We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,539)
Filter reviews
2,539 results
Traveller rating
1,283
741
303
112
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,283
741
303
112
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant living room mayan museum full kitchen convenience store beach bar big balcony ocean view junior suite breakfast buffet kids club pirate ship captains cove hotel zone beautiful beach kids pool ping pong
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2,539 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel Emporio Cancun
Blvd. Kukulcán Km 17, Retorno Gucumatz, Lote 49, Segunda Etapa, Zona Holetera, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico
Hotel
Kevin Tran
1420 points
6 minutes ago
All the 5 stars review have got to be fake. I don't write negative reviews unless it truly deserve it. We, 9 persons, stayed 4 nights with non-refundable reservations in 3 suites else we would have left. Hotel and room furniture is old and need remodeling. Room floor was so dirty my socks were blackened after walking around first 10 minutes. Asked room service to mop but he came in with a small rag. Did not help so we kept our shoes and scandals on throughout. Air conditioning AC is not cool, always running, loud and will not go below 23 degrees C. Was hot for the 3 kids, especially at night. Told receptionist, maintenance and room service multiple times only to he informed they have no rooms to change. Bathrooms have moles everywhere and would not drain water fast enough during showers. Always end up in 6-10 inches of soapy water after showering. Toilet was clogged, asked room service to fix, was told 5 minutes, came back after 6 hours tour and not fixed. Pool is filled with dirts, leaves and little trashes everywhere when I went under water. Breakfast was horrible, mushy fruits, oily food and had to wait 15 minutes for 2 juices while being #2 in line. Paid for 4 days breakfast but did not come back after first morning. Staffs were unhelpful and receptionist was rude and unprofessional. Front door person did not offer to carry our bags after arrival, family of 9 luggage had to carry up 1 flights of stairs then levators and then to lobby. Will not stay here again even if it's free. Definitely NOT 4 stars, barely 2 stars from my travel experiences. For what we paid, we did not get what we would have gotten from other hotels in Cancun. Been to Cancun many times. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank khuong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Im So sorry to hear that you had this impression, I will follow up on every thing that you mention.

We have very strong standards on every area that you mention, I just want to make sure that we are delivering accordingly

Sincerely,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel had a very friendly feel to it. Workers work very hard from sunrise till midnight to help maintain the quality of the hotel. First started in an ocean view room in the old style rooms which we were upgraded to at no cost. We then asked to move because this room had not been revamped yet and was quite old. Without any hassle the reception staff helped move us to the more modern part of the hotel were we walked straight out every morning to the pool where chairs and sunloungers were always free no matter what. This was never a problem. Pool size was big enough and very friendly staff come around asking if you want to join into water volleyball/polo/water aquqatics etc. Our room was VERY a clean and the maids were excellent. We had 2 double beds in our room between 2 of us. 3 massive mirrors, a television, lots of storage and a very modern bathroom which was great. The walk to the beach was seconds which was just beautiful and we were one of the only hotels where staff members sweeped away the seaweed from near the sea. The staff were all super friendly and not one would walk past without saying hello. Food wise, we only ever went to the hut which is situation right in the middle of the 2 pools also offering a swim up bar. Food was buffet style and for around 2 of us was between 500-600 pesos together. Breakfast served absolutely everything but for dinner and tea it was more so pastas, pizzas, beef, chicken etc. Inside here also had many televisions which we watched the World Cup from. Our hotel was 10 minutes on a bus from the main clubs and was situated in a great location with a mini super market over the road for when we were a little hungry. My only down fall to this hotel is the gym. I was expecting to go here and it have plenty of machines, weights and gym bars but it had a few weights, 3 running machines, 2 cross trainers and several other smaller equipment

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kirstie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Kirstie L
Thank you so very much for your nice comments about your recent stay at Emporio Cancun.
We will have a larger Gym in a close future, its something that will occur, I hope that in your next visit you can use it.
Thank you specially for commending our staff and their attitude, we feel so proud of everyone of them.
We are hoping to host you again very soon.

Sincerly ,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We reserved a beachfront room and the view was gorgeous! Our room still needed the updates but that's what the resort is working on. The resort is very well kept up! We felt welcomed right when we arrived. The employees all work very hard keeping the place in nice condition! The seaweed was heavy when we were there but the employees did such a great job cleaning the entire resort beach. The other resorts around us did not do this. We did the all inclusive and the food at the Bacoli Trattoria restaurant was delicious - especially the tiramisu! That was unbelievable! However, the food at the buffet & the beach snack menu was just ok - nothing great. That was the big disappointment because other than the Italian restaurant - the buffet is all you have. The beach and pool had plenty of chairs so it was never a problem finding one! We really enjoyed our view from the room and the beach!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the beachfront view!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gretchen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Gretchen30
Thank you so much for your candid review, we really appreciatte the fact that you mention the areas to improve.
In a very short future we will add two more restaurants , this will allow us to provide more options.
Thank you again, we look forward to host you in the near future.

Sincerely
Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

The hotel was clean and the pool was well looked after. During our stay, the waves were very big and made it hard to swim in the ocean. The beach had lots of seaweed but the staff did a great job cleaning it up. There wasn't a big variety of food but everything was amazing. They had a lot of activities during the day and the animation team was wonderful! Edgar did an outstanding job, his sense of humour and funny comments made our days. He involved us in playing soccer, volleyball, pool volleyball, blackjack and we liked it because he encouraged fair play! One day he took us for the excursion to the museum and demonstrated excellent knowledge of Maya's culture.
We had a very good time with Edgar and animation team! Good memories!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank contacttimur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, Thank you specially for commending Edgard, he is a service star indeed.
We very much lookk forward to host you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

The resort is under renovation, so there is a little noise. As soon as we walked in the doors we were welcome. The pool and beach area are spotless, many things were planned through the week. Manuel and all the wait staff did a great job. The food is very good in the two restaurants, and the bars make good drinks. Thank you for a enjoyable week. Bob Conklin, Green Bay Wi.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rconklin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your raving review, is great to know that you had such a great time.
We look forward to host you again in the next future.
Sincerely,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews