We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
210
203
56
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
203
56
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bag of ice ocean view love hotel happy hour infinity pool la ropa no elevator steep hill short walk older hotel mexican hotel a million dollar view styrofoam cooler wi fi breakfast included chose hotel public areas
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We loved this hotel and I tried to book for first week of February and was quoted $114 per night calling the hotel directly. Is this an extreme increase in rates or an error, certainly was nice but not that nice. We last stayed here 1.5 yrs ago.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Director Comercial at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear client:
The price per night per room for next February 2019, for one double room with an amazing ocean view, including all taxes and american breakfast daily, price $2190.00 MXN
It is the same price we had in February 2018.
Remember the exchange rate changes every day. If you would pay your reservation today, the price in USD will be $109.00 USD per nigth, including all taxes.
You can call us directly for any question or write at vtasmexhotelsatprodigy.net.mx
It will be a pleasure to assist you.
Claudia Nunez
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We booked this as a last minute and are so glad we chose to stay at Hotel Irma.
Beautiful location, great pool, wonderful warm staff, great room! The views are amazing but the staff are the real winners; exceptional in every way.
This one is a winner.
!Gracias a todos!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nedgulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Nedgulden:

Thank you for choosing Hotel Irma and we exceeded your expectations in our service and facilities. We hope to see you soon to make your next vacation surpass the previous one.

Cordially,

Yara Cadena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Hotel Irma is a wonderful authentic Mexican hotel. The views are spectacular from the infinity pool and from the ocean view rooms. The staff is amazing and very polite. This was our second stay and can't wait to go back again next year. We always felt safe and never experienced any problems while out and about. Everyone was always pleasant and helpful.

Room tip: Floors 4 and up have better views
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Sandy S:

On behalf of all the collaborators of the Hotel Irma, we want to thank you for the time dedicated to share your kind comments, we hope to continue being your first choice and serve you as you deserve in your next visit.

Cordially,

Yara Cadena
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I'd much rather stay at a true Mexican hotel than a huge resort, even though "Mexican charm" cuts both ways. Irma is in a great location, quiet and safe yet with easy walking access to the main part of Zihua, and while you do have to climb quite a few stairs to get back to the hotel from the beach, it's nice to have beach access right there. The hotel is attractive, clean and well kept, and the staff friendly and helpful. They have a decent hospitality room for early arrivals and late departures, The pools are very nice and the view from the infinity pool overlooking the bay is great. There was a hot tun on the upper deck but it was dirty and looked to be out of service, otherwise that may have been a nice spot especially in the evening. We booked an ocean view room with a patio, the view from the room was great and it was nice to be able to sit on the patio for an afternoon siesta or evening drinks, although it would have been nice to have two loungers rather than the one lounger, one chair, and one small table that each room had. The room was tiny but adequate. My wife really didn't like that there was a step up between the beds and the sink/bathroom area, she struggled with that during the night, a small night light would have been helpful. The air conditioning struggled during the heat of the afternoon and it was often warmer than we'd like it when turning in for the night. I'd have appreciated a small refrigerator in the room to keep a few bottles of water and some drinks in, and I was surprised that the hotel included only one small bottle of water per day with the room, not nearly enough for two people. Previous guests had left a foam cooler from Oxxo on the patio, so we moved it into the room and made a few treks to Oxxo for ice and water, as they were much less expensive than from the hotel. Our housekeeping service was excellent, except for one day when we were shorted towels and did not get a water, but I mentioned that to the front desk and it was quickly corrected. My two biggest complaints would be that the wireless internet did not work in the room, and hot water was not consistently available. I spoke to the front desk about it and they sent a maintenance guy who thought he needed to open a valve for us. He went and did so and that improved things, but at times we just didn't get any hot water. Considering the climate in Zihua that's not a real big deal, but I do prefer to shave after a hot shower so it was a bit of an irritant. Many guests complained about the wireless and nothing ever seemed to change, so we would all go hang out in the lobby to check email and messages from home a few times per day. The hotel made us sign an agreement at check in, one item of which was that we couldn't bring our own beverages to "public areas", with some pretty strong charges for violating that policy. The policy was vague as to if water was a beverage, and it didn't really matter much so I didn't bother to clarify that, but no one ever bothered us about having our water in the lobby while using the wifi. i considered our patio to not be a public area and so we saved some money by buying drinks at Oxxo and ModelORama for our evening relaxation. The restaurant/bar at the hotel were good but much more expensive than eating and drinking in town. In the end, I would certainly stay at Irma again, with all its Mexican charm.

Room tip: I recommend an ocean view. There are no elevators.There can be noise around the pool but it closes at 9 PM.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Mark C:

On behalf of all the collaborators of the Hotel Irma, we want to thank you for the time dedicated to share your kind comments and feedback.
On the other hand, refers to the internet or wi-fi, we are working on it so they can enjoy a wider internet reception.
You have to be sure that all your comments are taken very seriously and we work hard to continue giving you the opportunity to serve you as you deserve and make your next stay exceed the previous one.
We wait for you soon.

Cordially,

Yara Cadena
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Cannot say enough positives about this REAL Mexican Hotel - Excellent people from Reception to Waite staff to great food to cleanliness, just a happy bunch of workers doing a GREAT job for their customers. Pools and Restaurant have magnificent elevated view of Playa Madeira. Location is awesome as could easily get anywhere in Zihua (Beaches, Restaurants, Shops, etc.)...by foot. Will definitely be back, as Zihua is now my favorite Mexican city, as lots of character and always felt safe even at night. What a friendly town. Sorry Ixtapa, but you don't have the character of Zihua.
One small note, the rooms are only about 3 star, but ALWAYS very clean. All else is so great that I now consider this part of the character. Loved this place.

Room tip: Book early if you want a view room, as views are spectacular. Regular rooms normally have no view at all, but are very clean.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruising-Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Cruising-Ron:

We are very pleased that the team of collaborators of the Hotel Irma has met your expectations and allowed you to enjoy our facilities and services, we will continue working and doing what we like most, which is ... to serve you as you deserve.

We wait for you soon.

Cordially,

Yara Cadena
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews