We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Zocalo Central(Mexico City)
US$140
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Mexico City(Mexico City)
US$341
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$106
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$91
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Las Suites(Mexico City)
US$185
US$174
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$106
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
US$213
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Suites Contempo(Mexico City)
US$127
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,660)
Filter reviews
3,660 results
Traveller rating
3,000
498
103
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,000
498
103
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelterrace restauranttiffany glass ceilingtiffany styleart nouveauoverlooking the squarejose luiswrought ironnational palacedepartment storemaster suitetemplo mayormain plazametropolitan cathedralhistoric buildingtop floorspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 3,660 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel on a friends recommendation, as our Aero Mexico flight got cancelled and we had 12 hours in Mexico City. Apart from our flight being cancelled, Aero Mexico and Aeromar I cannot fault, they were always on time, something some of our airlines in Australia could take a page out of their book. Courteous and beverages on every flight. But because our flight was cancelled we got to stay at this beautiful hotel with all it's history, which the very knowledgable bell hop informed us. As we weren't there for very long didn't get to see very much, and had dinner on the hotel's roof top restaurant and bar. A very beautiful hotel and highly recommended. Right next to the square.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avenue12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you to share us your comments and let us know that your stay was satisfactory, thanks to the great location, the history and the Terraza restaurant. Likewise, we are pleased to know that our staff provided a great service. We look forward to see you again in Mexico City.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Ok, so...I went to this restaurant from a recommendation from a colleague with whom we had visit d Mexico with.
From the entrance it’s exquisite. Very beautiful.
We went upstairs to the restaurant, very clean and absolutely amazing customer service.
The Margaritas are awesomest....loved them.
Our waiters were Gabriel and his work Partner Miguel. Above and beyond customer service.
I will be back...with my friends and colleagues

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Esther,

Thank you for rating us and of course for taking some time to comment. It was wonderful that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de México and the Terraza restaurant. We hope that the dishes, the view and the service were perfect for you, Gabriel and Miguel will continue to attend with passion and dedication. It would be a pleasure to visit us again and enjoy our Brunch on weekends.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife and I had the honor of staying in this hotel from October 5-9 2017. Obviously the proximity to the museums, parks, shopping, located on the Zocalo Plaza, the historic designation, photos, fantastic restaurant, room service like no other, and numerous awards don't need to be expounded upon; those are just facts. What is indescribable is the feeling you have at this hotel. You are living inside a sculpture. Sure Gustave Eiffel designed the elevators, there is a stain glass ceiling in the lobby that will take your breath away, flowing Art Nouveau railings to make your heart melt, but what really makes this hotel come to life is the staff. It is no accident that this is a 5 star hotel. Upon arrival, the doorman, the front desk, all the staff make you feel welcome as they do at most 5 star hotels. As my wife and I were saying our goodbye's to the staff today, my wife and I both felt something we've never felt before. That the staff was genuinely sad to see you go. All of them. You become part of their family. There was nothing mechanical with how you are treated here. It is with all the warmth and comfort of family. But, not in a way to intrude, always with the greatest respect and dignity to respect your stay. Yet, you are cared for. The team at this hotel works together so well, it is something you need to experience. IF you are having any debate in your mind to stay here, don't think twice. You too will become one of the family. If you like music and there is a concert you will see and hear it from your plaza room. We loved the music. IF you want quiet, ask for a room far way. But remember, the music only lasts a few hours, the view is for your whole stay. We look forward to our next stay!!!

Room Tip: They are all great!! Read last line of my review.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGeo33156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest,

Gran Hotel Ciudad de México thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are so proud that you loved our building and the Art Nouveau style. All of the staff attend with passion and love every day in order to make your stay more comfortable, all of the will be congratulated. We are sure that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. We hope to see you again in Mexico City and continue to create together memorable moments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I loved everything about this hotel . I'm sure all the reviews are positive as they should be .
The most outstanding feature is the staff .
They are truly wonderful.
Say hello to Jorge the doorman for me !

Room Tip: In the late afternoon people would sing Opera arias in the street to an appreciative crowd and I would listen from my balcony .
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Anthony,

Thanks for giving us your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Hotel Ciudad de México. We are so proud to know that we met your expectations and you really appreciate our service which is always polite friendly and unique, Jorge will be glad to receive your greeting. We hope to see you another time when you return to Mexico City.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I was so looking forward to staying at this hotel and it did not disappoint. What a beautiful place to stay. From the stunning ceiling, to the old world charm and the most attentive and helpful staff. They helped us with all inquiries and a special mention to the taxi drivers they use. They were some of the friendliest taxi drivers ever. The room was very comfortable, we ate in the cafe and had drinks on the roof top terrace. The location is brilliant for exploring the old city. We loved Mexico and we were so sad to hear of the terrible aftermath of the earthquake and our thoughts are with you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Annzie,

We feel pleased to know that your stay with us was perfect. Our colleagues are always trying to achieve the satisfaction of our guests, we are always looking for ways to meet all of your expectations. Be sure that every time you decide to visit us our staff will be eager to help you in every way you need. Come back soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews