We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Parador Margarita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Rooms are very big, beds are comfy, garden is beautiful, staff are lovely (some do speak a little English) showers are amaaaazingg (so nice to have consistent hot water) but our fav but was the location so close to great food and shopping! No negatives here!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rjs520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Parador Margarita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

The Parador Margarita is one of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed at. Set off a narrow street in San Cristobal de Las Casas (itself a wonderful old Spanish city) and within a 5 minute walk of the pretty downtown area, one opens the door and sets foot in a pretty, open garden area. It is a perfect introduction to the hotel itself.

Our room was large, clean, comfortable and well appointed. All rooms face a central courtyard garden area with pleasing views of the forested hills surrounding the city. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. Seating inside or on the balcony offered scenic views of the surrounding area.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and were especially impressed by their understanding when changing circumstances dictated that we leave San Cristobal a day earlier than we had planned. Although we could have been charged for the unused night as per our reservation agreement, the manager chose forgo payment. This was consideration and customer service of the highest order.

When travelling back to San Cristobal I would most definitely stay again at the Parador and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The second floor offers great views of the courtyard and surrounding hill sides.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

First, the good - the rooms were clean and new, the location is good, the room service was good.

The bad: We booked for 5 people through booking.com. When we arrived we were told that only two single rooms are available. They "cancelled" the online payment and made us pay extra for 3 persons on top (two were kids). The rooms were in fact double rooms with king beds, and 5 of us had to sleep on two beds. On top of that the first "cancelled" charge turned out not to be cancelled and was charged to my credit card. We talked with the owner of the hotel and showed her the charge. She refused to do anything about this, and insisted that the charge has been cancelled and that it will be cancelled - something which is not possible for a charge which is already marked as "completed". Even if by some miracle someone indeed decides to return these money with a new transaction, the exchange we had with the owner, although polite, was very far from what one would expect from someone who wants to preserve the hotel's reputation. On top of that the restaurant service for breakfast is truly terrible - the people who serve have absolutely no idea how to do it, were wondering around absent minded, we had to wait nearly 30 minutes to be served a simple breakfast, on a table which was full of used items and half-eaten things from the customers before us. These were not removed and the table was not cleaned at all.
In short - in this wonderful town this was an unpleasant experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I very rarely write bad reviews, but this one is totally deserved.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Somebody21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Very nice, clean, almost an impression that the hotel is new. now, the styling is great, like an old mexican village. the rooms are really clean, big with nice batheroom.
very close to the downtown, just two block aways from one of the walking streets.

the people from the hotel very nice.

the hotel offers nice free breakfast; but it is slow in the service, they need more people.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a very short walk, just 3-4 minutes, from the main streets and an absolute delight. The rooms are very large and well appointed. Staff excellent with very good English.
The breakfast is wonderful and served in a lovely 1st floor room. On a clear morning the balcony is a delight.
Bonus is the excellent laundry just 75m up the street.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 km away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
338 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
0.7 km away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
2.5 km away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#23 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
0.9 km away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Margarita

Address: Calle Doctor Jose Felipe Flores # 39, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: €42 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parador Margarita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Parador Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing