We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special Place to stay in Mexico City”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 172 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Mexico City does have some beautiful, safe neighborhoods and luckily a friend recommended the Red Tree House ( B & B style). Our room was spacious and quiet, with a comfortable bed & we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the gorgeous, courtyard garden. The host, Jorge is very welcoming and speaks english, plus he has knowledge of most of Mexico. The neighborhood restaurants were varied and tasty. We took the metro during the day with no fear, walked at night near the Red Tree House and felt quite safe. At night the police ride with their lights flashing/ it's comforting to see them cruising.
There's so much to do in M.C. we look forward to returning to a "home" away from home. The website photos are accurate / check it out and have a reasonably priced great vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 983 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed here 3 times in August for a couple of nights each time on our travels round Mexico. It was excellent. Craig and Jorge are wonderful hosts, relaxed and helpful in every possible way. When I arrived ill on our last visit, Adrien came with me to buy pills at the pharmacy, they let us leave luggage while we travelled, and were happy to settle the bill at the end , trusting us to turn up and pay. It really felt like our home in Mexico.

The bedrooms are clean and nicely decorated and the bathrooms are good. The breakfasts were delicious and very flexible. Jorge made a delicious Mexican breakfast one day. Craig made a real effort to find us the right rooms for our family on the dates we needed, and was so helpful on restaurants, places to see and how to get there. He also quickly dispelled my paranoia about Mexico City! Thank-you.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wanderer2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I stayed here with 2 girlfriends and we had an amazing stay. We felt very safe and comfortable and truly loved everything about this place. Jorge and Adrian were amazingly helpful and sweet and really made our stay in Mexico City fantastic. We stayed in the penthouse which was like a private oasis in the city. It had beautifully appointed rooms, very comfortable beds, nice roof deck, living area and also had a dining table and kitchenette. I highly recommend this room! (The only thing..there is a tricky spiral staircase so if you have any difficulty with stairs or require an elevator, this room may not be for you).

The daily breakfast was fantastic with made-to-order eggs and fresh pastries from the local bakery. The staff really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and also gave great tips on places to see and do around town. They never steered us wrong!

I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank redhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

After reading all the previous reviews the Red Tree House B&B in Mexico City's Condessa neighborhood seemed rather too good to be true - but they are absolutely dead on - nice, friendly, great location and reasonable.
Thanks, guys - stayed there twice, starting July 8 - from Peter and Mary.
Also, we highly recommend the restaurant across the street called Photo Bistro - excellent service, excellent food.

Thank bookpublicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

If you're coming to Mexico City I could not recommend the RTH more highly. the staff is fantastic, generous, kind and they make you feel welcome instantly. they went out of their way for us re: all our needs and really "made" the trip to mexico city for us. we stayed in the suite which is like staying in an apartment (has a ilttle kitchen, deck, 2 BR and lots of space). the decor is great too. very clean and modern with an artistic mexican flair. and the location is also fantastic - felt safe, close to the subway but it's also easy to walk to lots of places from their front door. They also provide a nice substantial breakfast every morning which I miss now that I am back!
If I return to MC I would definitely come back and stay with Jorge (the owner) and his crew.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lcdsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
216 reviews
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#48 of 312 in Mexico City
74 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#28 of 312 in Mexico City
366 reviews
Condesa
Condesa Haus
Condesa Haus
#4 of 172 in Mexico City
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: €78 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing