We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place for Golf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for Golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at Playa Azul for a week in January 2012. The place is small and the staff very nice. If you are looking for action this is not the place - this is a familyresort with a very slow pace.

The great thing about Playa Azul is that you get free golf at the Cozumel Country Club.

Clean rooms and free internet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tingatinga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    170
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
140
271
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We traveled here for my husband's 40th birthday. We are parents of twin 2-year olds and were persuaded by my parents to have a couple's vacation. We were sure glad we took them up on the offer! Playa Azul's best feature is the beautiful, low-key beach and proximity of all the rooms to it. It is not, however, an ideal place for folks who are looking for lots of action. We were glad our twins were not along because they would have become bored fast.

Disappointments:
1. I had reserved a one-bed ocean-view suite and emailed a confirmation request for such a few days before our arrival. Not only did we end up with 2 beds, but the front desk staff didn't acknowledge the reservation or confirmation request.
2. We had to wait a few hours to get our room. This was understandable since we arrived around noon, a few hours earlier than typical check-in. But it was a slow time of year so I was surprised they couldn't do more to get us the type of room we had reserved/requested and if not have an alternative (i.e. 2 beds) ready when we arrived.
3. The rooms were dirty. This was a serious disappointment and having lived in Mexico and vacationed there many times, I found the room to be on of the dirtiest. There were splash marks on the walls, crud on the floor, and cleaning service was limited to bed-making. The coffee pot was corroded and dirty and not cleaned. If I had one simple suggestion to management to improve the place: raise the bar on room cleanliness. Also, the hotel guide in the room indicates there is evening turn-down service. There wasn't. Nor do you get the cutesy little towel animals, unless you leave substantial tips.
4. Food was good but often it was cold. I was a little surprised they didn't have more of a Mexican flair to the offerings. For example, tortillas, guacamole, and limes would do breakfast more justice.

Bonuses
1. The room locations facing and virtually hovering over the ocean were phenomonal. I'd suggest upgrading to a suite just so the ocean can lull you to sleep, even if there is a vacant bed beside you (!). The rooms were also exceptionally quiet.
2. The exchange rate! We thought the food and drink seemed a little steep, but we still enjoyed both. Imagine our pleasant surprise then my credit card bill reflected an extra $100+ savings. Don't pay in cash since your credit card will provide an exchange rate better than what the hotel's billing reflects. (I also wouldn't suggest all-inclusive since we're eaters and drinkers, but our total tab was about half what we would have paid for all-inclusive privileges.)
3. Low-key. Playa Azul is definitely an excellent option if you want to have a place to unwind, be pretty certain you'll actually get a lounger by the beach, and not have to be annoyed by drunken masses and loud pool music. We indulged in the peace and ability to do nothing at all.

We also loved the golf course and the snorkeling - both so closeby you don't need to arrange some big tour.

The key question: Would we go back? No, unless the hotel stepped up the bar on the simple things like room cleanliness and warm food or if there was some totally irresistable deal, which is unlikely.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview suite - quiet and pricelss view/sound of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were in Cozumel Dec. 28-Jan. 4 for an anniversary/birthday/new year relaxing vacation.
From the initial email to the final goodbye, everyone was very professional and courteous.. We were upgraded to a master suite (101) and it was very clean and quiet, despite being downstairs by the pool. We could hear the ocean at night from the best bed we had ever had in 35 years of going to Cozumel. The breakfast was a buffet, but also they had a cook to make omelets, french toast, huevos rancheros or whatever you wanted. The waiters were excellent---always attentive and friendly. We loved visiting with Kermit and Felipe at the bar and with the other guests. The guacamole was outstanding, mixed with the habanero sauce, for a beach snack or lunch. We did not have dinner there, but did eat right across the street at the fish restaurant. The food there was very fresh and well prepared. We had the homemade key lime pie two nights in a row. The pie is baked in a small casserole dish with real meringue and graham cracker crust Yum!
There is a wide range of visitors---from young families with children to older couples. A few teenagers, but mostly people were there because they prefer a smaller place with not a lot of activities. It would have been nice to have a car, but since we had been around the island so many times before, a taxi was all that we needed for a trip to town for dinner in the evening.
We were treated like good friends or family the entire stay and would never think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: They are all nice. We had asked for a quiet room and it definitely was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent four nights at Playa Azul. We did not do all-inclusive because we like to eat at a variety of restaurants wherever we travel. The resort is small and quiet, a $7 US cab ride from San Miguel (the town) on Cozumel. Big cruise ships dock at Cozumel each morning and leave each night. In the evening, the town is nice. Nice boutique at Los Cinco Soles in town. Back to the resort, our room was fine with a view of the pool and the sea. No tubs; showers only. Coffee maker in room. Balcony. Breakfast was included in our plan. There is a decent buffet or you can have omelettes made to your specifications. Pool was clean but quite chilly. Overall, though, nice place. I did eat dinner there one night and wasn't impressed so if you are a foodie I would not do all-inclusive. Also, we had the hotel do some laundry for us and it was well done. Hotel also lined up a rental car for us for a day when we explored the island. We also played golf. Greens fees are free if you are staying at the hotel, but the cost of the golf wasn't that cheap because they charged $40 per person for golf cart rental, plus we had to rent two sets of clubs and buy golfballs. Still it was an enjoyable round of golf. Right across the street from Playa Azul are two lobster-based restaurants. As you face them, opt for the one on your left and don't leave without ordering the key lime pie for dessert -- best I've ever had.

Room Tip: Rooms are on four floors. Ask for third or fourth floor. All rooms have some amount of ocean view. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 543SKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelseyville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My eldest daughter was recently married at Playa Azul. There were 30 of us at the resort, and the staff was able to warmly and efficiently handle out group. The entire event went smoothly. We stayed for 6 days. Playa Azul is wonderful - big enough to have every amenity we desired, yet small enough that we did not feel lost in a crowd. The food is FABULOUS!!! The spa is terrific, and the golfers among us very much enjoyed the golf course. The all-inclusive package is an absolute bargain, especially given that the food is top-notch, and drinks are included. Breakfasts are buffet-style with a chef at the ready for omelets, pancakes, waffles, etc. Lunches and dinners are ordered from an extensive menu and served by an absolutely marvelous staff. Our rooms were sparkling clean at check-in, and remained that way every single day. Beds were comfy; towels were thick and plentiful. The resort is beach-front, and the beach is clean and sandy. There's a snorkeling area adjacent to the resort with a great array of sea life, and equipment is available, included in the package price. The resort has a crystal-clear swimming pool, too. I didn't hear one single complaint the entire stay.

Room Tip: Many rooms are suites. I believe that every room has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juniper2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
10.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
5.8 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
22.0 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
0.5 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing