We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun Palace
Ranked #11 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Intimate and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Sun Palace is a smaller resort than the other Palace Resort properties, but the overall quality and level of service are well worth trying. The staff are amazingly friendly and seem to truly want to make you happy and comfortable. The food is high quality, fresh, and with a nice presentation. There is a lovely gym and the pools are spotless. The view from our hot tub on the balcony took my breath away. This was our 2nd stay in Sun Palace and we plan on coming back again and again. Out of all the Palace properties, there just seems to be something special about this one that I can't put my finger on. It surely has something to do with the service and the smiles, but seems more authentic here than the others for some reason. Also, it runs like a well-oiled machine. We never have any of the glitches we experienced on both of our trips to Aventura. Love this place...

Room Tip: Become a member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
I am so pleased with your comments. Thank you!

The fact that our staff does enjoy serving genuinely has been mentioned many times. I honestly do not know what makes the difference because in general Cancun has great service. But indeed, if it is service from the heart, we do have that market cornered.

I've given this issue much thought and am convinced it is in no small part due to the type of guests we have: For the most part genuine people.

What else?

Thank you for your kind words.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,228
    1,129
    337
    94
    49
See reviews for
149
4,898
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2012. We are in our mid-20's and it seemed like 20% were young honeymooners and the rest were an average of 40-50 year old couples. We had no real problem with this because we just wanted a quiet place to relax and it definitely was! We recieved $1500 in resort credit but were unable to upgrade to the concierge level because of availability. The concierge level gets you a padded bed on the beach, better liquor in your room and a larger balcony. We liked our superior deluxe ocean view room because it was on the top (8th) floor with a great view. The beds are very hard. There is a gigantic 2 person jacuzzi in every room- slightly awkward because it's right beside the bed. We only spent a few minutes on our balcony with a small table and chairs. We used our credits for $300 (max) at the spa for 2 massages and a deluxe spa manicure. We also spent $350 on the romantic lobster steak champagne dinner on the beach. They provide unlimited Moët champagne and any other drinks you want. The food was average (lobster overlooked) but service and atmosphere was great. Two seatings at 6:30 and 8:30 - book when you arrive with trip planners in lobby. We also upgraded our wine with credits - thankful for the credits since a $22 Robert Mondavi bottle was priced at $220! Overall food was very average but we live in New York City so we are spoiled!our meal at La Trattoria was the best. Every night there is free entertainment - loved the "Carribean Show" and "Fire Show". Staff is very friendly, fluent in English and helpful. Try the bumblebee shots and electric lemonade. Cab back to the airport was $30 and only 15-20 minutes away. Overall a great resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoryLTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
If your vacation was great, then we're satisfied. Although there are some points you do mention which will certainly be revised, the fact that you enjoyed your stay is the reason we're in business.

Please let me know before your next visit so that I may tend to your requirements personally.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went to the Sun Palace based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and we were not let down. We went for four nights in March and used the resort credits to upgrade the room which was worth it just to have the nicer beach chairs. We also used the credits at the spa although the 80 minutes couple massage we had was very odd, they seemed to not really know what they were doing and overloaded us with lotion. Other than that, the SPA was beauitful. We did use the credits to upgrade the wine at dinner but only because we knew we would leave credits on the table otherwise! The gym was fantastic as well, very large and had all the equipment you would need to stay on your workout schedule. I loved the infinity pool and the restaurants were good. We were in room 405 which looked out onto the sunrise each morning which was beautiful- it didn't have the large balcony's that are referred to in other reviews but we weren't in the room that much anyway. We never ordered room service for food but we did for wine and drinks and they were always very quick. We never had to wait for a table for dinner either. We went during spring break and it was not crowded probably because it is not a party atmosphere at all (which is also why we went there!)

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great - it is worth the effort to upgrade your room to the conceirge floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanG096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for choosing us. I am happy most of your experience was good.

Rooms with ocean view are one of the basics of Sun Palace. Not all are full ocean view because we're surrounded by other hotels. But most will indeed be satisfactory Large balconies are not as many but every room has a balcony where at least there are two comfortable chairs and a small table.
We are not a Spring Break resort, given our ambiance, location and couples only status. But instead of the kids...we get teachers and parents.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

To start off we are Palace members and we chose this hotel for two reasons. First it is a couples only hotel and secondly we had never stayed in Cancun on the strip. This hotel is very close to the airport which made transit very quick, the Palace transportation is excellent. Check in was not the usual "drink and cool towel" until asked for but the front desk people were nice. First room we were given did have some mold in bathroom, this was rectified the next day. I must say that the room we were given did have an unbelieveable view of the ocean and beach. Both rooms we stayed in were very modern and very clean, maid service was excellent. We ate at all restaurants and the food was very good. I must say that the service by all servers was excellent as always.One that stood out though was Estrella who worked at the activity pool bar, she was the greastest, and taught spanish as the day went on and as our drinks got stronger. We also ate at the Beach and Cancun Palace hotels, which were great as well and its just an 8 peso bus ride up the strip. The beach is beautiful, all days we were there were red flag days because of the high winds, which made big surf. This did not deter us from our daily walks up and down the beach, just stunning. On the whole a beautiful spot, and I believe that Palace resorts have cornered the market on service, very very good.
Also we used the resort credits to go to the spa and to play some golf.
One thing that was a small annoyance was the "save the best pool chairs with towels and not show up until much later" game, it was small but there were still tons of beach chair to go around. Very nice hotel with great service!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bahiaroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Firstly, my apologies for both the lack of towels and the detail in you room.

We have addressed both issues unequivocally.

I thank you very much for your nice comments on our service and especially on Estrella, who definitely has garnered herself a preferred spot in our guests' hearts.

I will look forward to your next viist.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

When we arrived at the Sun Palace, there was one couple already at the front desk checking in. We waited about 30 minutes to check in! That's just ridiculous. Once we had checked in, the front desk clerk then told us we had to continue to wait to get our key because the room was supposedly still being cleaned. It was well after check-in time, so there was really no excuse for that. So at that point, while we were waiting, one of the concierges came over and invited us to her desk to tell us about the amenities and activities of the hotel, how we could use our hotel credits, etc. That would have been fine, except for the fact that she then proceeded to try to get us to participate in some "no-obligation" time-share type of presentation. We declined. We were super hungry and just wanted to go to our room and then find something to eat! By the time we were finally done with all of the check-in and pitch from the concierge, the time for food had ended! As we finished check-in, there were other couples waiting to check-in, as well, but they had brought additional front desk clerks out to help. That should have been done much sooner!
Our first dinner there did not go well either. Since we were so hungry, we were literally the first people to this outdoor buffet. There was a pasta station, where I ordered a pasta creation. After sitting at our table for a while, my pasta dish had not come out yet. I started to see other people who had arrived well after us getting their pasta dishes, so I asked the waiter. He claimed he checked on it and it was coming shortly. Still no pasta. I asked again, and he claimed it was coming. Still no pasta. Then, a different waitress comes and asks me what sauce I wanted on the pasta. So, I told her. Finally, the pasta comes, and it is completely wrong. It didn't have the items in it that I had asked for. And on top of that, it was cold. They must have completely lost the order and didn't want to admit it.
After that first day, things improved. the beach was nice and comfortable, though they could use some extra people handling the beach umbrellas. You had to track someone down to put up the umbrellas for you. The beach waitresses do come by often to take drink orders, which is very nice. However, I did ask once if they could get me a horchata, and she basically laughed in my face. I mean, excuse me for thinking that in Mexico, they might have a traditional Mexican drink. My other complaint was that they put a limit on the amount of hotel credit that you can use at the spa. We weren't even able to get through all of the hotel credit since we didn't want to do any of their tours and we couldn't just use up the credit at the spa.
Overall, it was relaxing. The food was pretty good. There are plenty of pools and beach so it never felt crowded. But they need to work a little on their efficiency and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms that are labeled as ocean view are sort of on a side, so you actually overlook a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinGal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
I do apologize for the long wait at check in. We understand only too well that our arriving guests are tired and fed up and want to get to their rooms.

Not many people outside Mexico know about horchata. I am a big fan and we would have gladly made it for you. We don't have it because it is not requested (We do have it sometimes in the employees cafeteria.)

Let me know in advance of your return and I'll have horchata and other "aguas frescas".

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
9.6 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
8.1 km away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,605 reviews
5.3 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,590 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,575 reviews
2.6 km away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#17 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Property: Sun Palace
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing