We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for drinks”

La Taberna del Leon
Reserve with OpenTable
La Taberna del Leon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #215 of 5,830 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: San Ángel
Cross street: Revolucion & Rio Magdalena
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I like this place for eat and drinks with friend. The soup cantinero is good and the tacos of pork too are good. In general the food is good.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Inspiration123844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018

Tucked away from the centre of San Angel, what struck me most in this impressive restaurant was the quality of produce they use. And it is prepared well too.

Best dishes were a trio of seafood tostadas (octopus, prawn and crab), a delicate and tasty starter, with the crab as a standout; a duck with salsa verde, for me a surprising combination that worked well; and a main of pork chops that featured really, really good pork, perfectly cooked.

This is not particularly innovative cuisine, but it is quite eclectic, with international influences (French, Spanish), and is simply very good.

Service was correct and relaxed. The room is really nice, an old building tastefully decorated, with a pleasant piano bar and an elegant, rather retro atmosphere. It's not the cheapest of places in Mexico City, but very very affordable by UK standards.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank thoughtfuldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Very good food, all in the menu is great. The service is friendly and efficient, and the management is looking after the customers quite well. The house is vey interesting, as it is an old house that belongs to the owners of the factory. It is also located in Plaza Loreto that has a free very interesting museum, the Soumaya.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank seasonedvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

The Taberna, located in a trendy mall in San Angel, is beautiful and comfortable in the most elegant sense. The waiters are dressed immaculately and there are suited maitre d's all over the place. White linen, beautifully set tables, paintings, floral arrangements, warm wood. It is one of celebrity chef Monica Patiño's restaurants.

We had a dozen oysters that were among the best we'd ever had. Then an excellent carpaccio with arugula. Two of our party shared a seafood soup they liked a lot that had been portioned into 2 lovely crocks.

But the entrees were so-so. We had duck roasted in mango sauce with wild rice that was tasty, if a small serving. And some fish filet coated in sesame seeds that was dry and we didn't even finish.

I had to negotiate for 10 minutes to get a green vegetable...they finally gave us a teeny portion of broccoli florets.

For dessert we had a warm chocolate cake with berry sorbet and a cheese platter with Spanish cheeses and three of Monica Patiño's amazing preserves. One was a onion and clove jam, another was apricot with ginger and a third that I don't recall.

The bar produced interesting drinks including a piña colada with Amaretto and there was a nice wine selection.

The meal was expensive but half of the cost in the US. I wouldn't go back, but it was perfect for a 2-hour birthday luncheon.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This beautiful old home, now a restaurant, provides an incredible eating experience. Another offer by Monica Patiño, the well-known chef.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taberna del Leon also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Taberna del Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing