We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indescribable-Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife and I had the honor of staying in this hotel from October 5-9 2017. Obviously the proximity to the museums, parks, shopping, located on the Zocalo Plaza, the historic designation, photos, fantastic restaurant, room service like no other, and numerous awards don't need to be expounded upon; those are just facts. What is indescribable is the feeling you have at this hotel. You are living inside a sculpture. Sure Gustave Eiffel designed the elevators, there is a stain glass ceiling in the lobby that will take your breath away, flowing Art Nouveau railings to make your heart melt, but what really makes this hotel come to life is the staff. It is no accident that this is a 5 star hotel. Upon arrival, the doorman, the front desk, all the staff make you feel welcome as they do at most 5 star hotels. As my wife and I were saying our goodbye's to the staff today, my wife and I both felt something we've never felt before. That the staff was genuinely sad to see you go. All of them. You become part of their family. There was nothing mechanical with how you are treated here. It is with all the warmth and comfort of family. But, not in a way to intrude, always with the greatest respect and dignity to respect your stay. Yet, you are cared for. The team at this hotel works together so well, it is something you need to experience. IF you are having any debate in your mind to stay here, don't think twice. You too will become one of the family. If you like music and there is a concert you will see and hear it from your plaza room. We loved the music. IF you want quiet, ask for a room far way. But remember, the music only lasts a few hours, the view is for your whole stay. We look forward to our next stay!!!

Room Tip: They are all great!! Read last line of my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGeo33156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest,

Gran Hotel Ciudad de México thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are so proud that you loved our building and the Art Nouveau style. All of the staff attend with passion and love every day in order to make your stay more comfortable, all of the will be congratulated. We are sure that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. We hope to see you again in Mexico City and continue to create together memorable moments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 2,920 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

I loved everything about this hotel . I'm sure all the reviews are positive as they should be .
The most outstanding feature is the staff .
They are truly wonderful.
Say hello to Jorge the doorman for me !

Room Tip: In the late afternoon people would sing Opera arias in the street to an appreciative crowd and I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Anthony,

Thanks for giving us your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Hotel Ciudad de México. We are so proud to know that we met your expectations and you really appreciate our service which is always polite friendly and unique, Jorge will be glad to receive your greeting. We hope to see you another time when you return to Mexico City.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I was so looking forward to staying at this hotel and it did not disappoint. What a beautiful place to stay. From the stunning ceiling, to the old world charm and the most attentive and helpful staff. They helped us with all inquiries and a special mention to the taxi drivers they use. They were some of the friendliest taxi drivers ever. The room was very comfortable, we ate in the cafe and had drinks on the roof top terrace. The location is brilliant for exploring the old city. We loved Mexico and we were so sad to hear of the terrible aftermath of the earthquake and our thoughts are with you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Annzie,

We feel pleased to know that your stay with us was perfect. Our colleagues are always trying to achieve the satisfaction of our guests, we are always looking for ways to meet all of your expectations. Be sure that every time you decide to visit us our staff will be eager to help you in every way you need. Come back soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My Husband and I stayed here in September. The hotel is very ornate with a beautiful ceiling and original old lifts.

The room was spacious and the beds comfortable. The location is inn The heart of the city so we got around easily by foot, there are always plenty of places to have a beer and dinner also a short walk away.

From the moment you check in to the moment you leave the staff can't do enough for you. There is even free Champagne! During our stay it was my husband's birthday and whilst we were sitting in the foyer waiting to go out for the evening the staff surprised him with a birthday cake and they sang happy birthday, he was really honoured.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Heidi,

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico thanks for sending your comment about your recent stay. We are more than happy to know that your experience was amazing, we are proud to know that we have achieved memorable moments to you. Please feel free to call us if you plan to come back again soon, we will be glad to see you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This was a very nice hotel to stay in and in a great location. The rooms were nice and the staff was super friendly and attentive to us. There is also a good restuarant with a view overlooking the Plaza. Really exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimmycusack1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Jimmy,

We are very thankful with you for writing this review of your pleasant stay. Thank you also for choosing Gran Hotel Ciudad de México to stay while you were in our city, we are sure all of our staff are pleased reading the above comment. It will be a pleasure to see you again and together continue to create memorable moments.

Best regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,517 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
216 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#36 of 312 in Mexico City
972 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: €107 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing