We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
449
117
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
117
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi on the balcony master suite lounge chairs walk into town wedding planner no elevator beautiful hotel sitting area hotel guests overlooking the bay downtown zihuatanejo boutique hotel great pool mexican hotel ceviche common areas family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We loved this hotel. We have been to Zihua a number of times but always at places on La Ropa Beach. This is such a special place that I know we will stay again. The pool area is very nice with an upper deck area away from the pool for shade, views, reading etc. The lobby/entrance is beautiful and a great place to read too or go on through to the small bar overlooking Madera Beach. This hotel has lots of steps and the rooms are built into the side of the hill with the wonderful restaurant at the bottom and the lobby at the top. Every one of the employees we met were welcoming, kind an genuine. Trip Advisor has that breakfast is included in their information from reviewers but it is not included for all of the rooms. We had a junior suite and it was not included. We ate breakfast there every day and it was always good and very reasonable. We had dinner there the first night and it was very special but since we had spent very little time in this part of town in the past, we tried out lots of other great places to eat as well. Most of the other restaurants we went to DO NOT take credit cards. We have not had that experience in the past so were afraid we were going to have to find a bank or cash machine but the exchange rate is so good right now that we made it work!

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Caribbeanfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

I won't repeat what others said about the number of stairs but it does require a moderate level of fitness but hey you can't lie around on the beach loungers all day! We found the hotel staff particularly helpful and pleasant from the check-in to the check-out. Whatever small issue that we had were corrected with a smile thrown in. Visitors should not expect a formula chain hotel but what you find here is a tastefully decorated Mexican home away from home. For example there is an iron and ironing board, coffee, tea maker and the hotel provides two small bottles of water each day since their tap water is not potable. For more water there is a small convenience store across the street run by a delightful family. The restaurant, not owned directly by the hotel, has a wonderful setting on the beach but could be a better in terms of food and value but there are so many little restaurants in Zihua that this is not a big deal. A big plus is that there is yoga on the beach three doors down several mornings a week and you can walk along a delightful beach walkway all the way to the town pier past where the fishermen bring in their catch and selling fish every morning to locals. At the pier there are little boats (panga) will take you to another beach Las Gatas for a change of scenery. One can also walk in the other direction to La Ropa beach. The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is that the bathrooms need a bit of sprucing up as they are a touch tired but I don't hesitate to recommend Aura del Mar as a delightful place for a relaxing holiday..

Room Tip: upper floors have better views
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KasperVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I discovered this outstandingly beautiful property 10 years ago and returned for a special birthday in January of 2017. I found that stupendous service, gorgeous grounds and wonderful relaxing atmosphere had not changed one bit. It will be a winter vacation destination for me each year from now on and I was truly disappointed that I hadn't booked a longer stay this time. The staff is unbelievably incredible, especially the front desk staff - Jacqueline, Carlos, Miguel, et al and also my sincere kudos to the housekeeping staff for their diligence in a spotless room each day, accommodating every need with smiles on their faces. As other guests mentioned, flowers on beds with towels turned into swans greet you upon daily cleaning. Extra pool towels whenever you need. My partner asked them to order a bouquet of roses as a surprise for my birthday. We returned to the room with the largest basket of roses we'd ever seen and were so impressed with the florist the hotel staff ordered from. We were also upgraded to a large suite which was another very pleasant surprise. The property feels secluded from any room you have - all with great ocean views and all have excellent outdoor verandas with big lounge chairs that are extremely comfortable. It's a convenient walk to many great local restaurants - we loved Terracita for breakfast, Rojo's for freshly grilled fish and vegetables, Tentaciones and Case que Canta for special dinners. A walk to town is just 5-10 minutes along "Lovers Lane" on the beach or via the streets inland. So fun and vibrant at night - music, people and interesting shops. See you next January, Zihua and Aura del Mar - muy benito!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsKikipdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We were reluctant to write a review on this wonderful little hotel. As another client stated, let's just keep this little secret to ourselves. But that wouldn't be fair to the truly outstanding staff at this hotel. Like many others, we've traveled the world and customer service is huge to us. This hotel has it in spades!! From the professional warm management courtesy of Miguel and Janet to the outstanding and personable front desk staff , we sincerely thank you for making our stay so wonderful. A personal thank you to our beautiful Jacqueline at the front desk - your warmth and beautiful smile always made our day even better. And not to forget the wonderful housekeeping staff,Alicia and Guadalupe - always beautiful flowers on our bed, a warm smile and greeting and outstanding service. Everyone at this hotel makes you feel special and really goes the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one. Even Carola brought a smile to all that passed.
I'm not going to go into the wonderful choice of rooms, the intriguing nooks and crannies, the lush greenery and magnificent flowers or the wonderful pool as that's been done.
What makes this hotel memorable is the people and their truly outstanding customer service. We can't wait to come home again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelwithval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We did a lot of research looking for the right place for my 40th birthday. This hotel has it all. Incredible views, service, and atmosphere. It's close to town without the noise and right on a very chill and beautiful beach. The resturant is great for breakfast, lunch and a upscale dinner. There are a lot of stairs but they help work off the Margaritas and great food.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews