We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
389
257
69
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
257
69
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews british embassy other guests guest house few blocks home away from home chapultepec park paseo de la reforma safe neighborhood hot water street noise stayed nights rooms are comfortable location is great central location felt very safe stay in mexico city courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I suspect that if we had only stayed for one night, as many people do, our review of Casa Gonzalez would have been more positive. However, staying for four nights revealed some major problems that perhaps shorter stay guests would have overlooked.

Most reviewers have raved about the wonderful service received from the front desk staff, the clean rooms, good location, comfortable beds, nice restaurant, and lovely garden courtyard. I would agree with all those comments and understand that for a one night stay, that is probably all anyone might expect.

However, before you book at Casa Gonzalez, you might want to consider the following negatives that we experienced during our 4 night stay:
* When we first arrived, after a long flight, we were looking forward to a nice shower before dinner. We found the toilet would not flush and we could not take a shower because all the water had been turned off in the hotel. That problem was fixed within a couple of hours, but on other days there was a shortage of hot water and we had to have luke warm evening showers.
* We went out on tours each day and expected our room to be made up before we returned at suppertime. However, despite our requests for the room to be made up each morning, and despite leaving the green card on the outside door handle at 9 am, we came in at 4:00 each day but one to find no one had cleaned the room. On the one day that the housekeeping people came to the room before 4:00 they left without making the bed. As a result, I had to go to supper most evenings without a shower, in order to let the housekeeping people do their job.
* Because the hotel advertised free WiFi, we brought our laptop computer. However, we could rarely use it in our room because the WiFi signal was so weak (eg. It would take 1 to 2 minutes for any keyboard command, such as delete an email, to take effect). We were able to access the internet quite quickly late at night and very early in the morning when few other guests were using the system. But who wants to do that every day.

Casa Gonzalez is rated as a 3 star hotel on Tripadvisor. I suspect that rating compares the hotel to others in Mexico City. In the USA, 3 stars usually apply to good Best Westerns or La Quintas with breakfast included. Casa Gonzalez is far below these hotels and on a good day might rate 2 stars.

Why?
* The front entrance is right beside the sidewalk. It consists of a small door in a long white wall with a tiny sign beside it giving the hotel´s name. You have to have a key to enter the hotel. Street presence is terrible.
* The price you are quoted on the website for a standard room will get you a very small room, likely facing the busy street. You will pay over 200 pesos extra per night for a Best Western size room facing the courtyard. Do not under any circumstances accept room 115 which is located right about the main entrance door which will slam behind guests multiple times, all night, while you are trying to sleep.
* The rooms have few amenities. You will receive shampoo only. There is no shelf beside the sink to put your toiletry items on, nor are there any hooks in the bathroom to hang your clothing. You will receive only one towel per day and no facecloth.
* The restaurant has 2 very large tables only. If you want to have a quiet, personal conversation with your partner, you are out of luck. Moreover, the restaurant does not open until 7:30 am. We were always very rushed because we had booked morning tours.
* The hotel is not very quiet before midnight, even if you have a room facing the courtyard. Every night, there were people talking in the courtyard and dogs barking behind the hotel. We never had a good sleep, despite the comfortable bed.
* There is no AC in the rooms. The ceiling fan in our room vibrated badly and was too noisy to use. We were far too hot at night, even with the outside temperature being below 20C.
* The finish in the rooms is very amateurish. Painting has been sloppy, there are chips out of the walls, and some floor mouldings are badly damaged.

What we paid for a larger courtyard room, plus breakfast, was about what we pay in the USA for a Best Western hotel, using Priceline. That is too much for what you get. We suspect you can do better in Mexico City if you do some research on Trip Advisor, and would not recommend Casa Gonzalez, especially for a stay of longer than one night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your most detailed review, we are very grateful you took the time to tell us what you thought about the house.
I am sorry you did not complain immediately about your room to make things right.

I believe you were here just after the earthquake.
Immediately after the earthquake all gas was shut down until it was inspected.
The house where you were took us a little longer to check. This meant you did not have hot water for several hours.

I believe you paid $54.27 USD for a double room (plus taxes per night). I am sorry to hear you think this was a bad deal. We have had many property tax increases recently, it is hard for small properties like us to make ends meet. Anyhow we will continue to work to keep our prices as low as possible and work on fixing the issues you kindly point out.

We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I was in MX city for a solo long weekend trip and this was recommended through various blogs, Tripadvisor, lonely planet.. and I was so glad to stay here. The place is centrally located, few blocks from reforma, the staff is very friendly and speak English. The place is well maintained and has a charming, quaint feel to it.. the single room was small but cozy with all amenities. Not sure how are the bigger spaces for a family, but it is perfect for a solo stay, wifi connects well even in the rooms, running hot water is available and you wouldn't need an Air conditioner.. The restaurant downstairs serves good food, there are also lot of eateries nearby.. you will have a pleasant stay.!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank gold6386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The hotel is a beautiful small hotel across from the British Embassy. It is close to may restaurants and stores and only a couple of blocks from Reforma. The staff are some of the best that you will find in any hotel in the world. Many of the guests are repeat customers and I will be of these. I stayed at this hotel in the early 1980s and will soon return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Spent four nights based on recommendations I found on Trip Advisor. Couldn't find a nicer and more helpful group of staff members. They treated me so well. Arranged for 3:45 am taxi, recommended places to see, provided maps. Room very clean and comfortable. The location was safe (close to British and US Embassies) and walking distance to a lot of wonderful sites. Also close to the Reforma 222 mall and Touribus locations. I loved my time in Mexico City and will return to the city and the Casa.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tankstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This hotel is a block away from the US embassy in Mexico city so from the stand point of location and security is just excellent, The hotel is a good place for business travelers or families without children. Although it lacks of pool, bar and other amenities that American hotels offer, this hotel is nearby reforma Avenue and surrounded by tons of small to big luxurious restaurants. The facility is well maintained, clean and above all: Affordable. Rooms are big, dress up in the most classical Mexican fashion with nice and comfortable beds and pillows. Due to the hotel layout the noise is quite low and acceptable taking into account the local traffic. Restaurant is clean, good menu variety representing local cousin. I have to admit that I was pleased after 10 nights. If I have to choose between this one and the Sheraton Hotel which is 2 blocks away I recommend Casa Gonzalez.

The only two things to watch for: Wifi ( somehow idle inside the rooms ) and lack of air conditioning, which does not feel bad at all taking into account the high ceilings in the rooms.

Downside: lack of good toiletries ( tooth paste, body lotions and so on ).

I grade this hotel as solid 4 stars.

Room Tip: Look for a goos wifi spot.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your most kind review.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay again with us soon.

I do need to add, less expensive rooms are smaller, but the price difference is not that much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews