We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
168
95
19
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
95
19
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception spoke good englishwooden beamsminute walkgreat water pressurenice hotelcentre of townlovely roomroom was largesmall gardenthe hotel staffa king size bedbeds were comfortablethe hotel offerslaundry servicewi fistayed nightsbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The Parador Margarita is one of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed at. Set off a narrow street in San Cristobal de Las Casas (itself a wonderful old Spanish city) and within a 5 minute walk of the pretty downtown area, one opens the door and sets foot in a pretty, open garden area. It is a perfect introduction to the hotel itself.

Our room was large, clean, comfortable and well appointed. All rooms face a central courtyard garden area with pleasing views of the forested hills surrounding the city. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. Seating inside or on the balcony offered scenic views of the surrounding area.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and were especially impressed by their understanding when changing circumstances dictated that we leave San Cristobal a day earlier than we had planned. Although we could have been charged for the unused night as per our reservation agreement, the manager chose forgo payment. This was consideration and customer service of the highest order.

When travelling back to San Cristobal I would most definitely stay again at the Parador and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The second floor offers great views of the courtyard and surrounding hill sides.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

First, the good - the rooms were clean and new, the location is good, the room service was good.

The bad: We booked for 5 people through booking.com. When we arrived we were told that only two single rooms are available. They "cancelled" the online payment and made us pay extra for 3 persons on top (two were kids). The rooms were in fact double rooms with king beds, and 5 of us had to sleep on two beds. On top of that the first "cancelled" charge turned out not to be cancelled and was charged to my credit card. We talked with the owner of the hotel and showed her the charge. She refused to do anything about this, and insisted that the charge has been cancelled and that it will be cancelled - something which is not possible for a charge which is already marked as "completed". Even if by some miracle someone indeed decides to return these money with a new transaction, the exchange we had with the owner, although polite, was very far from what one would expect from someone who wants to preserve the hotel's reputation. On top of that the restaurant service for breakfast is truly terrible - the people who serve have absolutely no idea how to do it, were wondering around absent minded, we had to wait nearly 30 minutes to be served a simple breakfast, on a table which was full of used items and half-eaten things from the customers before us. These were not removed and the table was not cleaned at all.
In short - in this wonderful town this was an unpleasant experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I very rarely write bad reviews, but this one is totally deserved.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Somebody21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Very nice, clean, almost an impression that the hotel is new. now, the styling is great, like an old mexican village. the rooms are really clean, big with nice batheroom.
very close to the downtown, just two block aways from one of the walking streets.

the people from the hotel very nice.

the hotel offers nice free breakfast; but it is slow in the service, they need more people.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a very short walk, just 3-4 minutes, from the main streets and an absolute delight. The rooms are very large and well appointed. Staff excellent with very good English.
The breakfast is wonderful and served in a lovely 1st floor room. On a clear morning the balcony is a delight.
Bonus is the excellent laundry just 75m up the street.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

From outside nothing special but behind the entrance it's like a paradise. Amazing backyard with view of the mountains. The room is very well decorated with local feeling. Breakfast was also fantastic.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank steelriver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews