We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
149
74
10
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
74
10
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace honesty bar yogurt small hotel charming hotel ground floor central courtyard bring earplugs per day pan dulce felt very safe noise city fountain clara basilica soledad
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

My husband and I traveled to Oaxaca for a weekend and stayed at Hotel Azucenas. The staff were so helpful, really going above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed (they gave us a choice of rooms from the vacant rooms, they provided us with bottled water, they helped us out when we were trying to plan how to do things around/just outside of Oaxaca). They also stored our luggage for us while we went around on our last day. The staff were very nice and we felt very safe and knew our belongings were also safe with them.

The hotel is in a great location - very close to everything!! ~5min walk to Basilica of Our Lady of Solitude (one of the main churches).

Would definitely recommend Hotel Azucenas to anyone going to Oaxaca!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

I’ve stayed here before and recall it was pleasant. However this last time I was sadly disappointed, the sink on the hot side trickled and that’s being kind. And the “shampoo” didn’t even lather? The breakfast was disappointing, the beds not good. The staff however was lovely! But I’m thinking that’s my last stay

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ginabobina2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Very basic small hotel. The strongest strength is the quality and service of the staff, wonderful people. However note that these rooms have no air conditioning, beds are small with old memory foam tops, 1 of the rooms we stayed had no TV, and the rooms are very small.

The pricing is fair for the hotel and it is located so most tourist locations are walkable distances If you need basic, clean housing at a fair price and do not expect more modern conveniences, this is your place.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nachodiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in room 1 ( ground floor ).
Azucenas is a delightful, small scale, 2 1/2 level, colonial style building, in the North West of the Centro Historico district. It's a steep block up from the Plaza de la Danzas, of the Basilica de Nuestra Senora de la Soledad. That's a stretch from the Zocalo ( 7 blocks ), but a nice walk with plenty to see on the way.
We were warmly greeted by Alberto ( who glides between Spanish and English with ease ) and swiftly installed into a high ceilinged, moderate sized room, with ensuite bath. Just outside the room is a little fountain in the small, central courtyard. Upstairs, the flat roof top ( lined with plants, lovingly tended to by Clara ) has an open air section with several umberellaed tables. The view of the city from this vantage point is panoramic ( the benefit of being up the hill ). There is also a roofed section, with the communal kitchen, more tables, and a large, flat screen TV. If you choose to have the bargain breakfast you will find it here, along with the 'all-day-coffee' urn.
The staff ( 5 in total ) are all very friendly, helpful and respectful. The building is authentic, in good repair, and kept clean. However, if you are looking for a luxury 5 star experience you should look elsewhere. While there is basic Wifi, there is no AC ( but a large fan ), no room phone, television ( apparently you can request a portable one ), or radio/alarm clock. Be prepared for the early morning school hand-bell from across the street, the usual round of barking dogs from other rooftops, calls of street vendors, and some creaky beds, but very little traffic noise.
To sum up, if you want a pleasant, authentic Oaxacan experience, Hotel Azucenas offers a bargain that's hard to beat !

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ChrisOax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Two weeks ago I enjoyed a five night stay at Hotel Azucenas. The hotel is very charming, quiet, and has a wonderful staff. The location is great as it is close to all the main sites, but is in a quiet neighborhood. The terrace is beautiful and is a great place to enjoy breakfast and the evenings. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I would certainly stay here again and will recommend it to my friends and family.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank nick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews