We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
US$557
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Sol Resort(Zihuatanejo)
US$454
US$444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura del Mar Hotel(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Embarc Zihuatanejo(Zihuatanejo)
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$405
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tentaciones Hotel(Zihuatanejo)
US$238
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$443
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Cuitlateca(Zihuatanejo)
US$1,153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
143
128
35
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
128
35
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya la ropaocean viewbasic hotelper nightparty sceneyear after yearfloor roomhot waterlow seasoncloser to the beachincluded breakfastbeautiful beachlounge chairsfront rowflat screenrelaxing vacationeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Would highly recommend this boutique hotel. Service was excellent. Rooms were clean & close to the beach. This hotel also had a great restaurant. Happy Hour was every day from 5-7 which was a bonus, but only included cocktails, no beer. Restaurant & drinks were only available to 10:30 during the week & 11:00 on weekends. Very quite area which is just what we wanted. Close to several great restaurants such as Paty's, Elvira's & Mary's. There is also a great snorkelling area to the right close to the rocks. We saw turtles, skates, rays & fish everyday.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

thank ou very much for your comments about villa mexicana and wish you come back as soon as you can

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now and cannot believe the incredible value. Great location on fabulous Playa La Ropa. The rooms are not fancy but Villa Mexicana is a well-run hotel. An egg-crate from the local warehouse store helps the mattress tremendously - the only downside. A great spot in Zihuatanejo!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank JPCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

thank you very much for your opinion about villa mexicana we know you have been for twice and hope you come back thnk you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Although there are fancier spots to stay nearby, I think I'd still choose Villa Mexicana out of all of them.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, and service was very accommodating. Hotel security keeps a watchful eye over all the guests- my friend left her glasses on a chair for an entire day and they were still there the next night.
Definitely opt in for the free breakfast in the morning, it's the perfect start to the day. The beach is centrally located, and a prime location for swimming and sunbathing. You can walk about half a block for an hour long massage that costs 200 pesos (Victor was my favorite).
I'd say the only drawback is that the hot water took awhile to heat up, but once you know you can plan accordingly. Also, the wifi was pretty spotty, but that gave me the perfect excuse not to worry about work.
I definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

thank you very much for your opinion of Villa Mexicana,of course we will hopr you come back as soon as you can
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Friendly helpful staff - amazing relaxing beach right outside your door with a short talk or local bus ride to 'town' - lots of great eateries. This is our second trip to this hotel and area - many attractions easy to 'book' and very interesting to see. Snorkelling is one of my personal 'things to do' - and i enjoy walking the beach each morning. Photo quality sunsets to enjoy while eating 'right near the water'.

Room Tip: although wifi 'available' it is 'spotty' to get on.... however - if this is a 'holiday' you are on - that won't be a problem:)
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

We Thankfull for your comments about Villa Mexicana , and wish you come back as soon as you wish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

This is a very friendly, clean and convenient location that can't get you much closer to the beach. From check in to check out we found every employee there to be extremely friendly, professional and efficient. The on site restaurant is a jewel and the layout of the pool area and common spaces make for a very relaxing place to isolate yourself or meet new friends. If I look real hard, the only negative thing I found was that the wifi service was terrible. This would be a problem if you needed service for business back home or needed to stay in touch with family. We survived and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Stay away from ocean side if wave noise bothers you.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ted61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Thank you very much for your opinion, we will do our best about the wifi and hope in your next visit with us you find this service ok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews