We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Special experience

Delightfully presented tour that took us into the homes of a number of women provided with micro... read more

Reviewed yesterday
JoJo094
,
Melbourne, Australia
Inspiring look at 'real' Oaxaca

We loved our experience with En Via tour, which allowed us to get out of the city center of Oaxaca... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Voyager431894
Read all 480 reviews
  
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
453
24
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
24
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews micro loans micro finance their lives interest free loans responsible tourism tour fee small loans small business tortilla maker great organization first hand working hard wonderful opportunity meet local people teotitlan del valle tortilla making hear how
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour and learning about how EnVia strive to help the locals in a responsible and sustainable way....and they're very good at it! The passion from the staff was there in abundance, the impact on the locals no less than inspiring. You can read as much as you want about the tour but I highly recommend joining to really appreciate it. You won't regret it.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Haztoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We were happy to be able to support the work of this foundation that has a very high success rate in its microfinance program for women entrepreneurs. The tour guides gave us a great overview of the project and took us to meet 5 different women who are pursuing different projects with their loans. The restaurateurs and craftswomen seemed very happy to talk to us about their work and their aspirations.The crafts they are creating with much work were beautiful - it's hard to believe and wonderful to see so much work is painstakingly being done by hand in 2018. The tour was a wonderful way to get a more personal understanding of the culture and economy of this region.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank MeriSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Visited 6 different small businesses and dialoged with these entrepreneurs. Learned about challenges of starting a small business in Mexico and how this amazing non-profit coaches them to achieve success, then provides micro-loans to finance growth. Your tour fee is used for the micro-loans. Success rate is off-the-charts! Unlike many vacation tours you'll remember this for a long time.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We took the one day tour to two villages and met several of the En Via entrepreneurs. I was profoundly impressed with the determination and dignity of the women we met. Charming and beautiful- I feel honored to have experienced an authentic Mexico. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank meod2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

For my husband and me, this EnVia tour “checked off all the boxes” in terms of providing an informative and fascinating introduction to two indigenous villages and a few of their hard-working women, a sampling of fabulous local cooking, crafts, and entrepreneurship, and a chance to be of practical help and hope for these struggling communities. The volunteers who accompanied us were wonderful – knowledgeable, culturally-sensitive, and delightful. It was definitely the highlight of our week in Oaxaca!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank DUPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews