We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great ”
Review of Grand Oasis Sens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Oasis Sens
Ranked #85 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

First day the roof was leaking all over, buckets all over the place following some rain. Not a great start. Room was ok but nothing special, a bit tired and having a lagoon view our balcony overlooked a giant fan that was very noisy sounding like a helicopter was going to land. We tried to upgrade to a sea view but was told to come back to reception when a manager was there but every time we went there was no manager, just the same staff member so decided we couldn't be bothered if they couldn't.

The best thing about the hotel was the food, the restaurants are great but for a 2 week stay it got boring very fast, particularly the breakfast, only going twice in the second week. The coffee place was great and we went a lot, a couple of the staff in there were great.

The hotel was quiet so never had an issue getting sun beds though the rear pool near the road was under a lot of construction and very noisy.

The bars were ok, though the choice on offer wasn't great offer finding things run out so having to choose something else, service was also slow particularly in the piano bar if there were more than a few people. The two bar men in there most often were the worst staff we came across. The short guy was rude and ignorant, suffice to say he never got a tip.

The spa is good though not the cheapest and the hot tub for spa use was filthy with green water too.

Overall the hotel was ok but the food made my stay better, though breakfast is very repetitive. Wouldn't stay again, there is plenty of choice for the price range in cancun so will go elsewhere if I ever return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank MarcWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisHotelResorts, Director General at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Marc,

Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you encountered so we can reinforce and improve the service since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.
It is important for us to highlight that we are aware of some of the maintenance issues you mentioned and that is why we have started with renovations of our rooms and common areas. It takes some time since we are working on one floor at a time, but we are making sure everything works properly to avoid inconveniences.
Despite this, we appreciate your comments regarding our restaurants, we work hard to offer a unique concept and high-quality food in each one.
Also, we want to let you know that when you have a setback at the hotel you can contact our managers or customer service staff to solve any situation you might have. By last, you can contact us so we can do a proper follow-up. Our goal is to provide a respectful environment between our staff and hotel guests.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for the inconvenience; we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again for you to enjoy the changes we are implementing.

Best regards,
Gabriel Torre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 5,323 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

We were at the Sens 2 weeks ago and had the time of our lives! The property is so pretty and the beach spectacular. I have stayed in other places in the Cancun area but the Sens far out showed the rest.

There are so many restaurants to choose from and the food is great! I could stay at the breakfast buffet all day! The Italian place for lunch is fantastic! Worth taking a break from the beach for their pizza.

The beach is wonderful and clear of rocks. The water clear and refreshing. Can't beat this location! We will be back......hopefully soon!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank yinyang65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisHotelResorts, Director General at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay in Cancun. We are glad to know that you had the opportunity to taste our several specialized restaurants, as well as a buffet restaurant that aims to cater for all tastes.
We are extremely glad you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our beautiful beach. Likewise, we always are working extremely hard to clean the beaches without damaging our precious white sand. We will continue our efforts so every guest can enjoy our pristine location.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Best regards.
Gabriel Torre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Travelled Oct 12-18
Upgraded to the Sian Ka'an room and was checked in at 10 am in the private checkin, handed a Mimosa and 20 minutes late was in a phenomenal room on the top floor with a balcony twice the size of the room a private hot tub and a view that allowed me to see the entire beach up and down.
No complaints on the room or checkin.

Being low season the buffet was only open for breakfast and the food was fine,
No complaints on the buffet

I didn't go to the Benazuza, Sakura or Black Hole as they required long pants and when I go to a tropical resort for vacation, I will not wear long pants( just my thing) So I ate at the BOX, a very good Tapas style restaurant, Hippie Chick is the Beach Grill nearer the pool than the beach, the lime chicken is BBQ'd and excellent, they also have the usual cheese burger and fries etc. The Moonlight Italian restaurant was very good as well, recommend the Lasgna. Mucho something or other is the Mexican, if your looking for Taco Bell its not there they serve authentic Mexican and it was very good. Service was good in all of the restaurants.
No complaints about the food.

Beach is well kept, the bartenders happy to pour whatever your choice is, there seem to be constant cleaning and maintenance and generally overall the place was very good shape.

For those complaining about too many stairs, come on its probably the only exercise they will get other than lifting there giant Bubba Mug to their lips. you can be from the lobby to the beach in less than 2 minutes.

Overall, awesome staff, food was good and room was good. There are better, but not for the price and the fact it is adult only is a bonus.

Room Tip: 928 Sian Ka'an
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisHotelResorts, Director General at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such kind comments with TripAdvisor readers, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was an honor having you.
In the same way, thank you for highlighting the qualities that made your stay unforgettable. We are glad that you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer. Our staff works hard to satisfy our guests so that they have amazing experiences.
Likewise, we are pleased you liked our “adults-only” concept and our calm and relaxed atmosphere.
Also, we would like to inform you that we have a strict dress code at some of our restaurants that require reservation because we offer gourmet and vanguard cuisine and we want to create a unique environment so our guests experience something special.
The dress code is even more important at our blind tasting restaurant "Black Hole" since it is essential to wear all black to enjoy the entertainment and the sensorial experience.
Despite this, we appreciate your comments regarding our restaurants, we work hard to offer a unique concept and high-quality food in each one.

We appreciate you recommending us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Gabriel Torre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I go to the Sens a couple times a year and each stay has been good. All the rooms have great views. The service was very good.

The check in/out was a little slow. The food in the restaurants is very good. The beach is great!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisHotelResorts, Director General at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Brian,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing us as hosts of your stay here in Cancun.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the restaurants and facilities we offer.
Likewise, our staff works really hard to make every single one of our guests feel at home and make sure they have an amazing experience, be assured that we will congratulate our staff for the excellent work they performed.
Also, we are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced regarding your check-in/out. All your comments and opinions are considered in order to improve our service.

We appreciate you recommending us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Gabriel Torre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

It has been a few months now and sorry but my busy life just took over as it usually does after returning from vacation. Booked through Cheap Caribbean the all-inclusive oasis sian ka'an club - sex on the beach package, which was the only way to go if you wanted the private beach area private bar and pool and also included either a splash pool or hot tub on your over sized balcony. Ok, I have done plenty of these reviews on Trip Advisor now and I think I know what people want to hear about so here it goes. Check-in was very nice they literally swept us away to a private area and before you know it we both had premium drinks in our hands and we're being checked in by a very sweet young lady I think named Satpal while sitting in comfy seats then they take us up to our room along with our luggage being expedited by very kind bell man Fidel upon entrance to the first room and looking out the balcony I was not very happy because it had a large concrete area in front of our balcony which somewhat obstructed The View and I wanted better so I asked if I could look at a different room Pavel was very polite in did show me another room which was amazing you will see pictures that I will attach. The splash pool was wonderful and made it perfect. The beach was amazing white fluffy sand and beautiful blue water and not very many people bothering you trying to sell you stuff, we did all though stick to the private beach for the sand can Club area only which was restricted by some rope from every place else while Lizzett our waitress constantly kept our drinks filled and took care of us for lunch, Esteban made me the best tequila sprites and always had a shot of tequila ready for me. The pools are great, spent a few afternoons enjoying them and the pool bar with the waterfall in front is nice. All food was wonderful we did the 23 course meal restaurant and we also did the special one where your meal served in the dark. The buffet food was always good and Omar was the best waiter, met us every morning with a cheerful smile, our bartender at the indoor private bar Daniel knew exactly what I wanted to drink every time I walked in and so did the private bartender at the outside bar Esteban got to know me very well!!! We did end up changing rooms again because our AC went out on the last or day before we were going to leave and did not want to spend our last evening they're sweating so our last evening and morning was spent in a different room that was not quite as nice as the room we had for the majority of our stay. All in all I would say this was a very nice vacation get away they are always just as nice as you yourself allow them to be. This facility needs a little TLC but seems they are always working on it. The great staff is what made this stay so nice! we enjoyed ourselves and it was a good trip back to Cancun after visiting other destinations every summer for the last 11 years..

Room Tip: Must book sian ka'an club - sex on the beach package and ask for the highest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VikingElad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisHotelResorts, Director General at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you in advance for highlighting the points that made your stay pleasant, this helps us know our strengths and weaknesses so we can provide a better service day by day.
Also, we are delighted that you enjoyed our calm and relaxed atmosphere in our rooms and in the beach area.
On the other hand, we are happy that you enjoyed our molecular restaurant Benazuza, and our unique restaurant Black Hole; we try to do our best to satisfy all of our guests by providing a wide variety of restaurants.
Likewise, it is gratifying to receive such great comments regarding our staff; be assured that we will congratulate them for their terrific work.

It has been a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Gabriel Torre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
12.2 km away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#94 of 176 in Cancun
10,724 reviews
10.1 km away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 176 in Cancun
3,651 reviews
4.4 km away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,222 reviews
0.1 km away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#35 of 176 in Cancun
4,816 reviews
2.8 km away
The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Sens

Address: Ave Kukulcan Km 19.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sens Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cancun
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#52 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: €160 - €284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Oh yes - I'm sexy, sensuous... And adults-only resort that's romantic, relaxing and a little risque. Warm and inviting. Follow your bliss and learn my secrets -from my foodie-friendly gourmet dining experience to my exclusive Sian Ka'an preserve, a true Shangri-La, a lost paradise on earth". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oasis Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sens Del Mar Hotel Cancun
Oasis Playa Cancun
Cancun Oasis Playa
Grand Oasis Playa Cancun Mexico
Oasis Playa Hotel In Cancun
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing