We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The BEST in GDL, hands down” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ganz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Ganz
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Tequila, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST in GDL, hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We operate specialty, small-group tours in Jalisco, and say without reservation that Villa Ganz is the best hotel in the GDL metro region, period. Not only are the facilities fantastic, charming and unique, the service is unlike anything else you will find in Mexico. From Sally Rangel (the über-professional and incredibly charming manager) on down to the kitchen staff, everyone is a total pro. You will NOT regret staying here.

Room Tip: Master suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceTequila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    28
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
164
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I came to Villa Ganz expecting a lot after reading the comments here, but still expectations were exceeded. From the small stuff (overnight shoe polishing service) to the big (internet connection). I was amazed at how fast a problem I had with wifi was solved simply by installing an extra wifi router in my room. Superfast internet in my room as almost as important as a good bed. And the bed… well, the only reason I stayed awake in it for longer than a few seconds was the brick domed ceiling, which looks too interesting to immediately close your eyes.

No wonder that this is a place where movie stars stay. Breakfast in the garden was wonderful too – big plates of fruit (cubed, not sliced, to make things easier for the bleary eyed) and delicious chilaquiles. Wonderful staff, it was never a problem to make me breakfast, even at 2 in the afternoon!

The location is also perfect, in the middle of a safe neighborhood full of restaurants. I loved everything about Villa Ganz. I’ve stayed in a lot of five star hotels but this really felt like home – a bit better, actually.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This hotel was in a great location for what we needed and thus we could walk almost everywhere. Nice area- we walked back from the many nearby restaurants and felt safe always. Staff are very attentive and helpful and there is always someone who can speak English. It is lovely to sit and read or have coffee in the morning in the garden. The Villa is beautiful and a step back in time. When we arrived we were apprised that we could choose between two rooms since one abuts a wall that has a nightclub on the other side. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest the room further away- we stayed and it was fine. Sundays and Monday the club wasn't even open. This is not a hotel for children. If you require a guide the desk found one promptly for $25USD /hour and he also not only spoke great English but was funny and very informative. He will take you anywhere you want to go and we went to the Herradura Tequila factory( i would recommend it ) and did the tour and then went for a late lunch before heading back to the hotel. Our guides name was Melchor Ornelas. Overall if you want a guaranteed great hotel experience- stay here.

Room Tip: When we arrived we were apprised that we could choose between two rooms since one abuts a wall that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Having just returned from another magical visit at Villa Ganz, I just have to write another review. It has been 2 years since our last visit, but we were greeted by the same familiar, friendly staff and immediately made to feel like we were home. EVERYONE at Villa Ganz works like they are family and will help you with any request. The garden breakfast is beautiful and romantic but also a peaceful retreat if you happen to be there on business. It is not by chance that they are #1 in Guadalajara!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parsis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Villa Ganz is a spectacular oasis in the middle of Guadalajara, a city of wonder with visual treats around every corner. From the sublime hospitality of Director Sally, and Managers Armando and Manuel, to the superb service, Villa Ganz is a true gem. We highly recommend Villa Ganz for anyone who wants a home away from home. Our room was quiet and comfortable with beautifully appointed antiques. Every thought was considered by the hotel, from welcoming us with wine and fruit, to organizing a spa visit, to a Christmas meal prepared especially by Armando’s Mother, to a special gift of Villa Ganz tequila when we departed. And, Villa Ganz offered an amazing culinary class (not to be missed!) with the very special Chef José Vázquez Aquino who took us shopping at an outdoor market then instructed us on the fine art of the cooking specialties of Guadalajara. Our wonderful private driver and guide, organized by Villa Ganz, was Melchor (“Mel”) Jiménez Ornelas who made our trip extra memorable. (http://tequilasource.com/guadalajaratours.htm)

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of Villa Ganz overlook a beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMRCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
3.3 km away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
2.7 km away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.2 km away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#28 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
2.4 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#6 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
3.3 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Property: Villa Ganz
Address: Calle Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#2 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing