We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
103
7
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
7
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piece of paradise beachfront restaurant close to the airport perfect escape virgin beach infinity plunge pool a short taxi ride the penthouse octopus private beach mares alma units marie sergio odor disconnected
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I recently stayed at Marea with some friends and it did not disappoint. It's miles and miles of beautiful quiet beach. Definitely the place to go for a relaxing restful vacation. We stayed in their 3 bedroom penthouse with a private dip pool and gorgeous views of the beach and sunset.
The staff is so attentive and really make you feel comfortable. We especially enjoyed our interaction and service from Sergio at the bar... and Pedro at both the bar and restaurant. Their hospitality was remarkable and made us feel like family by then end of our stay. Jesus and Mauricio in the front desk were also great.
The restaurant on site is small with a very small kitchen but let me tell you that it takes nothing away from the food. I especially loved their chilaquiles and the huevos rancheros every morning. They also have daily happy hour ( 2 for 1 drinks).

I look forward to returning to Zihua and staying here again. We were told about a small fishing town (Barra De Potosi) just a few minutes down that I wish we visited sooner because it was so good and affordable and close to the Villas. You MUST check it out. My two favorite restaurants were Teresitas and Condesa.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloudy0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMM15, Manager at Marea Beachfront Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Miles and miles of beautiful quiet beach is the best way to explain Playa Blanca. Thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you soon. I'll let Sergio, Pedro, Jesus and the rest of our team know how much you enjoyed the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Absolutely beautiful place, setting on a virgin beach, water can be rough, excellent restaurant and service. The prices at the restaurant are a little higher than most places in Ixtapa or in Zihua, but the quality of food is excellent, very fresh and well prepared. This place is a paradise and will be even more amazing when all the amenities are in place. No fighting for beach chairs! No white plastic tables & chairs! This is a very quiet place approximately 10 minute drive from the airport. Marea does have some gathering and BBQs at different times, but if you want to party, you will go to Ixtapa or Zihuatenajo Centro. Taxis are quick to come for pick ups and are usually about 350 pesos to Zihua Centro.

A private organic garden grows the vegetables and herbs for the restaurant. I've had the best cocktails at this restaurant. Also, there's an amazing lagoon for kayaking, and a platform in open air for Yoga lovers. If you enjoy jogging on the beach this is it! You can even sing and no one will bother you. The drive to Ixtapa is probably 20 minutes and to Zihua Centre approx. 25 minutes. The villas are privately owned and can be rented for vacations of long or short terms. Definitely a place to be if you want to enjoy life in a calm zone. I would highly recommend this place!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank yborOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMM15, Manager at Marea Beachfront Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

A true vacation is when you want for nothing. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful paradise and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We were here last year with our kids and were so blown away we purchased a villa! Our dream became a reality a few weeks ago when we closed and got to spend two weeks in Paradise! Within 15 minutes of landing at the Ixtapa/Zihuatenejo Airport we had toes in the sand. The beauty of this place is obvious to the eye. Everywhere you look the views are just stunning. What really grabs your attention though, are the people. Coming back was like having a reunion - reconnected with some and met new friends. All the staff treat you like family...except they wait on you with impeccable detail. You are missing out if you don’t visit this magical place. Can’t wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ljbuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMM15, Manager at Marea Beachfront Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Lori and George,

Treating people like family is the way we love to be. We are so happy to have you in the Marea Family and even more happy to know how much you love it. Looking forward to many amazing adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We had the penthouse suite with a huge deck, private swimming pool and two seating areas. The suite was beautiful, comfortable, and very clean. The pool by the restaurant was amazing and very relaxing to hang around. There was only a few people hanging out at this pool, probably because most suites have a private pool and great decks, so it was very quiet and relaxing. We went for a nice long walk on the beautiful beach. We had dinner, lunch, and breakfast at the outdoor restaurant and all were very good. I loved their basil vodka drink - very refreshing and delicious. All staff were very nice and helpful. On our day of check out we stayed and hung out by the pool for most of the day. The drive to downtown Zihuatanejo is about 20 minutes. This hotel is very close to the airport but you do not hear the planes at all and once you land you'll be on the beach in 15 minutes! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FunVacay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marea Beachfront Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for the positive review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Best place to relax and disconnect. Great experience. Best service ever! Staff goes beyond and above to make you feel at home. Delicious food, Amazing place to have a holiday!!! If you ever visit Zihuatanejo, Mexico stay at Marea Beachfront villas in playa Blanca.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank JoacoCarlini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia A, Director Comercial at Marea Beachfront Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hola Joaco, thank you for your review! We are delighted you had such an amazing stay. All the staff at Marea Beachfront Villas wishes to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews