We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa del Sol Resort(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$363
US$279
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$297
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bungalows Arena Dorada(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
US$159
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$190
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arena Suites(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BM Zihua(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
US$541
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura del Mar Hotel(Zihuatanejo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
17
14
12
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
14
12
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are basicrooftop restaurantcasa sun and mooncoffee pottvoceanmexico
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

It's in need of a renovation, but is very affordable and ultimately what draws people to Zihuatenejo. The property across the street is owned by the same people so you can use the access there (and pool). We found that to be the saving grace. The staff is very friendly, speaks multiple languages, and go out of the way for the guests. Beds are nothing out of the ordinary for Mexico. Small, hard, and wobbly! When we try the restaurant tomorrow we will review it for you as well. #cheers

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank willis_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

im staying at this hotel for 5 days...its very basic...no wows to be said.would nt pay more than 50$ a night.the hotel is old..the rooms are clean ,the staff is pleasant, no need to worry about things disapearing.no fridge,no water,no blowdriers. would pay a little more and stay at the miramar right next door.

Stayed: February 2016
3  Thank aline14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Lovely traditional hotel; rooms are basic with two double beds, shower, A/C, shelves for clothes, small TV (not used) and not much else. There is a large, common sitting area outside each room, beneath the overhanging terrace roof. Breakfast is served in the restaurant onsite, menu is Mexican style, tasty food, good coffee and OJ. The hotel is about 100 yds or less from Playa Madera and there is also a good size hotel pool, very clean, much enjoyed. I would definitely return to this hotel, but not for those who enjoy luxury resorts !

Room Tip: We booked a Superior room, on 3rd floor, view of sea and pool below.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

A quiet and safe hotel in a very quiet and safe area!! This is our 6th time staying at Caracol or the sister hotel Sun and Moon across the street. It really does feel like a home away from home. From the greeting at the front desk from Elizabeth and Carlos to the welcome of Bernard, Cesar and Perla, we are taken care of from start to finish. I watched how the first timers were treated and they received great treatment as well. One hotel to the other is a matter of choice. I like Caracol for the relaxed manner and the great pool. Sun and Moon is closer to the bay and the sounds of the ocean. We have access to both pools and the cooking area at Sun and Moon. The unexpected pool party this year, with Pepe the owner and his wife, really topped off a vacation that brought family and friends together for an easy vacation. It is an easy walk to downtown, any of the three other beaches, or to a different dining area. This roof top restaurant has a sunset dinner that is not experienced in any other place. Juan makes some very smooth drinks and Hector's pizzas are mouth watering. Our rooms were cleaned daily by a great staffer who spoke no English, but knew what was needed every time. Perla always had a smile on her face and a warm greeting for us every day in the dining room. The breakfast, that was included, was varied to our choice and I rarely, if ever, needed lunch, We will be back again and will be bringing more friends.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Belugas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

The wifi was chaotic at best. Some deices worked on the passwords and some you had to sit by the reception desk to get service. The daytime restaurant was very pleasant with a good mexican menu. Food was good. The evening restaurant or terrace was not run well at all. No supplies on hand and an unsettling attitude.Very nice pool area but no flow of air into the property.

Room Tip: If you don't like A.C. you are out of luck as the rooms do not have ceiling fans
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Canamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews