We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Barcelo.com
€167
Priceline
€292
Breakfast included
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
€293
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
eileenb765

Perfect get away

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
The location, staff and amenities are great. The beach was cleaned every day. The adults pool was perfect.
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asistente Dirección Tucancún, Otro at Occidental Tucancún, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear eileenb765:

We appreciate the time you took to share your vacation experience at our hotel and we appreciate your kind recommendation to TripAdvisor readers.

Once again we thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
€245
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    €249
  • Skyscanner.com
    €158
  • Booking.com
    €245
3.3 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
€152
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    €525
  • ZenHotels.com
    €136
  • Booking.com
    €505
1.6 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
€566
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    €567
  • Agoda.com
    €444
  • Booking.com
    €566
3.5 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
€524
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Melia.com
    €509
  • Vio.com
    €465
  • travelup.com
    €509
2.2 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free parking
Beachfront
Preferred Hotels
€493
€410
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
    €493
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
16.6 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hyatt.com
€586
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Hotels.com
    €586
  • Expedia.com
    €586
  • Official Site
    €552
2.1 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
€282
€165
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    €232
  • Hotels.com
    €232
  • Expedia.com
    €232
4.2 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
€617
€494
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    €494
  • Trip.com
    €494
  • Hotels.com
    €494
14.2 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free parking
Breakfast included
Priceline
€356
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    €356
  • travelup.com
    €261
  • Vio.com
    €271
17.8 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
€298
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    €271
  • Official Site
    €250
  • Hotels.com
    €271
4.1 km from Occidental Tucancún
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (12,192)
Filter reviews
12,193 results
Traveller rating
6,576
2,982
1,392
670
573
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,576
2,982
1,392
670
573
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la claraboya lobby bar mexico lindo seafood restaurant ocean view mall across the street main pool adult pool entertainment staff spring break beautiful beach make reservations main buffet michael jackson show a lot of fun breakfast and lunch coco bongo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 12,193 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were dated, damaged, and had roaches. The food wasn't up to par compared to other occidental resorts we've stayed in. Room service was hit or miss on if they'd actually show up or not.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Shanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asistente Dirección Tucancún, Otro at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shanna W:

Although we are sincerely sorry to read that your stay at our hotel was below your expectations, we appreciate the time you took to share this information about your experience. We certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive opinion is very valuable to us.

We apologize for the technical problems that occurred; There is absolutely no excuse for those details being overlooked as all rooms must be thoroughly checked daily. We will ensure that the procedure is being strengthened.

We have taken note of your constructive feedback and you can be assured that we value all feedback from our customers as it is of utmost importance to us and to ensure that necessary corrective action is taken to avoid similar situations in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here first week of April. Travelled lots all over world

This is a loss budget resort.
Staff and very friendly and hardworking

Resort is clean.

No shade on beach. Water is stunningly beautiful

Free wifi

Food is very boring and basic
Lots of restaurants on Main Street within walking distance

Right in downtown Cancún. Lots of noise with drunks coming back to room very late

Premier lounge staff are very helpful

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asistente Dirección Tucancún, Otro at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear:430jenq

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for informing us of your concerns about your time with us, as this gives us the opportunity to note areas that may have a little room for improvement. and for that we are very grateful.
At Tucancún we understand that food and beverages are important aspects of our customers' experience, which is why our chefs have created a varied range of options to please all types of palates. Therefore, let's review why during your stay we fell short of our goal of offering a wide choice in every meal and drink.
Thank you once again for choosing us and for your constructive criticism, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to exceed your expectations.

King regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The rooms are sort of on the old side and could use and upgrade. The towels and sheets need to be replaced. You had to ask for wash cloths. The food in each restaurant was ok. Some of the staff were rude while others were very helpful. I think upon arrival you should be given a welcome packet with all of the resort offerings and locations, i.e. we asked where the spa was and each person gave us a different location. We asked 4 people before we found it. We received no information about the free night life onsite - Michael Jackson review (which was awesome), karaoke & a native dance show. The pool and beach areas were beautiful. March is the perfect time to visit Cancun. The surrounding area looked like it didn't bounce back after COVID. If you are ok with old school rooms (no outlets by the bed) and just ok food go and enjoy yourself. With all of that being said, I made the best of everything and really enjoyed myself. I would definitely go back to Cancun but I think I would stay at a different resort. I can deal with the food but again, they need new towels and linen.

Room tip: Be careful not to loose your pool card. Get downstairs early to make your dinner reservations. See the Michael Jackson review.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asistente Dirección Tucancún, Otro at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear:591glynisr

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for informing us of your concerns about your time with us, as this gives us the opportunity to note areas that may have a little room for improvement. and for that we are very grateful.

We apologize for the condition of the room; There is absolutely no excuse for details being overlooked, as all rooms should be thoroughly checked daily. We will ensure that the procedure is being strengthened. However, it does not appear in our records that our staff was aware of what you describe during your stay with us, since naturally, we would have moved you to another room.

We are pleased to inform you that we currently have updated information about our hotel through a QR code, we regret not having known your situation, since otherwise we are sure that this would have been very useful for you.
Thank you again for your visit and constructive criticism, our main goal is to ensure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits.

We look forward to the opportunity to regain your trust.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

It was okay , could have been better. We had issues with power in our room, cold water wasn’t there on the whole morning on checkout date , door had issues etc. Our room wasn’t ready till 4pm . Buffet food could have been a lot better.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank subhadeep c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asistente Dirección Tucancún, Otro at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear subhadeep c:

At Tucancún we are convinced that there is always room for improvement and your comments will help our team in its continuous efforts aimed at meeting the expectations of our guests, which is why we greatly appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your constructive criticism with us.

We regret the incident with the electrical energy, it was a problem in the area which was out of our control.
We are sorry to read that our buffet offering did not meet your expectations in terms of taste. Our professional chefs strive to impress our guests with high standards and offer the chance to enjoy the best of our local cuisine as well as a large selection of international dishes, we will pass on your important observations to the relevant area for follow-up.

Thank you once again for choosing us and for your constructive criticism, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Nothing to eat, nothing to do. I will not come back to this hotel. Drink options were fine but the amount of alcohol was just a little. Be careful with the pool area! My daughter fell off the stairs by the pool. Because they are very slippery. Same with stairs by the beach.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank lilitstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asistente Dirección Tucancún, Otro at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Dear lilitstr:

We appreciate you using TripAdvisor to share your concerns regarding your recent stay at our hotel and we apologize if you had any issues with our service. We have read your opinion carefully and take note of your constructive opinions.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding the cuisine and all-inclusive service. The departments involved have been informed of your feedback and we are confident that it will help us improve. We work very hard, trying to exceed guests' expectations and your opinion has stimulated us to continue striving to achieve your satisfaction if you decide to honor us with a new visit.

Once again, we really appreciate the time you took to inform us of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, and we sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews