We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Maya Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$528
US$458
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$273
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$315
US$267
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$332
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$508
US$474
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$463
US$382
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$604
US$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$255
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,032
US$974
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveller rating
434
633
257
99
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
633
257
99
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel zonerecommend casamurphy bedgreat beachone bedroom unitliving roomfull kitchenthrough rcibreakfast buffettimeshare pitchan older hoteloutdoor restaurantconvenience storebit datedbus stoptennis courtscleaned daily
Filter
Updating list...
781 - 786 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We spent a week at Hotel Casa Maya last week through RCI exchange. I had read all the reviews here and was pretty nervous about the hotel. It was better than I expected, although it does have some limitations. First, it is on the best beach for a mile in either direction. The water is calm, beach is clean, and its really pretty. On the downside, we discovered quickly that if you want to sit under an umbrella (or on some days, even a chair without an umbrella) you have to go put your stuff there like 6 am. I didn’t want to give in to this but the bottom line was that if I didn’t make the trek down to the beach that early, we couldn’t get the umbrellas, which are the only shade on the beach for most of the day. You can just leave your stuff there and come back later, no one takes it away as the front desk staff warns you about when you check in. However be aware that there is a regular group of people who all know each other and have been going to Casa Maya for years, and they pretty much take a lot of the umbrellas every day and kind of dominate the area. They were nice though and quick to give advice, so it’s a balance. One upside of getting up early is that the mornings are beautiful and quiet. You cant really see the sunset from the hotel in the evenings which is kind of a bummer. Next, the hotel staff keeps the hotel and beach very clean, they are always working. As for the rooms, we were in Tower 2 and although the beds were firm, we were fine with it and did not need any cushioning. The room (a studio) had a fridge, microwave and toaster, along with plates, glasses and silverware. (you have to do your dishes before you leave or they charge you). There weren’t many options for eating at the hotel –theres the pool bar which is open til 5 and has a limited menu, and the outside restaurant which was intermittently open and very limited in choices. Then theres the inside restaurant which offers breakfast only- which was pretty good. And the inside bar which had a small snack menu. We didn’t go to the welcome party or have dinner at the hotel at all, we just werent impressed with the choices. There aren’t many options for eating within walking distance so we took the bus down to the more congested hotel zone every night for dinner. On the bus: we found we pretty much had to wave at them to get them TO STOP, even WHEN WE WERE AT THE DESIGNATED STOP. Also, the way you get the bus to stop once youre on it is to push the button which is located at the back of the bus. They’ll usually stop for you if you just tell them where youre going but if its crowded you might just want to figure it out yourself. We did eat at the little Italian restaurant which is right next to Casa Maya on the beach and that was pretty decent. Our fav restaurants were Mexican cuisine, La Distellaira and La Joya, and also Paloma Bonita. Not cheap, but good food & drinks and all had some entertainment. We ate the first night at the seafood rest. across the street and down a bit (Capt Charlies)and it was awful. “The Cove” which we had read about has apparently closed. I saw what someone else had posted on here that their credit card number was stolen right after their trip to Casa Maya and unfortunately mine was too. It could be a coincidence, but I only I used it at the hotel. The time share person approached us a couple of times but she wasn’t too aggressive and we never met with her. We took our hotel room phone off the hook as we had read that sometimes they call your room. The only excursion we did was a ½ day snorkel with Cancun Mermaid which was good, and they pick you up at the hotel and then drive to Puerto Morales, where there is a reef. The only other thing we did was take the ferry over to Isla Mujeres, where we rented bikes, rode around the island and then had lunch before taking the ferry back. We also took the bus to Wal Mart as people suggested here and it was nice to have cereal and lunch stuff in our room. The pool was too cold for us and we’re pretty hearty. The computer room has like 5 computers but you have to buy a password for like $3 in the gift shop for one hour of access. There were a few vendors that walked by on the beach every day, selling fruit and such, but they really are quiet and don't approach you if you are sitting down. We had prearranged an airport pick up and drop off through brandts and it worked out well- our flight was late so we had a little trouble finding them when we arrived, but it was a private van (no stopping at other hotels) in both directions. We didnt want to deal with taxis as it just seemed hard to figure out their fares. The hotel didn’t have many spring breakers, which was great for us- we had friends staying at the Hilton who had a ton of spring breakers all over the hotel. What else- the hotel charges $10 a day for use of the gym – I think its included if you purchase the package offered upon check in which gives you discounts at the hotel, but we didn’t opt for that. All in all, the hotel was better than I expected and we would go back. The staff was very nice. Hope you have as great of weather as we did!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bucketlist1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We had read some slightly mixed reviews but decided to try Casa Maya anyhow, and were very pleasantly surprised! The ambassador suite we stayed in was lovely---very clean, spacious, nearly full kitchen amenities (there was no oven, but there was a cooktop, microwave, & all other kitchen appliances), and an incredible ocean view. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous & helpful throughout our stay and nearly all staff were completely fluent in English, yet patient with our attempts to speak Spanish.
The food at Las Brisas was wonderful: very, very fresh and beautifully prepared.
We loved that the resort was not located in the Hotel Zone, which to our tastes was too noisy & crowded. Casa Maya is midway between the Hotel Zone & the old Cancun downtown, with a wide walking path available the full distance to both, but easy and very inexpensive public transportation readily available. The pools & poolside areas were very clean & well kept-up, and there were a wide variety of activities available throughout the day, from water aerobics to beach volleyball to bellyflop contests. There was a wonderful Mexican Fiesta party, and while we were actually a bit disappointed in the food at that one event (mainly because they did not offer anything vegetarian other than salad at the buffet-style meal), the cocktails (included in the $10 price per guest) and the traditional Mexican music, dance, & costumes more than made up for it.
The beach was absolutely gorgeous...we were told numerous times by guests who had been to Cancun many times that it is widely considered one of the nicest resort beaches in Cancun. The surf was gentle, the beach was sparkling clean, & wait staff circulated to offer beverages, etc., throughout the day. It far, far exceeded all of our expectations and we are already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovelifegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

IMPERIAL FIESTA CLUB & CASA MAYA

Casa Maya-Week 6

First thing you notice when you arrive is the very large Mexican Flag out front. You are
greeted by Doormen who take your bags after saying Good morning to you and direct you to the
front desk. Walking through the lobby you notice people cleaning. The people working the front
desk were very friendly and courteous. We arrived at 1:00 p.m. with check-in time being 4:00p.m.
Not a problem, everything was ready and we were able to go to our room. We had a 2-bedroom
unit, 2 bath on the 2nd floor-room 2205. The rooms were in great shape very clean -kitchen equipped for a group of four place setting. Only thing I would like would be a broom and dustpan and brush. As for activities they had adult and kids games all day long -a sign by one of the three pools listed events and the time of day. They had a great welcome party Tuesday. Night- a dance team introduced us to Mexican dances plus a dinner on the beach CASA MAYA is a great place to bring family and friends!

The room and all areas around were very, very clean. Again, there were people
Cleaning up all the time, from sweeping sand up from outside stairs to window washing from rooftops.
All the staff from housekeeping to Bar waiters would go out of their way to be helpful and
Friendly and everyone always greeted you- Ola, Good morning, Buenos Dias, ola, etc….

The money system is pesos. There is an exchange bank available right at the Hotel
in the Lobby area near the front desk check -in. Our exchange was 13.10 pesos to $1.00 U.S.
dollars. Some places offered a different exchange rate-a calculator could be useful to convert
U.S. dollars to pesos. Some places will convert at their exchange rate, not necessarily the same.

Walmart-everyone goes to Walmart-They have a special bus with the Walmart name
In English on the front window. The bus stop is about 100ft east of the front entrance ask the bell hops they will show you We were charged $1.oo U.S and the bus driver would let you
know when you arrived. Just had to cross the street at the bus stop area and the Walmart store
was just directly ahead. Everything was in Spanish, so far as food, clothing, etc.. Did not
know if you were buying Tuna or cat food ! Eggs, Bagels, bread-that was pretty simple to spot.

One thing we noticed is that cancun and the hotel are all in zones it makes it easer to find your way around in Zone 5-Restaurant area-They have a nice Italian Restaurant right next door-Dolcemente
Pompei. Also a short walk down and across the street is Captain Charlie’s for seafood.
Mocambo’s another seafood restaurant located in Zone 9 was very nice but a little more pricey !

Souvenirs-Market 28 downtown Cancun R2 bus very large area for everything from tees
to Cuban cigars, Jewelry. Also visited a flea market hotel area zone11-same idea only smaller. Be on your guard-they want your money. Make sure of what you are paying before you show your money
and be sure to dicker for a lower price- at least by 30% to 50%. Don‘t be afraid to walk away-they
want a sale -if not-two or three steps and your in the next store.

- We met some people with 27 years timeshare ownership said the hotel is under new management and one of the improvements is handicapped ramps and also said this hotel has one of the best beaches that you can find in cancun..

FYI Bus fares are 6 pesos except to Wal-Mart $1.00 us dollar
Maps check out CAN-Do maps and guides Cancun area list zones
Tips 10-20 pesos per bag bell hop housekeeping 20-50 pesos per night

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank mrodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We used a friends timeshare to stay at this hotel, now for the 3rd time, all of the visits have been during the first week in February(2007,2008,2009). We planned on 9 nights in the area, and booked our air transport accordingly...when we got our confirmation from the vacation club, I contacted them let them know we would like to stay 2 additional nights....and we were pleasantly told it would be no problem, and the cost would be $90 U.S. plus tax extra(?) Let me tell you, I kept that e-mail and brought it with me. We had one of the Ambassador rooms in the Building # 2, over looking the Dolphin Discovery pier, and the west side of the beach.....which was quite pleasant, as the hotel was a good windbreak.....lots of wind the time we were there, a good thunderstorm one night, and down right cool temps.....people were commenting on how cool it was. Also a note for previous guests there, the restaurant to the west, the Cove, is no more....it has a chain link fence around it, and is quite empty.....Dolphin Discovery packs up and leaves early every day except one, and heads east to another pier for pickup of their guests.
Upon arrival, we found that our room would be available within a half an hour, unlike a previous trip, which was not so pleasant, we were greeted by one of the "hosts", and shown to the bar, for a welcome cocktail, something new to us, and we were talked into meeting our "personal representative", we arrived on Sat, we were supposed to meet the rep on Tuesday, except we headed to Isla Mujeres that day, so too bad, so sad, and we were not asked about it by anyone. We got into the room, and unpacked, and bussed it to Chedraui, the grocery downtown, on Tulum Ave...got what we needed for provisions, and cabbed it back to the hotel....
We cooked dinner a couple of nights in the room....bought some great shrimp at Wal-mart, had a pasta alfredo with saute'd local camerones, bought a rotisserie chicken one night, and had pasta and veggies......We ate at La Habichuela twice, very good food both nights, very nice location and seating outside.....El Carrillos hotel/restaurant one night, very good food! Nice friendly service. Had a meal of appetizers at La Distilleria out farther in the hotel zone, and we were disappointed......The "Vacation" sized margaritas were 150 pesos.....almost $12 US.....! Another good reason to keep a well stocked bar in your hotel room! Ice was plentiful, and you should bring along an insulated mug to use outside.
Inside the Cyber Maya is a nice sized bookshelf with a fair number of books that people bring, and leave.....I knocked off 7 of them the 9 days we were there.....laying in the sun, I need to read....! We skipped the Welcome party on Monday, but it was cancelled that night due to the thunderstorm.....so they had it the next night, we skipped because of cold food during previous welcome parties, and once it gets dark, it gets too cool to sit out on the beach.....
Rented a car one day from Zipp rentacar, just down the street, went to Tulum, saw the ruins....drove north to Akumal, ate at the Turtle cafe and bakery, good lunch! Then drove to Puerto Morelos, and walked around downtown there, had a few brews at the Pelicano......and headed home.....
If you can get the Casa Maya by using someones timeshare, I recommend it....just pay their Maintenance fee, and you get a deal! Also, take a look at the secondary Timeshare market out there on the internet....there are weeks available, and you don't have to mortgage your house to get them, we might take a guy up on his offer of a couple weeks at Casa Maya......

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We used my brother-in-law's timeshare to purchase a week at this hotel. We were travelling with our 4 & 5 year old boys, 3 month old daughter, as well as my parents and sister. We rented a 2 bedroom condo. Each room had its own bath, very spacious and nice. One room had a king size bed and the other room had two full beds. The living room had a murphy bed, kitchen and dining area. This place was perfect for our large group and the rooms were very clean. Not the fanciest place but good for a family on a budget. Each room had its own access to a nice outdoor balcony with view of the ocean. Negatives, the beds were very hard and rooms were noisy if wind was blowing hard. Great housekeeping too. Nice, large pool and a nice size shallow kiddies pool too. The beach is perfect, lots of umbrellas and chairs. Nice swimming beach right off the front of the property and a great wading beach just to the left for the kiddies. It is a huge lagoon that is filled with crystal clear water, white sand and is knee deep (and warm). You & the kids will LOVE this beach. Not great snorkeling off shore but you can see a few fish here and there. Food at resort is okay, not great, had a really good all you can eat seafood dinner one night.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 3kidsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews