We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #4 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Morales Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our first trip to Guadalajara - This hotel is beautiful, so much that I kept wanting to walk around in the hotel just to enjoy the beauty. The staff was so helpful and many spoke English helping us even more. Free internet, no need to bring your own laptop. Rooftop pool and patio. Close to everything. The staff did everything and more to make our trip even better. And the room we had was so comfy, cosy - a courtyard on our floor. Five star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    452
    75
    40
    26
See reviews for
373
520
125
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I booked two low priced internet-rate rooms from a travel site, one for us and one for our friends. One of the rooms was a spectacular suite with two balconies and the other a small stuffy windowless room. It was as if Candid Camera was playing a joke on us filming our faces when we arrived at our rooms. First there was delight with us all waltzing around the grand room and then our sad faces of "what the...???", when we saw room #2.

Of course we wanted another balcony suite but were told by the front desk the hotel none were available. We were shown a room with one window, no balcony, and two single beds (which was occupied). We looked at a couple of more double bed rooms and then we offered to pay extra for an upgraded room. Eventually we found a room that made us happy but it was with a lot of effort from our bell-man Jose who worked directly with the manager by-passing the front desk.

Over-all the hotel was great and the reviews here on Trip Advisor are accurate. We would stay at Hotel Morales again. Next time however, I will book directly and specify a room hoping the front desk will honor my request.

Room Tip: Ask for a room #123 or 223 or 323 for the double balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody_440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We had 2 nights here in March 2012. A taxi was waiting for us at the airport, which we'd organized before hand. The hotel was really pretty and just what I'd been hoping for, a feeling of oldness but with all the amenities that we needed. The water bottles were a nice touch and so was the Wifi. We didn't use the pool, too hot up there for us, but ate our breakfasts in the restaurant and were very happy with food and service. The front desk staff were very nice and it was a bonus their English was so good, as our Spanish is not. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if I ever get back to Guadalajara, I'm staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent 3 days here in March 2012 and were more than satifsfied with the hotel, the room, the service, the buffet breakfast, the 3-piece Mexican trio in the bar, and everything in general. Location was great next door to the historical centre, squares, cathedral, etc., etc. etc. Special thanks to the staff, Jose in particular. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have stayed back in this hotel 4 more times since my last review back in 12 feb 2011. The last 2 x they hv finished their refurbishment and the swimming pool and the gym addition was fab, though the sauna, and massage spa was not ready still. The pool table outside the only restaurant is fab. Nothing bad to say about this hotel, Great maids service with a smile, porters helpful, reception average. Clean, airy, air cond working well. Food not bad. Free 2 bottle of fwater every day, free internet, location great (though always wiith some sort of festival going on in mexico, the front road can be noisy loud music of celebration that can take up till 4am. (though management sent a thoughtful prewarned notice to guests) Its a lovely 3+ star hotel, price is abit more higher then 2 other hotel that hv equivalent service and rooms (abt 3x more), but those 2 hotels just not as pretty and efficient as morales.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiajclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#26 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 km away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
4.6 km away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#17 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.7 km away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 125 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.9 km away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#19 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Property: Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#6 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing