We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety and ambiance ”

Mercado Independencia
Ranked #1,031 of 5,842 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: US$2 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Alameda
Description: Colectivo gastronómico en el corazón de la CDMX.
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

If you find yourself near the city center and have been walking for a while because you can not decide what to eat come to this place. Whether it's warm or raining it has a very nice setting with terrace and lots of place. If you come with a group of friends you'll find enough sitting places for all but also, everyone will be able to order whatever food they are in the mood for: burgers, tacos, tortas, fish, tamales.
All this comes with amazing cocktails made of tequila, mezcal or your favorite classics like vodka and rum. This place is not cheap but it offers a very affordable price and a good value and quality of products.
At the ground floor you'll find some dessert with mascarpone but the best will be the Carajillo (an espresso shot with 43 liquor) ask for the shake version you will love it!

Definitely recommend this place if you are into the hipster vibe.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank cloe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017

Either we totally missed what's happening there or this is not a market but rather an eclectic food court. All we were able to see were a dozen or so local take out food vendors. There's a good variety of fare available from Middle Eastern to Argentinian. Nice bar set up on the lower level and good roof top tables.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice place. Clean. Many choiches of food and drink. Affordable and friendly.

I eat at "Del Cardumen", very good seafood, prompt service and had a drink at Cava Independencia, great service.

Worth a visit!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank PabloRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This concept is quite hot right now in the city. I strongly believe that those food markets are nothing more but an upscale food court places, which is quite convenient.
Maybe this is my favorite one. Food options are balanced and most of them are great, even you will find very unique options such as russian food.
During our visit there was a jazz group playing which made our time there very enjoyable.

It can be a bit challenging to find it, but when you do it will transport you to another place, you will forget the jungle of outside that is our downtown. Actually, that's the only negative point that I see, the location, for that reason I can't go as often as I want.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Loved the selection of different food stalls plus great little bars and big communal seating, on the second and third floors of a historical building. We tried ceviche, a banana-chicken-mole tlayuda, some tacos and some mezcal and it was all excellent. Family friendly, even on a Saturday night. Note that most of the food stalls are on the third floor so keep heading up the stairs!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercado Independencia also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mercado Independencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing