We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
210
27
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
27
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location continental breakfast great linens the bread pudding central atrium took care of our every need rooftop view staff went out of their way homemade jams chaise lounges every request small hotel luxury hotel rooms are spacious and clean wonderful town santo domingo wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I visited the hotel with my wife at the end of a road trip around central Mexico. We had stayed in many places but this was the warmest welcome we had received.

The hotel is centrally placed within easy walking distance of the main sights in Oaxaca and yet is on a quiet side road. Our car was valet parked for us. The building is an historical monument in its own right having been tastefully converted from part of the convent.

Our room was modern and led on to a balcony area with a place to sit and a table. There is a plunge pool on the top floor but we didn't use it. The room was a good size, well equipped, clean and attractively decorated.

Breakfast is served in the atrium, the old internal courtyard. Its a continental breakfast but very tasty and the coffee keeps on coming!

I definitely recommend this hotel. It is good value and high quality.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the building but we were not disturbed by street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maigemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Maigemu
It is a pleasure to know that your stay at Palacio Borghese was a memorable experience, after several hotels in Mexico with us had the warmest welcome. It is good to know that your room was spacious, comfortable and tasteful, that you have enjoyed the Terrace, delicious continental breakfasts in the mornings.
It is good to know that your vehicle was well taken care of by us all the time and that the location of the hotel allowed you to visit our beautiful historical center.
We hope to see you soon again with us to continue serving you.
Best regards
Jose Manuel
Director Hotel Palacio Borghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

My husband and I just stayed at the Palacio Borghese last week and we highly recommend it, especially for first time visitors. The location is perfect it's just a short two blocks away from the main hub of Oaxaca's historical city center (the Santa Domingo plaza, where there is ALWAYS something fun going down) and all of the surrounding restaurants, shops and attractions. We were never more than a 15 minute walk from anything. The staff was WONDERFUL - they really made this hotel stand out. Our sincere thanks to them for all that they did for us (made dinner reservations, brought us fresh cool drinks when we returned from a hot afternoon, and gave us a daily update on weather and activities over breakfast, among other things). We stayed in the Siena room on the ground floor off of the courtyard. The room was massive, cool and comfortable. The windows had thick glass and shutters to keep the sound and light out, but even so I would recommend bringing earplugs for sleeping. Oaxaca is bumping day and night, so you never know when something will be happening close to the hotel that might interrupt a light sleeper. Also, the breakfasts were GREAT. I saw a couple of complaints on this site about the breakfasts, but in our book they were perfect. They included coffee, juice, a fruit plate (some mornings there was an amazing fruit flan-type dish that I am now obsessed with) and a tray of toast, preserves and either muffins or an awesome bread pudding type thing. Delicious! We know there is an additional breakfast menu so you can order eggs and such a la carte, but honestly the amount of food provided was perfect -- enough for a full morning of walking around, for sure! We can't wait to return to Oaxaca and the Palacio!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Sarah
For us it was a real delight to visit Borghese Palace, always friendly guests like you are remembered with affection.
Thank you for mentioning that the location of the hotel is excellent, close to all the tourist attractions of Oaxaca, the room was spacious, comfortable and elegant.
Knowing that the breakfasts were delicious is a motivation for our Chef and kitchen staff.
We are all grateful that you consider the WONDERFUL staff.
Thank you for all your kind comments.
Jose Manuel
Director hotel Borghese Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

A small, unique hotel located in the heart of the historic district. An easy walk to everything. The staff is unbelievably friendly, helpful and courteous. They could not do enough for us, 24 hours a day. All were under the caring and watchful eye of the owner who was often present. In an old historic building that is charming, quiet, comfortable and commodious. We felt very safe and secure in the neighborhood and walked the streets at all hours. Many fine restaurants and bars nearby. A great fully equipped, very clean gym across the street. A week was not enough time at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms open to a rooftop patio, although there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Lwranda.
Thank you very much for all your kind comments about your stay at Borghese Palace, for all of us it is a great pleasure to know that the room is comfortable, luxurious and spacious, the location is fantastic for visiting restaurants, galleries, bars, etc.
And the best the attention that you received throughout your stay, attention 24 hours a day, kindness, kindness and attentive to the details.
For all the staff you are a wonderful and unforgettable clients, we keep a fantastic memory.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Boghese turned out to be a most pleasant place to spend a week, with very friendly and helpful staff. It is an old hacienda, but the room was spacious with modern improvements such as large bathroom with whirlpool bath and good shower. There is a lot of communal space, including roof garden, for rest and relaxation. Good continental breakfast with especiallly good Oaxaca coffee. Location is good, near Santo Domingo Plaza, Cultural and archaeological museum, Etnobotanico Garden. Many restaurants in vicinity.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms, and I doubt there is much difference among them.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear Chuck P.
It is a great pleasure to receive all your kind comments about your stay in Borghese Palace for a week, we are happy to know that your suite was spacious, beautiful and comfortable, as well as the spacious Italian bathroom with Jacuzzi for your delight.
The chef thank you for tasting the delicious breakfast offered by the Borghese Palace.
It is good to know that the location was excellent, close to restaurants, galleries, banks, etc.
All the staff of the hotel gives you affectionate greetings, you are unforgettable guests.
Best regards
Josè Manuel Lòpez Ramos
Director Borghese Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Excellent, friendly and wonderful staff. The hotel is a short walk (1 1/2 blocks) to Templo de Santa Domingo and Calle Alcala (great shopping). Highly recommended! Antonio was fantastic and very helpful with setting up site seeing tours and getting taxis. The hotel is only about 6 blocks from the city center (Zocalo).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear Hal F.
t is a pleasure to know that your stay at Palazzo Borghese was morable.
Knowing that all the attention he received during his stay was of high quality, the attention of Antonio and all the staff.
Our location is fantastic, very close to the most beautiful temple of America: Santo Domingo de Guzmàn and only 4 streets of the zocalo make all walks pleasant.
Thank you very much for your visit, we hope to see you very soon.
Lic.Manuel Lòpez Ramos
Director Borghese Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews