We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th Stay and better than ever!!!”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Lees Summit, MO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“7th Stay and better than ever!!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed at the Palace 2/7-2-16 and I can't wait to go back. I think it says it all when I say this was our 7th stay there in the last 3 years. I can't say enough when it comes to the staff. They truly are wonderful and genuine people that really seem to like their jobs. They are what make the place so special. This is the one place I can go and know it will exceed my expectations when it comes to service. From the minute you walk in you know this is some place special. This is a small hotel so if you are looking for a big resort feel with a million things to do this may not be the place for you but if you are looking for nice clean rooms, excellent service and a wonderful place to relax you have found it. I will admit I am not an easy person to please but I have no complaints when it comes to Cozumel Palace they continue to exceed my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,774
    604
    147
    68
    43
See reviews for
979
1,891
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This review is about 11 months late, but since we're planning to go back to the Riviera Maya this year, I'm going to make up for lost time. The Cozumel Palace is on the small side for a resort, but in this case, smaller was better. The entire facility is clean and up-to-date. Our room was spacious, clean, and well kept, and we had no room problems of any kind. Most rooms face the water, and it was great to be able to wake up or go to bed with a view of the sea. It may not be exciting for everyone, but I enjoyed watching the cruise ships come down the strait.

Service was great throughout the facility. Food qaulity was good and availability was excellent. You will not go hungry. There are three restaurants and one outdoor buffet/grill. The restaurants are good, but by far we preferred the outdoor evening buffet where you can choose from a wide variety of meats on the grill. The weather was excellent and there were no bugs, so the poolside was enjoyable. Plus, if the time is right, you can enjoy the sunset. There was entertainment every night, and the fire dancers were great to watch.

I was planning to spend a good sum of money on tours, but to our surprise, several tours were included with the stay. Make sure you check with Palace resorts to see if this still holds true in 2010. Be aware that some of the tours stop by plan at a Mayan coop where you eat and can purchase souvenirs. This was okay once, but we ended up there on two different tours. We visited Coba (very interesting Mayan site) and Tulum (absolutely beautiful Mayan site). We also took part in a vacation package sales pitch at Aventura Spa Palace on the mainland (Palace covered the transportation costs). In all, we took the ferry to the mainland three times. You would think we should have just stayed on the mainland, but the ferry ride actually added to the variety of our entire stay. Another positive of the Palace resorts is that you can use any of their facilities during your stay. We took advantage of this several times. There is a Palace next to the dock in Playa del Carmen, and we would stop there for a drink and snack if we had to wait for the next boat.

Keep in mind that the Cozumel Palace does not have a beach, and in general, I don't believe that Cozumel or the Riviera Maya have good beaches. From our experience and from reading other reviews, it sounds as if they need alot of maintenance. Cozumel, especially the west side, is not beautiful in and of itself. The town of San Miguel is within walking distance and we spent one evening there. We also took a rental car to the east side of the island. The east side is much more scenic with sandy beaches, lots of waves, and beautiful blue water. However, there's not much to do there and it was very windy.

All in all, we had a great week. The Cozumel Palace is an excellent choice. Cozumel island will give you a slight sense of seclusion, but there are a number of things to do on the island, and you can always take the ferry to the mainland to seek more adventure. The Mayan sites are a definite advantage for the Riviera Maya, but if you just want beautiful weather, they've got that, too.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnickersandTwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The staff here make up for the hotel's deficiencies. The hotel has no sports bar, no live lobby music, no theatre (or good shows for that matter), no landscapping and no beach, but it has a very outgoing staff that tries very hard, even though quite a few don't speak or understand english very well. The rooms are nice, not elaborate, but nice, and the food was quite good-at times excellent. We have stayed at many all-inclusives in the yucatan, but none with a higher tripadvisor rating, yet many were better resorts, although they were generally more expensive. If going to Cozumel (and we have many times), I don't think there is anywhere better to stay. Its just too bad they are missing a few regular amenities you pretty much always find in the Yucatan at the nicer all-inclusives.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u-p-hank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed at the Cozumel Palace from 2/5 to 2/13 and can't wait to return. The staff and facilities exceeded our expectations. The food and beverages were of of higher quality. We enjoyed the waiter at the pool who was called "Super Mario". He had a good sense of humor and seemed to enjoy his job. The hostess, Abby, at breakfast and lunch always referred to us by our name and welcomed us with a smile. We can not wait to return. It is a small Palace facility but that added to the experience.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stressreliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We went to Cozumel Palace for our honeymoon and we're glad we did! Our room was very roomy and clean. It had a very beautiful view of the water and cruise terminal (it was just fun to see the cruise boats docked every other day or so). We upgraded to the Concierge level which was well worth it. We got little snacks every afternoon and free 25 min back massages. It also came with a pillow menu and aromatherapy. The staff was very accommodating and they remember who you are by the time you leave. The snorkeling was ok, you could definitely find better snorkeling else where in the island. The only draw back that me and my husband didn't like was how salty some of the dishes were. Definitely bring one dressy outfit (for men, a collared shirt) and go to the Italian restaurant. They have a dessert there called the 5 passions (or something like that). It was by far the best dessert! The tours were also very fun! Be sure to book the tours at the Elite Tours desk, not Guest Services. It's located around the corner from the Front Desk. The Guest Services folks will talk you into going to Playa Del Carmen to for a presentation of how to be a member. If you don't want to be hassled by that, definitely avoid them when you check in. The business center has free internet access. You only get 30mins, so be sure to log off any sites you visited before the time runs out because it doesn't do it automatically. It says free 30mins each day, but we logged on more than once a day and it didn't charge us for doing so.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeannay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.9 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
16.2 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
12.4 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
2.8 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing