We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,472)
Filter reviews
5,472 results
Traveller rating
1,617
1,848
1,002
569
436
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,617
1,848
1,002
569
436
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsultimate dive experiencefirst clubfishthatched roofdive shopkids poolthe oriental restaurantgreat beachswim up barkids clubdinner buffeta la carte restaurantsfamily resortpicky eaterbeach volleyballtowel artother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 5,472 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Resort - 4 star as it was very clean. Entire staff was extremely nice and always ready to help. we had issues in room and was moved to another room in no time.

Food -Out of 12 days we stayed, We only ate at specialty restaurants except twice at buffet. Over all food was 3 star. We liked japan food best.

Sales folks - Sales folks are running biggest scam there. They sit right opposite to reception. if you see them simply run and act you know no english. They took $20 from me as deposit and never returned me. They also threatened me to ask anyone if I can get help. I spent thousands of dollar for this trip and could not care for $20 but this sales dude (Julio) attitude was very negative. I was almost ready to join timeshare but did not join just because these sales people.

I would not come back due to Julio and His boss.

Room Tip: Rent a car from Airport and don't book Cab.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear ssucal,
We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Allegro we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.
We feel very ashamed about the experience you had with the Vacational Club Staff, all the staff in the resort are well prepared to work with our guests, however we'll be sharing your comments with all the Manage Team staff in order to take actions.
Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
Warm Regards!
Monica P.
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We were upgraded to a villa which made our trip more memorable; regular rooms would have been too small for a family of four.
The service was AMAZING!!! A special thanks to Alejandro & Antonio Brito that by far we're unbelievably amazing! Best service we've ever had at a resort (including our Sandals trips).
Can't want to be back!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Mandy G,
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Allegro Cozumel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience and please be sure we'll be sharing your kind comments to Alejandro and Antonio in order to encourage them to improve even more their services. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Warm Regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Well, this could be brutal. Poor service on check in, rooms with bugs, termite tunnels on the walls, broken light fixtures and ceiling fans. Extra charges for everything you can think of. Bellmen on the take to release your luggage. Day passes sold to anyone with a pulse so that you have every sort of low life anywhere you look. Rude wait staff, EVERYONE forgets how to speak any English when you have a problem. In short?, avoid this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank markmI4463ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear markmI4463ZK,
Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at Allegro Cozumel fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated.
Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Allegro will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.
Warm regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

So let me start by saying we didn't know what to expect by the reviews....
However, we had an amazing time. Service was top notch and we loved our room. Many ppl were getting upset bc they paid the base price.. however, you pay for what you get. It was a quick trip from pier and beach was clean and lovely. We had a suite and loved the premium lounge. Yes they allow locals to come during the weekend but by dinner time they clear the pools and it's nice and quiet. My only two complaints is there was no way to break down change for tip money and the resort store is way over priced for basic items (sunscreen is $26 ) It's about $20 one way to go to town so we went one day and stayed on resort. We needed nothing while here. We had a nice private dinner on the beach with surf and turf. We have already rebooked for next year!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kalynbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Kalynbell,
Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Allegro Cozumel hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warm Regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Let me preface this review that we were very concerned about staying at the Allegro after reading the reviews. However, because we had lower expectations, they were far exceeded!

Service: 5 Stars -- The service was superb. From the front desk, to the concierge, to the wait staff, we had superior service. Benjamin at the front desk was very helpful and helped us get an upgraded room. He even allowed us to go and look at the room before we accepted. Mirna at the concierge desk arranged dinners for us, as well as an anniversary lobster dinner on the beach (last minute!) on the beach for my parents. Tips were very much appreciated and certainly improved service.

Dining: 4 Stars -- We were very surprised and satisfied with the food. Yes, the buffets were average but they were guaranteed to have tasty guacamole! All three of the fine dining restaurants were very good. We loved the fire coffee at the Italian restaurant.

Facilities/Pool: 3 Stars -- The Waterpark was one of the main reason's we chose this resort and it was definitely a nice feature. The slides need more water, but it still worked for us. The biggest complaint would be the cleanliness. The pools are liners (instead of tile) so they showed dirt, and were faded. Also, there was seriously "Poop" on the kids outdoor slides. We waited several days and it never was cleaned up.

Rooms: 3 Stars -- They were okay. We upgraded to a two-room suite. It was semi-updated. Beds were hard, TV had limited channels, there were ants everywhere. But otherwise they were kept very clean and our maid service was very good. The A/C worked great, but a couple of the nights it kicked off and was very hot! We had a top floor, and yes the birds are loud and it did leak (only a little bit).

Beach: 5 Stars -- The beach is fabulous! White clean sands. And probably because we were there off-season we never had trouble finding chairs.

Bar: 5 Stars -- Bartenders and waiters were friendly and could make anything you requested. But you had to ask for the "good" stuff (higher end alcohols). It's TRUE - not a straw to be found on the property, we brought our own!

Overall this was a nice resort. It's not 5 stars, but the price isn't either! You get what you pay for, and so much more!

*Other notes: Ana the photographer was great, as was the resort doctor.
Also... we were there Sunday - Saturday. They do have a great rate for locals on the weekend and it more than doubled the occupancy and changed the dynamic. It made it crazy busy, we were glad to be leaving on Saturday.

Room Tip: We were in bldg 56 and it was a great location, but was a little loud in the afternoon. When negotiating for you room, talk in "cash".
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Lacy D,
Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Allegro Cozumel hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.
Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.
Warm regards!
Monica P.
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews