We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Not sure why, but we've just been informed of a 50% increase in the room rates for 2018. This was a favorite of ours and many other repeat guests. The location to the beach, efficient and friendly staff more than offset the small rooms which lacked a mini frig, basic small swim pool and poor or no WiFi. We generally make a reservation up to a year in advance but the reservation department there has been reluctant to take reservations or quote prices until just recently. And now that they have, wow! $185 US a night for mid January through March? I've never been a fan of the All Inclusive concept, and certainly wasn't impress when this place raised last year's prices to include an afternoon drink package. Availability of some drink items were inconsistent and the only beer available was light colored and dark colored tap beer served in a 8-10 ounce plastic cup. And based on my last communication with the reservation department, renting without the breakfast and drink package is not an option. What a disappointment

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ted61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Director Comercial at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Customer:

We thank you for your comments, thanks to them we have improved.
It is correct, the rates have suffered a necessary increase due to improvements that we have made. With the exception of last year that we included the drinks we had several years without increments, they were made analyzes and costs therefore the delivery of tariffs was until April.
In the next few days we will have pre-purchase offers for our distinguished clients, we ask you to keep pending and do not lose this offers or you can communicate directly with us to our telephones or mails to provide you with a better service.

Claudia Nunez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

This was our second trip to this place. Great beach & sitting area. I wished we would have found it sooner. We used to stay in Ixtapa, never again. The rooms were very clean & refreshed every day and the whole hotel is very well kept. Wonderful, friendly staff as well. The rooms are very basic; but pretty and comfortable, very relaxing. I recommend upgrading to the ocean view on the second floor. Good restaurant on site, but pass on Paty's. La Perla restaurant is a short walk or cab ride away. Another great place is Momma Norma's in Ixtapa, Chipotle Camerones to die for, Los Braceros in Zihau Has great mole chicken. Also for Breakfast go to Adelita's down the hill from Hotel Irma. Hand made tortillas! Breakfast & sodas are included with a coupon at the hotel. We are going back! Meg & Dave

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This was our first time staying at Villa Mexicana. We have stayed in Ixtapa at the Barcelo about 18 times. We could have stayed there for the exact cost of Villa Mexicana but with the Barcelo being an ALL Inclusive package. Friends booked at the Villa so we thought we would join them.

Our friends package included drinks and breakfast. Thought our package included the same but once we checked in we found out it only included the drinks. The drinks; Very little "free" selection which only included the basics. Canned Beer cost $3.00 US and a White Russian was $6.00 US with the peso being 17 at the time we were there. One evening I asked for a cup of coffee. I was told there was a charge for that also so I declined.

Food and Drinks at Restaurant Mary and Elvira (located on each side of the Villa along the beach) were half the price and very good! Both served top shelf liquor to!

We stayed in room 1503. It was clean. Our shower had good pressure but we never had hot or even warm water for showering. Maintenance was called but it was not fixed during our 1 week stay. We were not offered to switch to another room either.

The pool was relaxing and the grounds of the Resort were well kept

Loved Playa La Ropa Beach, the massages were amazing!

Room Tip: You can pay to upgrade to a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This was our 2nd visit to Zihuatanejo and the Villa Mexicana....same date as last year... and it just keeps getting better ! The Management and Staff go out of their way to make is 'great'.....and to give you a reason to come back again ! The same Staff, and many Friends (guests) that were there last year were there again this year...so it was like 'old home week' ! Staff members like Jose-Luis, Javier, Lilly, Roberto and all the others are 'the tops'.....and of course the GM Zandra Almada make you so very Welcome ! Hope to be going back again next year....Stay tuned !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 001CanuckGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed a week for the 3rd time. It was a really relaxing vacation. Service is better and faster, kudos for including the drinks. Rooms need a little work in the showers and pillows. Besides that, everything is great! Thank you Erika Lopez, Miss Sandra Almada and Eloisa from the reception, you made my vacation time a wonderful and relaxing vacation with my parents.

Room Tip: Ocean front are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
461 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#36 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
97 reviews
1.6 km away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#66 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
16 reviews
1.6 km away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#46 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#22 of 23 in Ixtapa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mexicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mexicana Hotel

Address: Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: €93 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mexicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mexicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing