We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's all been said...”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 170 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

it is truly the real deal and a great deal too!!! the lack of pretension, the impeccable upkeep and maintenance is to be highlighted as well. their hospitality is sincere and left me in near disbelief. i thought i'd see one slip up, one area that was neglected, something, but there was nothing. the cleaning crew was pleasant and worked liked busy bees, silently shining, sweeping, mopping, serving every single day. changing out the nearly frail flowers. also, there was never one knock on the door "housekeeping" they don't operate that way.

for the most inscrutible or discerning traveler, they may not like the kitchen towels on the floor upon arrival, this is so you don't slip. abril, lives there and she's the most lovable, clean smelling dog so you must love her or at least tolerate quiet dogs.

there is a great mix of people too, austrailians, indians, brazilians, californians all with very exciting and/or interesting occupations. i've not even touched on the location or the delicious breakfasts! you have to experience for yourself.

p.s. rick bayless, chicago chef and 'ambassador' of all things mexico will be staying there in february, yet again, putting the red tree house on the map!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agent99712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 700 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

If you are the type of traveller, like my wife and I who seek truly unique experiences when you travel then the Red Tree House is a must. The guys who run this place are beyond good, we felt part of the Red Tree House family the moment we arrived. The ambience of the place is is just so warm and distinctive, share a wine with Craig and Jorge, have a laugh with Victor and Alex, and wait until you try Ernesto's yummy breakfast creations. This is a SPECIAL place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fotofriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had two wonderful stays here. The courtyard setting is so peaceful. The rooms are clean, very comfortable beds, modern and beautifully decorated. All of our needs were taken care of by the genuinely friendly staff. Suggestions for sights to see and arrangements were made for tours to fit our schedule. Breakfast was delicious every morning. Happy hour allowed us to meet the other travelers and share our stories. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood of Condesa. We will return to Mexico City and we will stay at The Red Tree House.

Room Tip: We stayed in a different room each time and both were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hofler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I strongly recommend this place for travelers - either couples or singles - seeking a good place to stay in in the Colonia Condesa area. The staff is attentive and well-mannered without a touch of the often subtle hostility and aggressiveness that one often encounters in Mexico. the rooms are nicely furnished with everything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The Red Tree House was the best hotel experience ever! What we so valued was that every single member of the staff here love their jobs and go out of their way to ensure that guests are taken care of. There are no negatives to be said, it all adds up to the plus-plus-side. Every aspect of the rooms have been well considered. Our room, Gardenia, offered a little balcony with table and chairs that looked onto a lush garden which at night was highlighted with subtle but beautiful lighting. Gurgling fountain features completed the serenity of the garden/courtyard. I was rather ill for most of my week in Mexico DF (which had nothing to do with staying here) and all the staff were most kind. A special shout-out to Alejandro for looking after me (and my computer!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLF1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 313 in Mexico City
227 reviews
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#45 of 313 in Mexico City
78 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#29 of 313 in Mexico City
371 reviews
Centro Histórico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 313 in Mexico City
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: €77 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing