We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
147
131
35
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
131
35
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la ropa ocean view party scene dona prudencia per night year after year included breakfast oceanfront room beautiful beach front row closer to the beach low season flat screen each morning las gatas the entire staff vm
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

This was our second trip to this place. Great beach & sitting area. I wished we would have found it sooner. We used to stay in Ixtapa, never again. The rooms were very clean & refreshed every day and the whole hotel is very well kept. Wonderful, friendly staff as well. The rooms are very basic; but pretty and comfortable, very relaxing. I recommend upgrading to the ocean view on the second floor. Good restaurant on site, but pass on Paty's. La Perla restaurant is a short walk or cab ride away. Another great place is Momma Norma's in Ixtapa, Chipotle Camerones to die for, Los Braceros in Zihau Has great mole chicken. Also for Breakfast go to Adelita's down the hill from Hotel Irma. Hand made tortillas! Breakfast & sodas are included with a coupon at the hotel. We are going back! Meg & Dave

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This was our first time staying at Villa Mexicana. We have stayed in Ixtapa at the Barcelo about 18 times. We could have stayed there for the exact cost of Villa Mexicana but with the Barcelo being an ALL Inclusive package. Friends booked at the Villa so we thought we would join them.

Our friends package included drinks and breakfast. Thought our package included the same but once we checked in we found out it only included the drinks. The drinks; Very little "free" selection which only included the basics. Canned Beer cost $3.00 US and a White Russian was $6.00 US with the peso being 17 at the time we were there. One evening I asked for a cup of coffee. I was told there was a charge for that also so I declined.

Food and Drinks at Restaurant Mary and Elvira (located on each side of the Villa along the beach) were half the price and very good! Both served top shelf liquor to!

We stayed in room 1503. It was clean. Our shower had good pressure but we never had hot or even warm water for showering. Maintenance was called but it was not fixed during our 1 week stay. We were not offered to switch to another room either.

The pool was relaxing and the grounds of the Resort were well kept

Loved Playa La Ropa Beach, the massages were amazing!

Room Tip: You can pay to upgrade to a ocean view room
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This was our 2nd visit to Zihuatanejo and the Villa Mexicana....same date as last year... and it just keeps getting better ! The Management and Staff go out of their way to make is 'great'.....and to give you a reason to come back again ! The same Staff, and many Friends (guests) that were there last year were there again this year...so it was like 'old home week' ! Staff members like Jose-Luis, Javier, Lilly, Roberto and all the others are 'the tops'.....and of course the GM Zandra Almada make you so very Welcome ! Hope to be going back again next year....Stay tuned !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 001CanuckGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed a week for the 3rd time. It was a really relaxing vacation. Service is better and faster, kudos for including the drinks. Rooms need a little work in the showers and pillows. Besides that, everything is great! Thank you Erika Lopez, Miss Sandra Almada and Eloisa from the reception, you made my vacation time a wonderful and relaxing vacation with my parents.

Room Tip: Ocean front are the best
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Can't say enough about this place, we love the location, the staff is wonderful and helpful. The drinks included is new this year and we felt it was worth it. Love seeing the waiters receiving the tips that they so deserve!! Our 10th stay here and already looking at the 2018 calendar. Thank you to you all!

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the upgrade, be patient because they will accommodate you.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank bizylizzy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews