We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It May Be Rustic, But the Location is Priceless!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa de la Plata
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed 20 April 2017

The City of Guanajuato is not only the site of the Birthplace of the Mexican Independence, it is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Situated in a narrow valley, the surrounding hillsides offer spectacular views of the city. Villa de La Plata is located on the hillside, next to the Valenciana Mine and Temple. Getting in and out of the city is easy and inexpensive.
The Gomez Familes have been staying at this hotel for the past 15 years, and although there are many rooms that need refurbishing, we have always been fortunate to have clean and well maintained rooms. The last review is almost 2 years old so I feel the need to update any future visitors and let you know that improvements continue. We just checked out on April 15th 2017.
The site manager, Silvia Salazar, has always been available and open to change our rooms if there were any problems. Yes, there may have been problems with utensils and/or appliances, but to complain about such unimportant issues means that 'people are looking at the floor and not looking at what lies beyond'. The small store across the street from the hotel has whatever necessities are needed: dish soap, coffee and creamer, water etc. The Villa is our rest and re-energizing spot after a long day of exploration of the city and state.
Two tips for visitors: the rooms to the right side of the entrance to the office are all refurbished and are great; contact Silvia Salazar if you have any problems or requests. I wholeheartedly recommend a visit to this city as well as this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Califas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2015

EVERYTHING in our apartment needed cleaning, fixing or replacing. The staff was sweet and wonderful and did everything they could, but the replacement towels they brought, for example, were still aged and mismatched. The resort seems very short of budget and supplies. The maintanance man didn't even seem to have a can of WD40. Being accustomed to the standards of Worldmark by Wyndham resorts, this one fell short. But it's OK for a while; if you have to stay here to see Guanajuato, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BarbieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We arrived early for check-in and waited for 2 hours. Upon entering the appartment we noticed mould floating on liquid in the carafe of the coffee maker. Inside there was mould on the metal filter. We don't believe anybody had used this appartment for at least a week !!
Yet, we waited 2 hours for this.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Goodresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Worst thing is the noise, on a very busy street uphill so the trucks are all in low gear making terrific loud grinding noises all night,beds are hard!! The property itself is very nice, very authentic Mexican decor and easy to get to once you figure it out. Bus can pick you up right outside by flagging it down across the street, but be sure to yell when you want to off upon returning, it is a local bus. No one spoke English so be prepared with a translater app. Housekeeping came daily, however I had to ask for dish detergent X2 , told no by the front desk, so went to housekeeping directly and they were not pleasant about it. Lots of stairs and hilly so be aware of that. Pool area clean, but indoors so hot, but refreshing. Rec Room fun, we only played ping pong as the pool table is pesos. Mirror fell off the wall, no result of us, just fell and when we told management that day he said no problem, but they made us pay 250 pesos when we checked out. Not sure I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms were very big and comfortable for our family, but maybe try to ask for one not near the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel2u57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just went to the closure of Cervantino and as we imagined the city was a mess, we went to this hotel because a tourist guide took us there and it was really expensive for a 4 stars hotel, which I do not think is a 3 stars.
The sofa is really really bad I almost damage my spin on it. The internet signal was so bad that we never were able to connect, so I recommend if you go ask where the access point is because otherwise you will not have internet.
We had the breakfast as part of the price we paid and the waiters not even waited to we finish and we had the 2 dishes in the table.
We were really disappointed for what we paid. We really liked the city so we will try to go next time when the city is less crowded.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
6.3 km away
Hotel Gran Plaza & Convention Center
1 km away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#15 of 55 in Guanajuato
28 reviews
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Casa Magica Hotel
Casa Magica Hotel
#26 of 55 in Guanajuato
25 reviews
1 km away
La Abadia Tradicional
La Abadia Tradicional
#29 of 55 in Guanajuato
141 reviews
3 km away
Embajadoras Hotel
Embajadoras Hotel
#25 of 55 in Guanajuato
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa de la Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de la Plata

Address: Carretera Mineral de Valenciana Km 3, Guanajuato 36240, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: €70 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa de la Plata 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa de la Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing