We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful views and food, an amazing experience”

El Balcon del Zocalo
Reserve with OpenTable
El Balcon del Zocalo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 5,532 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Histórico
Reviewed 13 June 2018

I dined here with my family for dinner. The highlight was the amazing views, overlooking the Zocalo square, which we admired from when it was still bright to after sunset. Food was great- two of us tried the 9 course tasting menu which was a reasonable price. It was good quality and I particularly enjoyed the spring clam chowder soup. We also ordered the guacamole with toasted grasshopper which was enjoyable, it was fun watching our waiter make the guacamole it in front of us. Drinks are slightly overpriced, I have had better margarita's at less than half the price. Special thanks to our waiter Esteban who was highly attentive to our every need. Loved the experienced overall.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Kei,
Thank you very much for your generous words. It is really encouraging to know that everything was perfect during your family dinner at Balcón del Zócalo.
Our Chef Pepe Salinas has created a menu that enhances the flavors of Contemporary Mexican cuisine. We are glad that you enjoyed the 9-course menu, as well as our helpful service and marvelous view to the heart of the city.
Our main aim is to delight our diners with our contemporary Mexican cuisine and attentive service.
We encourage you to come back soon!
Regards,
Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

we stayed for 2 nights in Zocalo hotel. Breakfast in the El
Balcon with a perfect view, a nice warm and cool day in the morning. A good cappuccino, fresh made juices, fresh cooked meal for breakfast. I love the enchilada with salsa poblana , I wish I had booked this hotel for 3 nights, I really want to eat that enchilada again ,the puree beans with ham inside and good chocolate croissants.
Love love,

Thank Fonzpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Fonzptv,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your kind comments about your stay with us and your visit to Balcón del Zócalo.
We greatly appreciate your comments. We are pleased that our marvelous view, breakfast menu and cuisine were to your liking.
Please come back soon! We will try our best to surprise you in every bite.
Regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

The restaurant has good food, and great views of the Zocalo. The restaurant is part of Hotel Zocalo Central on the top floor. We were not very hungry and had only soup and salad. Both the food and the ambience are very good

Thank arvind1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear arvind1000,
Thank you so much for your preference and for sharing with us your review about Balcón del Zócalo.
It is pleasing to read that you had a fantastic time with us thanks to our wonderful view from our terrace and cuisine.
We strive for our diners’ happiness.
Please come back soon!
Regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

In a week trip I ended up going 3 times the food was so good. And if your lucky you can also get tables with the most fantastic views. This is traditional food with a twist. All excellent ranging from cod to guacamole sprinkled with grasshoppers to a fantastic steak. You have to go.

Thank UKSamphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear UKSamphire,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us your impressions about your 3 different visits to Balcón del Zócalo.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our wonderful view to the heart of Mexico City as well as our cuisine
We strive for your satisfaction.
We look forward to serving you soon.
Regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

They’re the best!!! Live the view, the service, the quality, every details, Was amazing, the hosts were wonderful Paty & Paola

Thank Mss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Mss M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your wonderful comments about our restaurant.
We are honored to read that you had an amazing experience at Balcón del Zócalo and that you enjoyed the wonderful views from our terrace, as well as our service and cuisine.
Our Chef Pepe Salinas has created a menu that enhances the flavors of Contemporary Mexican cuisine, we are glad that you enjoyed it.
It would be such a pleasure to have you back.
Regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Balcon del Zocalo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Balcon del Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing