We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Hotel Mi Casita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mi Casita
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2016

The hotel is located in an almost perfect spot close to the Zocalo in the picturesque town.

We were fortunate to be accommodated in the El Studio suite on the top floor of the hotel. The large and comfortable room has its own outside entrance and a private balcony.

The furnishings provide a slightly rustic, very Mexican, feel with the bathroom having handmade Talavera tiles.

Best of all is the view of the town, and, of course, Santa Prisca (the parish church).

We had deliberately chosen to spend our first night of a month-long visit to Mexico in Taxco to be able to relax after a long series of flights. Following our landing in the early morning, we took a taxi from the airport directly to the bus station and then enjoyed a comfortable journey to Taxco in time for a late breakfast at a restaurant with a view (virtually everywhere in Taxco has a view).

We had little interaction with the staff but found them to be very helpful when making enquiries prior to our arrival.

The hotel breakfast provided a useful start to the day but will most certainly not satisfy anyone with a large appetite, comprising only juice, coffee and a bun.

I experienced some problems with the shower which has a complicated hot water arrangement apparently relating to the use of solar heating. This wasn’t explained to us and resulted in our first showers being somewhat uncomfortable before my repeated enquiries finally resulted in someone coming to the room to resolve.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for El Studio.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mi Casita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2015

We have visited many places Mexico over the past twenty years and Taxco is among a small number of the most beautiful and interesting. There can be no better hotel from which to appreciate this gorgeous place than Mi Casita, a historic building conveniently located a block from the zocolo. We had the good fortune to stay in El Studio on the top level but we peeked into a number of other rooms, all of which were spacious and beautifully decorated with stunning views of this amazing place. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The room (actually 2 rooms) was clean and equipped with a refrigerator, WiFi, a large closet with lots of hangers, etc. Rooms on the top floor have private balconies while those on the second floor, where the breakfast area and reception are located, have a large shared balcony with tables and chairs. Our room had two large wood and glass doors that opened on to a private balcony with a metal table and comfortable metal chairs that overlooked a small street leading to the zocolo and provided stunning views of the city. Minutes after our mid-day check in we heard music from the street below as a parade of mostly young people passed the hotel and proceeded up the narrow street into the zocolo. Taxco is a noisy place in the daytime but we found that things quieted down at night and that the heavy balcony doors and curtains provided an effective sound barrier. Driving in Taxco is best left to the professionals. We arrived by bus from Cuernavaca and found the ubiquitous VW beetle taxis convenient and inexpensive to use. Taxco is a great city for walking with many restaurants, shops, museums and other sites of interest accessible by walking from Mi Casita. The entire town is steeply uphill or downhill, so a taxi back to the hotel can be worth the small cost after an outing.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cvillebirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

We spent only one day in Taxco and were unable to book a room as there was a down hill bicycle race that had all Hotels full.
So why write a review ? Because we live our life in Hotel,s and know a good one when we visit . So Taxco is a destination of charm , the Hotel compliments the area and the views and location are delightful.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The proprietor Lucy, made us feel like family. The staff was courteous and you could tell they were happy with their jobs. Very clean throughout and room includes a breakfast of coffee and a croissant, fresh baked with jam in the dining area.
Our room was the "El Studio" and was spacious with two sleeping areas, a private bath with hand painted tiles and a wonderful balcony overlooking the side of the cathedral.
Two large wood panel doors open up on the balcony to bring in the air and view.
Wifi was good and there was cable TV nicely mounted on the wall.

Room Tip: Choose "El Studio". Best room in the house
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The staff at Mi Casita is very friendly and the location is perfect, as it is right next to the zocalo. I recommend this hotel (as well as Taxco in general) to all my friends who want to be immersed in Mexican culture!!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M3045BCdanielj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 24 in Taxco
438 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#5 of 24 in Taxco
320 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Emilia
Hotel Emilia
#12 of 24 in Taxco
99 reviews
0.3 km away
Boutique Pueblo Lindo
0.3 km away
Santa Prisca
Santa Prisca
#7 of 24 in Taxco
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Casita

Address: Calle Altos de Redondo 1 | Colonia Centro, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range: €39 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Casita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mi Casita, is the former house of Mexican fashion designer Tachi Castillo. Facing the 'Casa Borda', the family house turned hotel / Bed and Breakfast is located above the Centro Joyero, where the 'Taller de Los Castillo' once stood, in the heart of the historic downtown of Taxco, the world famous 'Silver City'. As featured in 'Condé Nast Traveler - Room with a View', Hotel Mi Casita offers breath-taking views of the church of Santa Prisca from every room. All rooms are individually decorated in Mexican-style, featuring flat screen TV, private bathroom, free WI-FI, and complimentary continental breakfast. We at Hotel Mi Casita, want to share the charm of a real Mexican home with our visitors. Hotel Mi Casita - Su Casa en Taxco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mi Casita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing