We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
26
10
3
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
10
3
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We've traveled to Zihua for the past 9 years. Always stayed on Playa La Ropa, but no availability earlier this month. Found Casa Kau Kan on line. Traveled with another couple. Our pool view rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The pool was awesome. There was virtually no one there. The beach was stunning, though we were advised not to get in because of the waves and the under-tow. Granted they only serve breakfast (fresh squeezed OJ - pure yum) and lunch and no Wi-Fi or tv - go with the flow. The staff was very attentive, but spoke very little English - we all made it work. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a pool-view room. The ocean-view rooms were stunning and the room over the dining area was unbelievable.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R-and-M22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 5 in the evening. We checked in and were surprised when they told us they could not serve the evening meal. Their internet connection was so bad that they could not get my credit card to work. If we wanted to eat they would summon a cab. The location was lovely and quiet and the beach was deserted. We were shown our room and at first it looked OK.
As they could not feed us we decided on an early night. The shower only offered cold water and the tap in the basin barely flowed. The lighting in the room was very dull with no bedside lighting, so we could not read.
In the morning we went down for breakfast at 8am and were offered awful tasting coffee and later a food menu. I chose huevos rancheros and it came as eggs on a thin pancake floating in tomato coloured water. It was outstandingly horrible but I was hungry so I eat it.
We had planned to stay for 9 days but left that morning feeling very sad that a charming place had been made into a nightmare by very poor management.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Antony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Very secluded location right on the beach. Great place to lay in the sun and chill. We stayed here for a few days then moved to another hotel closer to zihuantenjo for the balance of our stay in the area. Taxi to town was 140 peso depending on your negotiating skills. There are 11 room. All were filled while we were there but we only saw a few guests over the 3 days we spent there. We had room 4, no fridge (some rooms do have them).

This is a very clean property inside and out and I would give it 3 stars. Linnens and towels are not new nor were they old and frayed. No frills.... no wifi, tv or telephone. The beach is large, awesome as very quiet. The surf can be rough and there is a warning when you sign in not to swim in the ocean. The pool is clean, refreshing and in good shape. Several local beach reastarunts (most close at 6 pm sunset) 10 min walk south on the beach. Mostly seafood. Covienience stores on street down by reastarunts (open till 9pm). We brought movies on a tablet and a good bluetooth speaker and had theater under the stars on the beach every night :) Hope this helps.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The rooms are large and comfortable. The location is fabulous..right on the beach. Almost deserted beach that is about 15 km. long. Big waves. The staff do not speak English but are truly nice people. Ricardo, the owner, speaks perfect English and is very friendly and helpful. No internet. Beach bars about 500 metres away have cheap beer, good food. Food is fine at Kau Kan, but the restaurant closes at 6:00. About a 15 minute taxi to Zihuatenejo restaurants.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms have nice balconies and of course, great views.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bmwm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed here several years ago and looked forward to a return visit. Unfortunately things do not always stay the same. The hotel is in need of some upkeep. We booked through Booking.com. Their web site indicates the hotel includes such things as hairdryers, radios, minibars, carpeted rooms, trouser presses and irons - none of which were in our room. When you enter the property you are faced with signs that food and drinks are not permitted from outside, despite the fact that the room included a refrigerator. The meal service was only available from 9 am to 6 pm when the young lady who served as both a cook and maid was present. We chose to eat at the adjoining property where the food and service was outstanding. Of interest, the hotel's web site indicates the least expensive rooms at this time of year are $787 with a bold statement of "All rates in US dollars." That may explain why only two rooms were occupied while we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews