We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the best in Cancun”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our second stay at the Royal Sands and it has been wonderful both times. The suites are very comfortable and the grounds, pool and beach are beautiful. The staff are very friendly and helpful and do not always have there hands our for a tip. Even though this is a time share property there is absolutely no pressure to buy or even to attend a presentation. This is just a great place to relax and enjoy the sun and sand and if you like explore the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - all have an ocean view and noise is never a problem at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bircatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,672
    919
    330
    128
    79
See reviews for
1,819
1,285
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Royal Sands is a beautiful resort located directly on the Caribbean. The Sands is located on the long arm of the 7 (shape of hotel zone).

As always the people of Mexico are very kind and gracious hosts. The concerns of safety is really not an issue in Cancun. The bottom line is you need to be cautious even in your home cities, so if you are stumbling out of a bar at 3AM you are not going to be any more at risk in Cancun than at home!

Wireless internet is part of the package although it is a rather slow speed, but it is free and very convenient for checking in at home.

The resort is well maintained with staff constantly cleaning and working around the resort.

Beach vendors are not allowed into the palapa area unless invited by one of the guests so you don't have to constantly shoo away pesky vendors.

There is a market on site which has all of your essentials including liquor and a small drug store. The prices are a bit higher than the local Wal-Mart but it is convenient for items that you may have run out of at meal times.

As always in Cancun getting around the city is very easy with buses and taxis.

Because of the location there is a fair bit of surf and undertow at different times. This would be a big concern for small children so great care would be required. There are lifeguards and security on the beach until 5 PM each day so there are safeguards for the surf. There are a good number of palapas on the beach although the front row seats begin to disappear after 6 AM, by 7 AM the front row and most of the second rows are gone.

We had meals at both the Captains Cove and the Hacienda Sisal which are part of the Royal chain. Food and service were excellent at both locations. The Hacienda Sisal has shows two nights of the week so ask your concierge which nights are better for the entertainment. At the Captains Cove there are two alligators who will come into the area around the deck to get some food so again find out from the concierge when you are most likely to see the two alligators.

It should be noted, as pointed out in the title, that a recent decision has been made by the Board of Directors whereby all non-owners who rent any part of the villas will be required to purchase an all-inclusive package. In talks with one of the staff members it is going to range up to $150 per day per person. So a couple will spend an extra $1000 per week minimum for a stay plus what ever it cost you to rent. For example we stayed in a full suite for two weeks at a cost of $2800 adding on the minimum all-inclusive for a couple would have added another $2000 for a total of $4800 plus our airfare which is about $900-1000 per person. Unfortunately this is going to make the cost of the Sands uneconomical when compared to an all inclusive vacation. For example a family member stayed at an 5 star All-inclusive resort for $1000 per week per person, which would equate to $4000 for a two week stay.

All in all a beautiful resort, with great staff and an opportunity for a great beach vacation.

Room Tip: Go on line to Royal Resorts to get a site map and you can verify where the room is that you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm delighted to read that you had such a great time during your stay. Thank you for your very detailed review! I'm sure the information will come in handy for other travelers.

Regarding the All Inclusive, I'd like to inform you that details and prices will not be published until July 2, 2012. Therefore, any information you may have received is incorrect and we encourage you to wait for our official announcement. For more information about this, feel free to visit our website; we've got a section called "Packages" with all the information to help clear any misunderstandings.

Warm regards from Cancun,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

2 weeks at the Royal Sands is not enough. We made our annual spring break trip to Cancun and the trip could not have been better. We have been owners since it opened in 2000 and it is one of the highlights of our year. The staff and service are fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becker, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very clean, pool and beach were great. Sports bar was a good place to watch basketball. Liked the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mastic, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I own week six at the Royal Sands. I am on the fourth floor of the second phase. When I do stay there on my week, it is pure heaven. The Veranda in my opinion is the best Restaurant of all the Royal Restaurants. I am not saying that they all aren't good, but to me the Veranda is the best. My 1500' Villa is just awesome. More spacious than some of the best Hilton or Marriott suites that I've stayed in. The maids, the housekeepers, the maintenance people and everyone and anyone who works there are pleasant, curteous and always looking to please you and make your experience unforgettable. I have had to switch my regular week for a few years and will still have to switch for a few more but I can''t wait to get back to my regular week at the Sands. To me, this is the Crown Jewel in the Royal Resorts family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlando J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.0 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
4.8 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
5.3 km away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,044 reviews
3.4 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,778 reviews
13.7 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing