We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cancun - locals great, tourists not” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oasis Palm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oasis Palm
Ranked #78 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cancun - locals great, tourists not”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our first trip to Mexico. Left the kids and dog at home. Just the wife and me. 7-day all-inclusive at the Oasis Palm Beach. The happy staff worked hard to make us feel welcomed. I'm saddened that a lot of the tourist were very disrespectful to the locals, ranging from verbal outbursts to restaurant staff, to throwing key cards at front desk staff because the cards would not permit access to their room doors (... the latter reason being that they were trying to use their towel rental cards to gain entry... Bozos!). The beach was a bit small but a 15-minute walk along the shoreline will bring you to an isolated public beach with better sand. Face it, a hotel is a place for you to sleep; most of the time you should be venturing out and about anyways. The Oasis Palm Beach is fine if you do not have unrealistic expectations... and visiting a third world country, you shouldn't be expecting perfection. Just my humble opinion.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    886
    558
    266
    286
See reviews for
952
782
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roland, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

One of the big advantages to Oasis Palm Resort is that it's located at the very North end of the Hotel Strip - right next to the bridge to Cancun proper. So you can easily walk over to town. There are several restaurants with different cuisines, and all the food was great. I recommend the piña colada drinks - with or without alcohol !! And the Mexican restaurant had delicious things I never encountered before. We would go to the breakfast buffet and bring enough food with us for sack lunches on Isla Mujeres.

There is no beach at the resort, but hey - we spent ALL our daytime on Isla Mujeres, which is like something out of a 1940s vintage John Wayne movie, where you can get away from all the corporate hype to experience Mom-and-Pop shopping and sight-seeing on golf carts. Isla is a wonderful ferry ride just across from Oasis Palm. Be sure to patronize Hortensia's custom tailoring stall on the Island - I got a custom-tailored magician's outfit for my shows with embroidery and bead-work for $60, ordered one day and picked up the next. Also great massages on North Beach from Eujenia and her family - very affordable !!

Back at the Resort, I particularly loved the Marsh Grackles, which I had written about in my books but never actually seen. Alejandro the Porter was a magnificent helper and friend. We had a nice view of the pirate ship harbor from our window.

The only drawback at the Resort was some fairly steep staircases, but hey - I needed the exercise.

I was ashamed of some fellow Americans who sat around and complained about the help. We had nothing but excellent service. Understanding concierge, friendly bartenders and waiters, and of course Alejandro ...

I plan to go back this year.


ALAN

Room Tip: We were promised a room with a view. We didn't get it at first, but they quickly upgraded when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davilance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent one week here and on day three I was perfectly willing to go home if I could. Upon check in, we really had to struggle (argue) to obtain the balcony that we booked in the first place. We had to pay extra but it resulted in a beautiful and very clean room. We also had to pay extra for the room safe. We also had to pay extra for use of the fridge that was in the room. (they kept it locked). With all the extras, I really had to wonder were the all inclusive went!
The food was fine. Not wonderful, but ok. The drinks were of the same quality. Both buffets gave us grief on seating of all things! The outside seating of one was deemed for larger groups only so as we were a couple, we apparently didn't qualify until a kind and friendly waiter waved us over. The other buffet closes their outside seating 1/2hour earlier than the inside seating. Just silly, and frustrating!
We found the staff to be reluctant to please with the exception of the cleaning staff and waiters at the restaurants and bars. The servers and cleaners were super friendly and helpful.
If you are desirous of a truly all inclusive trip where you get what you paid for, keep searching because it is not here! Look into a Dreams resort or a Barcelo resort.
I'm just done with Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Back form a week at the oasis palm beach .Great food and drinks with plenty of bars.All i can tell you is a litttle tipping can make your vacation much better they do work hard.

Room Tip: Up grade to the new grand palm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandmon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was my husband & my fourth trip to Mexico and our first to Cancun. We travelled with 5 other couples. We were booked at the Oasis Palm in Cancun and poor customer service from the get-go! We checked in our room which we were told would have a balcony and didn't. The room was musty smelling and worn bedroom furniture. The windows were sealed, so we couldn't get any fresh air. The air-conditioning only worked on high or off. There was water on the floor from a leak over the toilet in our bathroom. We decided right then and there that we were going down to request a different room and were greeted with very unfriendly and defensive staff at the front desk. We were told that we wouldn't get another room until they looked into the problem and acted as if they didn't even know of the leak. A lady overheard me speaking to friends about our room and she asked if we happened to have just checked into room #.... and we said yes. She told us that her and her husband had just checked out and that they had reported this problem and it was never fixed. Her husband was a plumber and just put a pail under the leak because they loved the view. This wouldn't have and didn't keep me there. We ended up getting an up-grade to the hotel next door, which was the Grand Oasis at a cost of $550.00. Three couples of group joined us in the move over. They never offered us any real discount. When I mentioned that we should have had a king size bed and a balcony (at the Oasis Palm), they told us that it would cost more and that is when we decided to move to the other hotel. I had called our travel agent a few days before we left and she had called the Sunwing Representative and confirmed that we had a balcony, but this was not the case. The Grand Oasis was definitely a more attractive hotel, but still lacking in many ways. There were no clock radios in the room. You only received room service (late night snack or dinner) if you had a certain type/color of bracelet. We had two days where our room wasn't cleaned or fresh towels received. They called at 5:30 one night and asked if we still wanted room service and I said not at this point of the day. Same thing happened the next day. Bathrooms were never replenished with toiletries unless asked. I left a tip on my pillow every morning, which didn't seem to encourage any better service. I gave up towards the end. The rooms and bathroom at the Grand Oasis were inviting and the bathroom very large and clean (when it was cleaned). The service was so inconsistent even in the restaurants. My husband asked to have french fries at one of the outdoor lunch bars with his roast chicken instead of a baked potato and was told he couldn't - that was only for hamburger orders. If you had your own laptop, it was a hit and miss if you could connect. The internet service the hotel offered was 100 pesos for half an hour. There was no nightly entertainment (such as theme shows) other than Sunday, Tuesday & Thursday night. Every other hotel we have stayed in had themed shows every night except for Sundays. If it wasn't for the Piano Bar, we would have been bored out of our minds in the evenings. There was a wonderful three-piece band that played there nightly (Confetti) and they were so accommodating to our requests for music. We enjoyed them and they enjoyed our enthusiasm to their music. After they were done in the evening (8:30-11:00 - Mon-Sat); a Mariachi style group came on (more like Il Divo) that were awesome as well. The name of this group was Voice of the Earth and we took home one of their CDs. These two groups really helped to make our stay more enjoyable. Cynthia was our waitress at the Piano Bar and she was always so wonderful and caring. Making sure that we had drinks and always a smile. There was no newsletter or posting of events (or lack of) posted anywhere in the hotel. We also missed having a channel that would show the weather forecast for the area. Most channels were in Spanish, with a few in English. It would have been helpful to have English subtitles on the Spanish channels, as they had Spanish subtitles on the English channels. The other downfall was that some of our friends that we travelled with stayed in the older hotel (for various reasons) and weren't allowed to come to some of the restaurants/bars or even some a la carte restaurants in the hotels. If they came to visit us at our hotel pool, the staff watched them very closely until they left. Very unfriendly staff for the most part. The food at both restaurants was very good, again something that helped to ease the pain of all the other things that were wrong with this hotel (both Oasis Palm & Grand Oasis). There was a domestic dispute on our floor one night that went on for hours, and not much was done other than to speak to the couple. It wasn't a little squabble. All adjoining rooms in and around that room came out to find out what was going on. It could have turned out to be much worse than it did. We could have possibly read of another tragedy at a Mexico hotel. The hotel was a very noisy hotel. Hallways carried voices. The doors could have been sealed better, which may have helped with this problem. We overlooked the pool/disco and when the disco ended at 1:00 a.m. the younger crowd would gather at the pool until all hours yelling and being young kids and nothing was ever done to clear them out.Our overall experience at this hotel was less than pleasurable and I would not recommend that anyone would consider staying at this resort for any reason. We have stayed a less expensive/less star resorts in the Mayan Riviera and had much, much better experiences. If you are smart, you will stay away! Norma - Winnipeg

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nfritzsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.4 km away
Oasis Smart
Oasis Smart
#43 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#50 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
7.5 km away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#93 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#56 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
8.3 km away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
3.6 km away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Palm

Property: Oasis Palm
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Seccion C - Lote 1 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Oasis Palm Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#52 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Palm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Everything you want in a family vacation for less: that's me! Let me play with the little ones in my Kids Club while you take a break in my Kin Ha Spa - I've got lots of ways for grown-ups to relax while the kids have fun and games.They say I look a lot like my sister resort, Grand Oasis Palm, but my price tag is smaller, and who doesn't love that! Get together as a family and share my Mexican heritage, culture and cuisine; build sand castles on my sandy shore and splash and paddle in my spectacular freeform swimming pool". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Oasis Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Palm Hotel Cancun
Oasis Palm Beach Cancun
Oasis Palm Beach Hotel Cancun
Oasis Palm Cancun
Oasis Palm Beach Resort Cancun
Calinda Beach Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing