We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had stayed at the Royal Islander back in 1999 and decided to return this year for a family vacation. We were not disappointed at all! We had a full 2-bedroom villa at the Royal Caribbean which was perfect for our family of 5: master bedroom with king bed and own bathroom, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds and own bathroom, full kitchen, full living room with 2 Murphy beds, large balcony with full patio set. You would be hard pressed to find something so spacious at any other resort.

Everything on the resort is immaculate and all staff is extremely friendly. You have access to all facilities of the 3 side-by-side resorts (Islander, Caribbean, Mayan) as well as the other 2 resorts in Cancun (Sands, Club International).

We took the bus to Wal-Mart in downtown Cancun to do some groceries, mostly for breakfasts and lunches. It's much cheaper than buying your food at the resort's convenience store.

We tried a few of the resort restaurants for dinner: Paco Taco's and The Palapa (casual Mexican), Tradewinds, and Captain's Cove (fine Seafood and Steak). All restaurants were very good but a bit pricey, especially the drinks and desserts.

We do have 2 minor complaints:
1) The WiFi was terrible - it was slower than dial-up, often not being able to connect at all. That being said, you shouldn't be connected when you're on vacation (c:
2) Lack of nightlife - the outdoor bars and the sports bar were pretty dead at night. In other words, we found that there wasn't much to do on the resorts after dinner. I think this has more to do with the clientele - it consisted mostly of retired people and some young families (no offense to anyone intended (c:)

Aside from the above very minor issues, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Royal Resorts. The service, the facilities, the beach, the activities, the food were all excellent! Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,465 - 1,469 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

I started visiting the Royal Resorts in Cancun in 1998 as a guest of my family. As our family grew, we first rented an additional villa but then bought our own time share week at the Royal Caribbean in 2003. We always love visiting there and even though there's the option to trade our place there for a week somplace else on earth we've never even considered it. The stellar care of the building and grounds, the "Welcome Home!" attitude of the staff and the variety of things to do keep us feeling at home here and looking forward to returning year after year.

Room Tip: The kid's pool is right in front of the E building, so great if you have young children, or avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is our 2nd visit to the Royal Caribbean and again, we loved it. The location, the staff, the amenities and the weather were just perfect. Even the restaurant on fajita night was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankDiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My family has been coming here (and to the neighboring Royal Mayan) for over 10 years. The place is immaculately clean and the grounds are pretty and well tended, the pool is very clean, and there is always some kind of maintenance or cleaning always happening somewhere - nothing is ever left to fall apart, break down, or get dingy.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, although you can sometimes get a bit too pestered by your "concierge". They'll try to kill you with kindness, of course to try to get you to buy a unit or two. At least they get the message fast if you aren't in a buying mood!

I really only have two minor complaints. First, the restaurant food is just OK, not great, and can be on the expensive side (you can easily spend $25 per person on a simple lunch). The best food nearby is at the Captain's Cove restaurant which is about 5-10 minutes walk and you can put the tab on your resort card. You can also buy basic food at the store in the resort (it's comparable to a very small supermarket - they have frozen food, canned, fruits & veggies, basic health & beauty stuff, etc.)

The second complaint is that although there is free Wi-Fi throughout the resort, it stinks. It's slow and unreliable, and you have to frequently re-enter the access code the resort gives you (and that code changes weekly). I don't even know why they use a code at all since they give the same code to everyone and the Wi-Fi is free, but whatever - hopefully you aren't going to a beach resort to spend all day on Wi-Fi anyway!

Oh, and the pillows are small and lumpy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sashazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

First of all, thank you for being a loyal guest over all these years! We really appreciate it and love to welcome back friendly faces every year.

Regarding your comments about food & wi-fi, I'll pass a copy of them to Restaurants and IT management in order to follow up and make the necessary adjustments in our service. Internet enabled mobile device usage has skyrocketed at The Royal Resorts in the past year or so, resulting in the slow performance our Wi-Fi network experiences sometimes. Work is already being done to fix this.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We spent the week of January 21st at the Royal Caribbean! It was an outstanding week, it is like home to us! The staff is outstanding!

Room Tip: Located in the middle of the 3 resorts, lots of options for dining, etc. The rooms on south side g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrammaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.9 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.2 km away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,129 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,073 reviews
3.7 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
3.1 km away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: €86 - €267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing