of problem resolution
  • Tips/Secrets — bug spray
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank baileyno6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2006

I stayed at Cantamar in March and it was a great place to stay. I loved it! The rooms were spacious and the whole place was comfortable(and clean) and made a person feel at home. There was your own personal beach if you didn't want to go anywhere for the day, and you could cool off in the ocean or the swimming pool on site. It was secured in that it had a code/gate to get into the whole place. And once inside each little place had a deadbolt and lock on the door, not that it was really needed that greatly. The views are great. The only thing was that it wasn't located right in town so you need to take taxis to get to the main square, but if you really wanted to you could walk. Overall I think this place was a great place for the money.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#19 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.0 km away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
8.0 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
4.5 km away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.8 km away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantamar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantamar Condominiums

Property: Cantamar Condominiums
Address: Carretera Costera Norte Kilometre Uno, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantamar Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Cantamar Condominiums Cozumel
Cantamar Condominiums Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing