We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
609
138
43
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
138
43
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon suite viceroy zihuatanejo la marea plunge pool every morning coffee and pastries lounge chairs tennis courts beach resort beautiful beach beach service the entire staff amazing resort deep sea fishing each evening guacamole every meal
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Viceroy hotel ...fabulous destination, if you want to unwind, be pampered, and have consistent good weather , this is the place to be .Beach front , huge infinity pool right on the beachfront , bars restaurants, some rooms with their own plunge pools.without a doubt , one of the best , beautiful beach just outside your door , the
Grounds ,gardens are immaculate, the staff, cleaners, groundsmen, barman, front desk , all happy and friendly and helpful.a credit to the hotel, all of them .Best of all, no high rise buildings or hotels in the close vicinity, thanks to the forsight of the founder, Helmet Leins, who purchased the land in close proximity to the Viceroy,..to stop those disgusting high rise developments from spoiling this slice of paradise . The Viceroy Residensias are the same, perfection for a "Get Away From It All" holiday . Adobe style.......just chill out and enjoy .

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear Jenni D,
thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel and the services we are providing. Fortunately no buildings are allowed on Playa La Ropa higher than the largest palm tree, resulting in this tranquil and serene feeling of our wonderful beach and the surrounding hillsides. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We just returned from an amazing four night stay in this gorgeous resort and we're returning in July because we loved it that much. We also ungraded to a beach suite, which was perfect. Huge thanks, Viceroy, for taking such great care of us!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Christopher Q,
thank you for your kind note and for re-booking with us for July; we are excited to be able to welcome you back to the Viceroy on Playa La Ropa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

If you truly want an exceptional "vacation" look no further than the Viceroy. Small, intimate suite hotel with impeccable service on the best beach in Zihuatanejo. The service is outstanding, the location second to none and the bar tenders the best in Guerrero.

La Ropa Beach is a fabulous spot for everything related to water sports. Close to "real Mexico" in Zihuatanejo and Calle Playa Blanca and not a planned community with strip malls as in Ixtapa. Waves are small even with strong afternoon winds and water/beach are super clean. Nice for families but exceptional for couples.

The Viceroy is a gem. We have stayed at some very, very nice locations in the area (Capella, Las Palma) which are great, but for a truly beachfront experience where you can swim 24/7, enjoy many local beachside restaurants and watch the casual activities on the beach there is none better.

The Viceroy "service" is embedded in the team at the hotel. Flaco is a magician behind the bar and truly a super nice guy. Everyone from the front desk to the in-room team are fantastic. The rooms are clean, comfortable and large. The beach suites are, well, beach suites. Private decks, small pools and hammocks on the beach. The other rooms (Lagoon suites) are beautiful as well and with a family would prefer the back of the hotel at night where it might be a bit more secluded but with a beautiful clean lagoon right outside.

Food is exceptional but priced as one should expect. But if you want to walk 100 feet on the beach to the local restaurant/bar there are exceptional options at more "local" pricing. Pitcher of Margaritas for $10/US and a local beer and chips for $2. Or just let Flaco work his magic and not worry about the bill. Breakfast was always fantastic and not to be missed. Lunch was served beach side and dinner under the stars.

Grab BS 10 (second floor above bar) for a couple or LS12 for a large family. WiFi strong everywhere so yes I did work here and there. Showers are "cool" but its Mexico and the beds are soft for my standard (I'm a 90 on a Sleepnumber). Pools are right on the beach, and many options with or w/o kids. I've traveled all over the world, but will put this Viceroy down as one I will definitely return to soon.

Room Tip: BS 10 Awesome but Over bar. The waves are SO loud you didn't hear anything and they close at 11 and we didn't hear a peep.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cburdett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear Cburdett,
thank you very much for your review; we very much appreciate your detailed observations and agree with your comments. Playa La Ropa is a spectacular beach destination where we, at the Viceroy ,are able to cater to both family vacationers as well as couples.
Location, location, location combined with sincere & personalized service.....we can not wait to have you back in Zihuatanejo, hopefully in the near future.
Saludos and warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I don't have enough room to write about my love for this property. We just returned from a family spring break and it was my second visit to the Viceroy. The rooms are enormous, beautiful, clean and romantic. The beach area, palapas, and pools are the best in Zihua. It feels like you have the beach area to yourself even when the resort is full. Quiet, relaxing and peaceful are words I heard the guests using often on this visit. The staff are amazingly attentive. Marcos the bartender is so kind and makes amazing cocktails and Salvadore will start your day right in La Villa for breakfast. The manager Martin and concierge and front desk staff are incredibly kind and helpful. La Ropa beach is beautiful and clean. The area is truly what a vacation should be - calm, relaxing and not crawling with tourists fighting for lounge chairs. I travel a lot and this resort is #1 on my list for "when can I go back!" I know they are going to be making improvements later this year that all sounded like good additions. I hope they do rebuild a small yoga/outdoor exercise space as we missed that this time. Our beach front dinner at La Marea on the last night was a highlight of the trip. Thank you for another amazing visit!!

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong with any of the suites. They are all beautiful and spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Heidi Z,
thank you foir your time in writing your comments, we are truly appreciating you as guest and are glad that you have had a wonderful time. Rest assured that we are continuing our resort enhancements in 2017, come back son and explore the changes....
Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Everything in this resort is excellent. The location of the resort on this beautiful Ropa Beach on Zihuatanejo Bay, is hard to beat, the rooms and all the resort are extremely well kept and clean, the pay attention to all details to make sure their guest have the best possible experience, the staff of this resort is just lovely; Evidently the management of this property is selecting and training their staff in an excellent way, everybody wants to pamper you, everybody in this resort is committed to make you feel good.
It is also very evident they know how to keep the whole resort in perfect shape, meticulously clean and functional, it is very hard to feel you are missing something.
The food is excellent, waiters are very attentive, service at the beach is excellent, drinks are excellent
We stayed in one of the beach suites, just in front of the beach. I can say this has been my best experience on a beach resort, and one my best experience in a resort.
You can not go wrong here

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank capicce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear capicce,
Thank you very much for your review and your detailed observations. We very much appreciate your comments and will for sure share them with our team. We certainly hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future to our Little Paradise on Playa La Ropa.
Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews