We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a nice dinner.”
Review of El Asador Vasco

El Asador Vasco
Ranked #22 of 511 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2017

I was not sure to visit this place, I decided to give a chance and the service was excellent. I Ordered an "Arrachera estilo norteño" and it was very good and peaceful environment.

Thank Hector9016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Asador Vasco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for giving us a chance, we are pleased to know that we don't disappoint you, we look forward to your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Though the restaurant is in a nice location and was very intimate - we seemed a bit rushed as our server pushed us for specific orders and then ran away. The ambiance was very nice and the toilets were extremely clean, I would have to say that it wasn't our favorite restaurant while in Oaxaca. I ordered the personal pizza and my wife had a cheese sandwich. Both were okay. I will say the view from the terrace is entertaining as you watch the crowd below, but we wouldn't go back because we seemed to be rushed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikeycee0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Asador Vasco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

We appreciate your comment sr. Mike, just that we are confused, at Asador Vasco we do not sell pizza and sandwch, we think your opinion is of other restaurant.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We enjoyed sitting at a table overlooking the Zócalo, taking in all of the sights & sounds of Oaxaca below. The ladies who served us were very friendly. The food was a disappointment. The Caesar salad was overdressed and soggy. The onion soup was too salty. The lamb chops were cooked too rare. The snook (fish) with green sauce was too goopy (dripping in butter). Loved the ambiance so if we ever go back we will probably just order a glass of wine and enjoy the view before heading somewhere else for dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DDPJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Food is VERY well prepared, wide menu, well seasoned and good plating.
Service is acceptable, but could be better.
Excellent location with a nice view of the park.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RURALPACHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Asador Vasco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you, we appreciate your visit, we will pay more attention to what you are referring to. We look forward to visiting you soon. We send a cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Frankly why bother eating anywere else in Oaxaca [ except for the first class "Catedral" ] The Asador has a fabulous view of the Zocalo and its sight and sounds (mariachi music, marimba players ,etc). The food and service are very good and reasonably priced for such a super location.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Asador Vasco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

A pleasure to serve you, we appreciate your comment and look forward to your soon visit. Send a cordial greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Asador Vasco also viewed

 

Been to El Asador Vasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing