We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
142
55
21
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
55
21
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and bar areawalking distance to museumsjunior suitehistoric feellovely poolperfect locationcolonial charmair conditioningpersonalized servicesmall balconythird floorwe loved our stayfront desk staffstaff was very friendly and helpfulcentral squarecomfortable bedsevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

We stayed here for three nights, on our visit to (beautiful!) Oaxaca.
This hotel is in a great position very near the main square and looks good in photographs but was our least good hotel on our whole trip around Mexico.
Because of its layout all the ground floor rooms are very dark- our windows opened into a covered corridor leading to the pool - so our room had no natural light and not much privacy except with door and shutters closed.
My request to be moved, if possible, to an upper room with more light was met with "I'll ask the manager" and then no response at all, not even a refusal. This was the pattern throughout our stay, whenever we requested anything.
Our room wasn't serviced until 6pm in the evening, and then in a very slapdash way.
The pool area was scruffy and not very clean and the pool had mould at the edge and was too hot to use.
The breakfast was cooked to order and tasty, but the service was glacially slow and dirty uncleared tables surrounded us throughout breakfast on each day.
When we had to leave for the airport at 5am, they ignored our request to perhaps leave out just a juice and a roll, although breakfast each day was included in our stay.
The staff are pleasant enough (Alberto tried to be helpful, and seems to understand the principle of assisting guests) but they don't seem really trained, and appear to have no knowledge or power to help without 'asking the manager' - of whom there was no sign.
I hate leaving a bad review - this is potentially a nice place but so poorly run at present.
Friends at a cheaper hotel round the corner had much better service.
Oaxaca is full of hotels, and if we return we will stay somewhere else. I would not recommend De La Parra unless the management changed.

Room Tip: Only the upstairs rooms have any light or privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Loved the colonial architecture with tranquil courtyards. Kitchen and wait staff were so sweet every morning. I had a little bout of tourista and they brought me a calming tea to my room. Perfect fresh margaritas poolside to wind down the days. Very nice stay. Scheming my return.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NealyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosGV, Owner at Hotel Boutique De La Parra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank You for posting your experience at De La Parra, we all are glad you enjoy the peace and quietness, our traditional cook, the pool and mezcal margaritas. Hope to see you soon with us

Kind regards
Marcos Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely small hotel in the Spanish courtyard style close to the Zocalo (main square). The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and helpful and several have good English. The breakfast in the courtyard was very nice. We just had the continental but the freshly squeezed juice was delicious and the homemade strawberry conserve for the toast as nice surprise.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosGV, General Manager at Hotel Boutique De La Parra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hello
We are glad You enjoy our hotel and the breakfast freshly ingridients, local bread from the closest towns and our several conserves.

We all hope yo see you soon in Oaxaca

Marcos Gonzalez Valle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Ideally located close to the central square, but far enough away to be quiet at night - we loved our stay at this hotel. It oozes colonial charm with a courtyard to have breakfast in as well as a lovely courtyard pool and bar area. Very relaxed atmosphere and sophisticated travellers (who didn't mind our toddler running up and down the main staircase). The staff were very accommodating and we would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KristeenVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosGV, Owner at Hotel Boutique De La Parra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your review, I'm sure it will be useful for our future guests, it is a pleasure to know that you enjoy the hotel and its privileged location as well as the staff that works with us.

We hope to see you again in Oaxaca

Marcos González

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Great location as others have said, near Zocalo and close enough to uptown fancier shops and restaurants (though not all are worth visiting). Lovely to have dipping pool as temperature soars in the afternoon. Room 111 on the third floor is the one that looks out into the courtyard with pool (see photo) rather than into interior corridors and has a small balcony. Great if you can get it—you can request in advance but it mostly depends on whether it is available when you check in or after (you can ask whether it is possible to transfer in subsequent days of stay). It’s the same price as rooms on lower floors, which are larger. Thanks to front desk manager Edna, breakfast server Rosa and cook Floor and bartender (by the pool) Daniel and cheerful Margarita who cleaned our room, and everybody else whose name we didn’t learn. These are all wonderful people.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tresdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosGV, Owner at Hotel Boutique De La Parra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us, we love our job, that's why is easy to serve you with a big smile, What we try with Flor and Rosa in our kitchen, is to offer an authentic Oaxaca breakfast with fresh ingridients.
Dany, our bartender at the pool bar, enjoys improvising mezcalinis, Margarita, what can I tell you about her, more than 10 years working with us, she is from the coast, where happiness is everywhere.

We keep working, our goal is your total satisfaction.


Thank You
Marcos Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews