We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all of our needs, had a great time!”
Review of Cantamar Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cantamar Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Met all of our needs, had a great time!”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My wife, sister, brother-in-law and I used the Cantamar condo as the base for our Cozumel diving vacation in early June, 2011. Unit 102 is a ground floor, 2-bedroom, 2 full-bath condo with a small kitchen & dining area, a small family room, and a washer & dryer. The kitchen has a fridge, range, microwave, and sink but no dishwasher. All of the pots, pans, plates, glasses & utensils were in good condition. We used the kitchen for breakfasts and lunches. Drinking water was no problem whatsoever as the kitchen was stocked with at about 5 of the large 5-gallon bottles like you'd see used in office water coolers. All of the appliances were in working order, the rooms, the pool and the beach area were kept clean, and the beds were comfortable.

The unit has a semi-private patio area in the back which leads down to the pool; beyond that is a small man-made beach with a couple platforms that allow entry into the Caribbean Sea. This is not a wade-in beach, as there is a short ladder that needs to be used to get in & out of the water; but it does allow for convenient entry for snorkeling. Since we were diving we only snorkeled once, but we were surprised by how much there was to see right there near the shoreline. The pool was never crowded; there was a nice mix of having it to ourselves and trading stories about local restaurants & activities with the other guests.

There is an electronic lock on the thermostat; so you have to remember to manually bump the temperature down once in the morning and once in the evening, but once you do the air conditioning works well. It takes a minute to get hot water in the shower, but once it’s flowing there’s no issue. I would have liked to have seen the maid one more time; we checked out on Saturday morning and I don’t think she serviced the unit after Wednesday. The only real complaint I had was concerning the building next to Cantamar – the local kids staying there said it was their uncle’s place – they would put their dogs out at night before going into town and the dogs would bark at and chase the birds, so a couple nights it wasn’t the best environment for sleeping.

We did rent a car which was nice for site-seeing, but a cab ride into town was only $5 and we never had to wait long for a cab to come by. The condo is far enough away from town to escape the cruise ship crowds, but not so far away that you couldn’t walk into town if you wanted. Our unit also included the use of WiFi and a Vonage phone for calls to & from the US. Overall we had a great time and we all agreed we would have no problem coming back to the Cantamar condo.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is all you need here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jagii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    10
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Excellent snorkeling right outside your room, amazing view, friendly staff that clean the pool and your room daily. There was construction at the condo next door, but the noise and activity didn't really bother us - after all, renovations are good - and it allowed us to receive a discount. Center of town was a 10 minute walk or a quick drive. Would absolutely recommend this, but only if you are ok with a non-all-inclusive type of vacation. If you're not, you should be, it's way cooler!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BoletosAlParaiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed at the Cantamar Condominium 201 from Jan 2-Jan8 2011. This is a two bedroom condo with 2 bathrooms (one is en-suite in the master suite). We were 2 adult couples in our 40's. We found the accommodations very comfortable. Although the picky people may point out that some updating may be necessary we found the place spotlessly clean. The ocean views from the sunken living area and the master suite were wonderful. We did not use the pool during our visit but it appeared to be very clean. The owners supplied snorkling equipment (masks, fins, and snorkels) which seem to be in good working order. We had brought our own gear since we were not sure of the quality provided. I wished I had kept my fins at home. We went thru At Home in Cozumel which also had as an option the services of a cook for the week. Lucy was wonderful. She made us breakfast and lunch or diner during our visit. One day she even came at 5:30 am since she knew that we would be taking the 7:00 am ferry to Playa del Carmen that day. The free calls to the US came in handy for my daily checks at work. It was about a mile to the edge of town and my husband and I walked it on a daily basis. The cost for the taxi to town was 50 pesos. We used the taxis in the evening or on the days when we went to the Mega for snacks and drinks. I would definitely use this place again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ensamhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We spent 8 nights at the Cantamar #202 the owner of the condo went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed before and during our trip. The personal attention she paid to us was wonderful. Loved having beach towel - washer and dryer and plenty of room for the 4 of us too. The snorkeling is wonderful right there at the condo - very easy in and out of the water via the ladder - this was a concern of mine and it worked out wonderfully for all of us. Very close to town - we had a car for the week - but on the night we took a cab to town it was only $4. This is a deal that can't be beat !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXGal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

My husband and 3 kids LOVE Cozumel. We wanted to spend 2 solid weeks enjoying the sun, snorkeling, scuba diving and fantastic freindly people of Cozumel. Cantamar Condos is not far from the Airport on the Northside of the island. We found it to be very quiet and family oriented. We rented a car although it wasn't necessary.. The condos were RIGHT on the water. The snorkeling in the front is the best we've seen in Cozumel. If we wanted to snorkel.. we walked 1000 ft to the water and there we were.. and it was great. We saw Rays, trumpet fish, French Angel fish, eels, puffer fish and even and octopus (well, part of him.. he was trying to hide). They have a great pool with a curfew so no one can be out TOO late as the rest of us sleep. A nice manmade beach and great hammocks to relax in.

We stayed the first 4 days in Unit 102. This unit is beautifully decorated. Comfortable beds, lots of extras and just overall and gorgeous property. On day 5 we moved next door to 101. This is also a really nice condo. The decor was not as modern and there were a few things that could use some updating but overall it was also a great bargin for literally being right on the water. The grounds keepers were really freindly. The maids were so sweet and took great care of us.

If you decide to stay here I doubt you'll regret it.

Oh, and they have the cutest dog who lives there named Freda. She's so sweet ! If she didn't have a tag that she belonged to the Complex we would have tried to take her home.

  • Liked — The views and great snorkeling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tr1sho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.0 km away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
1.1 km away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
767 reviews
7.9 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,041 reviews
2.8 km away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
15.3 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantamar Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantamar Condos

Property: Cantamar Condos
Address: Carretera Costera Norte Kilometre Uno, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantamar Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous two bedroom/two bathroom luxury unit on the water. Unit sleeps up to six comfortably. Best snorkeling on the island of cozumel (we even provide snorkeling equipment). Double jacuzzi, rafts, snorkel equipment for our guests, huge dvd library, sky tv with hd channels, free telephone to u.s. Or canada, high speed internet, rafts, beach towels, hair dryers, anything you might need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cantamar Condominiums Cozumel
Cantamar Condominiums Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing