We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting location. Beautiful hotel. Good price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We arrived at the Gran Hotel just as a major free concert was going on in the Zocalo. Our taxi couldn't take us all the way to the hotel because of crowd control. The energy of the concert was amazing. We were able to watch it from our balcony and simultaneously on a big screen in our room.
The downside was the noise level in the room which wasn't compatible with sleeping. Even on other days when the concert was shut down the street noise in the afternoon and evening was distracting. Opera singers took turns singing on the street right outside our window and some weren't bad, but terrible organ grinder noise went on almost without break. Luckily very late at night everything quieted down.
The hotel is very pleasant. Staff is very friendly. The doorman, Jorge, got to know us very quickly. Rooms are large. Beds large and very comfortable.
We tried Sunday brunch in the Terraza restaurant. We enjoyed a great buffet, but prices were pretty high for Mexico.
There was a problem with temperature regulation in the room. We were too cool most of the time. The thermostat might have been disconnected. Changing it made no difference. In October not much temperature regulation is really necessary and we never complained to management.
We did enjoy our stay. If we had stayed in rooms away from the front of the hotel we might have had a more peaceful stay, but then we would have missed out on a great view and entertainment.
And you can't beat the location: In the middle of the Centro Historico with many interesting museums and other attractions in the neighborhood.
With such an attractive price and location we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose between quiet and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank asdf12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your sincere words about your recent stay at Gran Hotel Ciudad de México. We are so good to hear that the location, the service provided by our staff, the room with a comfortable bed and the buffet were fully satisfactory. Jorge will feel so proud to read the comment.
Mexico City is really cosmopolitan full of activities all the time and noises is part of it, nevertheless we have special rooms for people that can´t sleep at night and if they are available we can give you one, also we are placing anti-noise windows in order to have the most peaceful time with us. We hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 2,921 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel on a friends recommendation, as our Aero Mexico flight got cancelled and we had 12 hours in Mexico City. Apart from our flight being cancelled, Aero Mexico and Aeromar I cannot fault, they were always on time, something some of our airlines in Australia could take a page out of their book. Courteous and beverages on every flight. But because our flight was cancelled we got to stay at this beautiful hotel with all it's history, which the very knowledgable bell hop informed us. As we weren't there for very long didn't get to see very much, and had dinner on the hotel's roof top restaurant and bar. A very beautiful hotel and highly recommended. Right next to the square.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avenue12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you to share us your comments and let us know that your stay was satisfactory, thanks to the great location, the history and the Terraza restaurant. Likewise, we are pleased to know that our staff provided a great service. We look forward to see you again in Mexico City.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Ok, so...I went to this restaurant from a recommendation from a colleague with whom we had visit d Mexico with.
From the entrance it’s exquisite. Very beautiful.
We went upstairs to the restaurant, very clean and absolutely amazing customer service.
The Margaritas are awesomest....loved them.
Our waiters were Gabriel and his work Partner Miguel. Above and beyond customer service.
I will be back...with my friends and colleagues

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Esther,

Thank you for rating us and of course for taking some time to comment. It was wonderful that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de México and the Terraza restaurant. We hope that the dishes, the view and the service were perfect for you, Gabriel and Miguel will continue to attend with passion and dedication. It would be a pleasure to visit us again and enjoy our Brunch on weekends.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife and I had the honor of staying in this hotel from October 5-9 2017. Obviously the proximity to the museums, parks, shopping, located on the Zocalo Plaza, the historic designation, photos, fantastic restaurant, room service like no other, and numerous awards don't need to be expounded upon; those are just facts. What is indescribable is the feeling you have at this hotel. You are living inside a sculpture. Sure Gustave Eiffel designed the elevators, there is a stain glass ceiling in the lobby that will take your breath away, flowing Art Nouveau railings to make your heart melt, but what really makes this hotel come to life is the staff. It is no accident that this is a 5 star hotel. Upon arrival, the doorman, the front desk, all the staff make you feel welcome as they do at most 5 star hotels. As my wife and I were saying our goodbye's to the staff today, my wife and I both felt something we've never felt before. That the staff was genuinely sad to see you go. All of them. You become part of their family. There was nothing mechanical with how you are treated here. It is with all the warmth and comfort of family. But, not in a way to intrude, always with the greatest respect and dignity to respect your stay. Yet, you are cared for. The team at this hotel works together so well, it is something you need to experience. IF you are having any debate in your mind to stay here, don't think twice. You too will become one of the family. If you like music and there is a concert you will see and hear it from your plaza room. We loved the music. IF you want quiet, ask for a room far way. But remember, the music only lasts a few hours, the view is for your whole stay. We look forward to our next stay!!!

Room Tip: They are all great!! Read last line of my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGeo33156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest,

Gran Hotel Ciudad de México thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are so proud that you loved our building and the Art Nouveau style. All of the staff attend with passion and love every day in order to make your stay more comfortable, all of the will be congratulated. We are sure that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. We hope to see you again in Mexico City and continue to create together memorable moments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I loved everything about this hotel . I'm sure all the reviews are positive as they should be .
The most outstanding feature is the staff .
They are truly wonderful.
Say hello to Jorge the doorman for me !

Room Tip: In the late afternoon people would sing Opera arias in the street to an appreciative crowd and I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Anthony,

Thanks for giving us your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Hotel Ciudad de México. We are so proud to know that we met your expectations and you really appreciate our service which is always polite friendly and unique, Jorge will be glad to receive your greeting. We hope to see you another time when you return to Mexico City.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,517 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
216 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#37 of 312 in Mexico City
972 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: €107 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing