We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$245
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Travelocity
Trip.com
US$245
US$162
View deal
SAVE US$83
Free cancellation until 18/04/21
Booking.comUS$245
eDreamsUS$245
Hotels.comUS$245
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
516
196
38
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
516
196
38
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all inclusive option fish the north end ocean view housekeeping staff taxi into town dive shop beach chairs cruise ship smaller resort spring break guacamole scuba diving all inclusives island felipe pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2020

Our stay at Playa Azul was absolutely fantastic! We would definitely stay here again. Our fabulous experience started when we decided to get married here. Miriam was wonderful every step of the way. Having a Covid wedding required a lot of patience because changes were constantly being made depending on the state of the virus. Miriam had so much patience with us and even went out of her way to figure out how to Zoom our wedding at the last minute. Our flowers were stunning! The hair and makeup team were amazing and exceeded my expectations! I seriously can't say enough about how positive our experience was with everyone at the resort. We felt so special the entire time we were there.
The resort was quiet while we were there, but the staff was still busy cleaning as if the resort were completely full. We felt incredibly safe staying here.
Thanks again to everyone for giving us our dream wedding! Our stay couldn't have been better!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BreckCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Durand, Marketing at Playa Azul Cozumel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Hola BreckCat
Thank you very much for sharing with us and other travelers your beautiful and detailed review about your experience in our hotel.
We are glad to know that everyone made you feel welcomed and attended. I will share this wonderful review with the entire team. Also I will let Miriam know the great service she had provided before and during your stay with us.
Reading your review let us know that we have to keep doing our best so you will remember your wedding as a memorable and special trip. You are part of Playa Azul family and we hope that you will come back to celebrate all your anniversaries.

Thank you for choosing Playa Azul and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Warm greetings from Cozumel
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

Our group of 4 stayed at Playa Azul during the pandemic in Sept 2020. We loved it!! We were the ONLY guest (2 rooms) during most of the week we were there. The food was SO GOOD!!! Probably had the best food we've had an all inclusive resort. It was menu order only (due to Covid, no buffets at the time) but, the selection was very good. They offered many choices. The margaritas are so good, and the night bartenders were so nice. The beach in front of the hotel has really nice reef for snorkeling. We brought our own snorkel gear, (they may have some there, I'm not sure). The snorkeling in front of the resort was better than most all that I've had to pay for on excursions. Once in the hotel, after temperature check, we did not have to wear our mask at the resort which was a relief. The only complaint I'd have is that there is no music at the pool. We take our own bluetooth speaker everywhere and played our own music since we were the only ones there. I'm sure its hard to please everyones taste in music, so they probably gave up trying. This is a quiet place, no party atmosphere, which is what we were looking for.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Durand, Marketing at Playa Azul Cozumel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Hola Jodylovestotravel
Thank you very much for your preference and your comment regarding the hotel, the staff, the food and the snorkel. It makes us happy to know that you had a good experience with us, you are now part of Playa Azul family.
We will be waiting for you every time
Warm regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020 via mobile

We had initially planned on staying at one of the expensive posh resorts in the south of Cozumel, but had a bad experience with our communications with their dive shop. I found Playa Azul on trip advisor. It was a smaller Resort that i hadn’t previously heard of because we always stay in the south to be closer to the major dive sites. We took a chance changing hotels at the last minute and it definitely paid off. First, we stayed at the end of August/early September. Due to Covid every place on the island was empty, so being in a smaller intimate hotel felt a lot better than being in a huge empty resort. (We went past the original choice hotel several times on the dive boat and never saw anyone there). Playa Azul is privately owned by a really nice gentleman we often saw. His family was also there on vacation at the time, and we got to meet his married children and grandchildren - all really nice people. His staff love and respect him, most having worked there for many years. It was clear by how much staff was on hand, that he kept everyone working, despite that there was very little business to be had. The hotel is small, maybe 30 rooms. The decor is traditional Mexican, with lots of terra-cotta tile and artwork. I absolutely love that feel. With the posh resorts, you could be anywhere in the world. At Playa Azul you know you’re in Mexico. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, with a little palapa bar and lots of shady trees over the beach chairs. At the time only one of the two restaurants was open, but there was a wide range of choices, and anything we ordered was fresh and excellent. You could order until 10 every night. These two points are extraordinary because we were almost the only people there for many days (they cleary didn’t cut any corners). If you need more food choices, the resort also owns the beach next to it used by the locals. There’s a great outdoor restaurant in there as well. Across the street is an incredible lobster house (Fernando Jr.’s) which i also reviewed. That’s a unique dining experience that’s hard to describe, and the food was awesome. Next to it there’s a hamburger place and another lobster/fish house. We didn’t get a chance to try them though, but there are a lot of easy to walk to good food options nearby. The rooms were slightly dated, but everything Is clean, and the beds and bedding were super comfortable. The staff was relaxed and friendly. If you’re a scuba diver, I highly recommend the dive shop on campus: Blue Dream Cozumel. They were laid back, friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and excellent with divers of all levels. My biggest fear was long boat rides to the south, but their boat is fast, and we all had so much fun together that the time went by quickly. We will definitely return to Playa Azul!

Sent from my iPhone

Sent from my iPhone

Date of stay: September 2020
2  Thank KenBostonUSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Durand, Marketing at Playa Azul Cozumel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Hola KenBostonUSR
Thank you very much for sharing with us and other travelers your detailed review about your recent stay with us.
Your opinion is very important to us and we are so happy to read how much you enjoyed our facilities, the service, the diveshop and our food. All the staff aim to provide a unique experience, Playa Azul experience!
Thank you for choosing us for your vacations, we are proud to have met your expectations.

On behalf of the entire Playa Azul staff
Thank you and we will be waiting for you in a future!
Best regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2020

This place was absolutely wonderful!! I have never had this kind of amazing service any where else! And I am well traveled!! The waiters, bartenders, cleaning crew, and the front desk were absolutely splendid!! I just got back from our trip (July 2-11th). The hotel was kept impeccably clean, everyone wore face masks, and face shields. They took your temperature right when you checked in and had several hand sanitizer stations and sanitized our luggage's before brought to the rooms. The hotel was at reduced capacity and there might of only been 5 rooms being used. They upgraded us at NO COST to a family suite ocean front (BREATH TAKING VIEWS) because they are currently only using that side of the hotel. It was my boyfriend and mines one year anniversary and they went above and beyond with a very romantic dinner set up by the ocean.
Some things you need to know:
1. bring bug spray the mosquitoes were kind of rough
2. currently they are using a reduced menu due to COVID and not all their restaurants are open. They are using their beach bar grill menu. AND EVERYTHING is delicious off of it! but after 9 days it can get old. In town is not far away at all!!
3. Taxi into town 8$ , Taxi to airport 14$, if you get on an airport shuttle 40$ big rip off, so just walk all the way out of the airport and get a taxi to your hotel.
4. barter when you go into town the prices are absolutely ridiculously over priced and about 1/3 the actual price listed. don't ever fall for "my sister painted it"
5. THE SCUBA DIVING WAS SPECTACULAR!!!! They have a dive shop right next door that we used. Its called Blue Dream Cozumel. Their staff is amazing and will go above and beyond for you. The boat captain is super friendly and always has some good tunes playing on the boat. The dive instructor we had was David and he found a SEA HORSE and several other beautiful sea creatures!! My boyfriend also got certified here with David and David was very patient and thorough. Did i mention this dive shop was so AFFORDABLE!! They will split your payment into 1/2 with paypal and 1/2 with cash. So make sure you bring cash to pay for it.
6. the spa in the hotel was excellent. 80$ for 1hr deep tissue massage. AGAIN it was all in CASH, they dont accept credit cards.
7. I dont know how rare this is, but the front desk changed out some of our twenties for ones so we could tip (but i wouldnt rely on that and just bring tons of ones)
8. plenty of beach space and no need to save a chair while diving
9. We actually did room service for all our meals!! and they were so scrumptious! at no extra charge.
10. and the bed were so comfy and tons of pillows
11. the wifi was included in our stay
12. each room was given two blue towels for the beach and pool area (50$ if lost)
This place is paradise you cant go wrong staying here!!!!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shannondives123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Durand, Marketing at Playa Azul Cozumel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2020

Hola Shanondives123!!
Saludos from Playa Azul Hotel!!
Thank you very much for your detailed and beautiful review!! Comments like yours help other guests to know the hotel and Playa Azul experience. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, the beach, the diving and the food.
You are part of Playa Azul family and we are ready to welcome you next time and pamper you as you deserve.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

My husband and I brought our two boys, ages 8 and 11, to Cozumel for Spring Break and we absolutely loved Playa Azul! We stayed in an Ocean-front Family Suite and it was perfect. Even better and bigger than it looks in pictures! (More details on the room later.) The food was outstanding (details later.) Everything was very clean. The waiters, bartenders, and housekeeping staff were all so kind and fun. There were always plenty of beach chairs and pool loungers, and the drinks were delicious and strong. The resort is a quick 10 minute drive from the airport, but it’s very quiet (no airplane noise at all). We felt quite safe the entire time.

Overall, our trip to Playa Azul was outstanding. We have been to several island destinations in the Caribbean, and Playa Azul has landed at the top of our list for safe, clean, family fun, spacious accommodations, consistently good food, plenty to do, and warm, friendly staff who made our stay great. Many thanks to Ruben, Luis, Juan, Felipe, Angel, Jesus, Darwin, and all the others whose names I am currently forgetting, who took such good care of us all week. We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2020
3  Thank KatyAggieMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Durand, Marketing at Playa Azul Cozumel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Dear KatyAggieMamma;
It is a pleasure to have you stay with us during Spring Break. We are glad to read that your experience was great and that the hotel suits your needs and that the food and beverages were as expected.
Once again thank you for taking some of your time to share your journey and it is a pleasure to know how well treated you were by everyone of our team.
We look forward to your next stay with us at Playa Azul!
Warm greetings from Cozumel!
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews