We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lots of children, not for couples looking for adult time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #16 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, lots of children, not for couples looking for adult time”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just returned from 5 nights at the Casamagna. The resort was nice and the beach is beautiful. Very clean and the water is gorgeous. We were upgraded from a garden view to an ocean room view room, at no charge, as it was our honeymoon. We were very grateful to the Casamagna for their generosity. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the entrance to the hotel. We took the bus daily to get around Cancun. Public transportation is excellent. No need to rent a car. I will make very clear, while we were at the Casamagna I would say the majority of the people there were families with small children. My husband and I were not comfortable in the pool or the large jacuzzi as they were both always filled with young children playing and splashing. Even at 10 pm when we thought we may sneak down for a little jacuzzi time.....small children jumping from the jacuzzi into the pool. In short, if you are a family with children this is the perfect place to go. If you are a couple looking for a romantic getaway, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,431
    1,089
    260
    101
    54
See reviews for
1,281
1,318
161
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Casa Magna for 6 nights. Beautiful hotel lobby, very grand. However, there was construction going on the whole time we were there, but it didn't interfere with our stay. The rooms were OK - huge ocean front balcony, but it was so windy you couldn't really sit outside most of the time. The rooms were a bit haggard - we had big stains on the couch and chair in our room. Nice TV's, and Ipod alarms. Bedding was very comfortable. Bathrooms were fine, but a bit shabby. Shower curtains in hotel rooms always gross me out. Staff was friendly and helpful. We ate at Champions, a sports bar on site, which was OK, but it took over an hour to get our food. The Thai restaurant Sasi was wonderful - excellent service and great food. There were plenty of lounge chairs by the pool, and the beach was beautiful. Really good buffet breakfast at the hotel. No typical spring break crowd, which was great. Lots of families. Tours and reservations arranged through the hotel made things very easy. All in all, a nice place to stay in Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim and Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

A great place if you like to have a lot available on location. Hotel has everything: located right on the ocean, nice pool, restaurants, conv. store, spa. The staff is very accommodating, they will do their best to try and make you very comfortable. As other travlers have posted the place could do for a renovation, many of the amenities are showing their wear (such as the pool and the rooms). We did see a lot of activity from grounds maintenance during the day to repair the stucco, etc, so it is in progress. The J.W. Marriot is right adjacent to the Casa Magna (CM), which is much newer and the pool is amazing. If you're staying at the CM you are also eligible to use the JW amenities for free.

We found the three restaurants at CM to be very expensive, however, the Sedona Grill at the JW is very reasonable with a wide variety of entree choices. Also, watch out for the wifi charge. Wifi is available and when you get the signal it appears to be a to a public, unsecured, for free access point, such as in a Starbucks. Once you request access you will get a screen on your browser that innocently asks for your name and room number with no reference to a cost. There is a charge though (which I asked about before logging in), which is $15 for 24 hours from the time you sign in. This charge is PER DEVICE. So, if you've got a couple of iPads/pods/phones it can get pretty expensive. Being on vacation getting on the internet wasn't a priority, so I avoided this charge and went across the street to McDonalds, or when taking some of the public buses, which both have free wifi.

This location is very nice becuase it is away from what I call the "little USA" portion of Cancun located about two miles north of the CM, which is where all the 20/30 somethings hang out and get drunk and stupid. We went down there only a couple of times during our week stay and quite frankly could have avoided this area altogether. There is a McDonalds, 7-11, OXXO (Mexican AM/PM sort of place), Papa Johns, plus many very nice restaurants right across the street from the hotel; easy walking distance. All major tour companies to places like Xel Ha, Tulum, Xcaret and Chichen Itza all pick up and drop off at the CM too. Don't take a cab anywhere, as I mentioned earlier the public buses run constantly (about every two to three minutes) to take you downtown, the Isla Mujeres terminal, etc. for 8.5 pesos, about 60 cents. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TOYOTAGPoulsbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We booked a room for one night to be closer to the airport after a Cozumel vacation. We wished we had just stayed here the whole time. It felt secure. The guard made sure we were guests before letting our taxi in. The bellman was fantasic, checkin was first rate, the room and view were fabulous, the pool was clean and the perfect tempurature. The hot tub was also a perfect temp with a beautiful view. You can just request towels without feeling like a criminal. We had one meal at Champions and the food was great. They made a great move by putting us in a ocean view for our one night, we were SOLD! We are already planning on coming back. We would like to check out the J.W. Marriot next door when we come back. Apparently you can swim and dine there as well. I cannot say enough about the level of service. Very upscale yet reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view on level 3. The patios are double the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Wonderful friendly sevice. Good location. Very nice. Great value.

Room Tip: Try to purchase as part of Flight/Hotel package and stay almost free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.4 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
6.2 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.3 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,836 reviews
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing