We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs”
Review of Testal

Testal
Reserve with OpenTable
Testal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 5,219 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Alameda
Description: Testal cuisine is born from the simplicity of the ingredients and condiments of our land to elaborate dishes of great flavor. ¡Mexican food!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I highly recommend this restaurant. From the beginning to the end, the food and the service were amazing.

Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contacto T, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Testal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comments, they are very important for us. We will be very happy to see you here again soon, it will be our pleasure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018

A memorable meal, served by a professional and courteous staff. My wife and I had the beef tongue tacos, grilled octopus, shrimps and the cornbread desert. Nice ambience, easy to have a quiet conversation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jtang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contacto T, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Testal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comments, they are very important for us. We will be very happy to see you here again soon, it will be our pleasure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

This wonderful restaurant reinvents itself every year.
Starting from a single local this popular place has expanded three times in as many years.
The service is first class; the freshest ingredients are beautifully prepared and presented with continental flare.This year they have created original desserts and pastries.

Our favorite meal is daily breakfast but friends we have referred rave about the regional meat dishes with delicate or picante sauces.

You can get everything from a “green drink” enhanced by nopal or a savory chicken mole.

Thank didreyfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contacto T, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Testal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It is very comforting to receive messages like yours, and we would love to meet you again. If you return, please ask for the management to be able to greet you personally. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Testal is one of my favorite restaurants. The food at first seems traditional, but the presentation is so beautiful, the spices perfect, the service couldn’t be more warm and friendly. Each plate you receive is a work of art. In the morning there is an assortment of liquados of exotic fruits often mixed with healthy plants. The take on each dish is creative and quirky.
I was so happy to find this haven in the Centro Historico that one day I ate three meals at Testal and would have been happy to eat there every day and try the unusual offerings.

Thank annieoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contacto T, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Testal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, they are very important for us. We will be very happy to see you here again soon, it will be our pleasure to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We made a reservation, yet the first 20 minutes was just ... inept. They seated us and then essentially abandoned us for quite some time. Beautiful room, great ambience, interesting menu ... but the waiter just disappeared! Finally the maitre d'hotel noticed us ... and things started happening. Just in time, because I really was thinking about moving on, reservation or not.

The food turned out to be very good, actually better than the restaurant that everyone tells you that is a required stop in CDMX, El Cardenal. The owner came over and chatted with us toward the end of the meal, and we left with an overall good impression of food and service. But I do wish the front of the house was up to the task ...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contacto T, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Testal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comments, these are very important for us because they help us to improve our service, We will be very happy to see you here again soon, it will be a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Testal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Testal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing