We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine dinning at its best”

Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond
Ranked #10 of 1,036 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$80
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: DU MEXIQUE es un Lujo Gastronómico con una sola "Estrella"... Usted!. Es un pequeño espacio donde la tradición se encuentra con el estilo contemporáneo, el Romance y los Cinco Sentidos. El Lugar se ubica en pleno Corazón de Cancún, la cocina es la herencia de nuestro prestigiosos Chef Alain Grimond, y ahora es ejecutada con perfección por nuestro Gran Chef Benjamín Ferra y Castell. Y, por supuesto que su elegante diseño interior y su impecable servicio, poseen la firma inconfundible de su anfitriona y Propietaria Sonya Grimond.-Abierto de: 19:00 a 23:30 horas.-Descansamos el "Domingo".Gracias.
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Alain and Sonia are your hosts and while in their care you will experience a meal equal to any 4 star restaurant in North America!

5  Thank jr w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013
Google Translation

Apreciable Amigo: Nada más una nota amistosa para decir ¡GRACIAS!, por su visita en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond, en el 2012. Gracias por compartir su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida con nosotros. Les deseamos un año 2013 lleno de Bienestar Absoluto. Con Cariño Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had souffle, pâté on apple tart, and ravioli made with local ingredients and flavors. Ravioli is a must. Mains, we had duck, fish and rack of lamb, all excellent. Dessert included a local fruit mousse we couldn't catch the name of, but excellent. Personal experience from having chef/owner explain each menu item was educational and very helpful. They love what they do and what they prepare.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Dattio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013
Google Translation

Apreciable Amigo: Nada más una nota amistosa para decir ¡GRACIAS!, por su visita en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond, en el 2012. Gracias por compartir su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida con nosotros. Les deseamos un año 2013 lleno de Bienestar Absoluto. Con Cariño Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had an amazing meal at this sweet little restaurant that felt like a well-kept secret. There is no name outside, and it looks like you are entering someone's home. The chef and his wife were the only staff that we saw the entire time and they were delightful. I felt like we were at their home for dinner. The food was amazing and the service and pace was perfect. My favorite was the duck breast with rose petal sauce. This restaurant was like a safe haven for foodies in a city of Senor Frogs and Hooters. Please don't miss it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013
Google Translation

Apreciable Amigo: Nada más una nota amistosa para decir ¡GRACIAS!, por su visita en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond, en el 2012. Gracias por compartir su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida con nosotros. Les deseamos un año 2013 lleno de Bienestar Absoluto. Con Cariño Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Downtown Cancun at Bonampak Av., small haute cuisine restaurant offering cuisine fusion by the chef in person but prices are extremely high. Make a reservation because there are only a few tables. Very chick and romantic atmosphere.

3  Thank tron38us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We fell in love with this culinary treasure. located in Cancun Centro. Du Mexique offers truly inspired and impeccably prepared French-Mexican fusion cuisine. Hosted by chef-owner Alain and his vivacious wife Sonia, we felt as though we were dining in the  casual elegance and warmth of their own home.  We so enjoyed our meal that we returned several days later for 'second helpings.'  Du Mexique was one  of our most memorable dining experiences ever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank DrBizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013
Google Translation

Apreciable Amigo: Nada más una nota amistosa para decir ¡GRACIAS!, por su visita en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond, en el 2012. Gracias por compartir su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida con nosotros. Les deseamos un año 2013 lleno de Bienestar Absoluto. Con Cariño Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing