We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
16
13
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
13
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel encino wading pool wrap around balcony bedroom malecon wifi property
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We have just returned from our 8th year spending 3 months at the Plaza del Rio suites...and what can I say, another happy amazing stay, it is always like coming home....many of us in the suites return year after year and have become a family....and the staff are amazing and lovely people...Imelda, Maria and Carolina who look after our suites, Rene who does any repairs we may need just whenever we ask, fernando the happiest friendliest receptionist, where nothing is any trouble to him....and Claudia who arranges all our bookings, and deals with any problems and will aim to help in anyway possible....this is what brings us back year after year, the apartments are so clean comfortable and the roof area is a great meeting place for all....we love coming home to PV and these suites are our home away from home....a huge thank you to you all and see you next year god willing. Xxxxx

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macandmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Not everyone gets the same rules Must book 3 months???? not everyone? --- to be sure
every suite has many ants and most have sewer smell from shower drain --- noise from
tour bus for sure and if you cancel no credit even if your room is used/booked by someone else -- internet is poor and weak --- every thing no problem we fix BULL

Room Tip: they all have ants noise and sewer smell from shower --- luxury price for old suite and owners dog barking --- do they care? NO
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank helenM55PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We stayed there for the last two weeks in January 2017. The location to the Melacone, beach, shops, etc was very good. The condition of the rooms was good and the room was clean. The suite came equipped with the bare cooking essential, but did not include any kitchen hand towels or soap to wash dishes (better bring paper towels and dish soap). The Internet connection was poor very poor. Told the front desk on two occasions that we could not connect to the Internet, front desk knew but nothing was done, had to go to local restaurant that had Wi-Fi to be able to connect. Overall price was very good with location being a plus. Maid service was every day, shower was good and bed was comfortable once you got over the concrete base the mattress sat on (this is pretty much true for majority of places we have stayed in PV). Rooftop pool is really a wading pool. Lounge chairs are comfortable.

Room Tip: No views to speak of but the rooms are comfortable all location very good
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DB112948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Situated on the Rio Cuale, at night you can her wonderful live music from River Cafe, and it is loud, but only til 10pm. Lack of air conditioning wasnt a problem in January. Maid service is fairly good, and reliable. We tipped her a little each day. I especially liked going to the roof pool to get sun and read (and maybe nap a little). Management was very quick to respond when we had an issue with the restroom. Will definitely check here first on my next trip to Vallarta.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank CindyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The good: Great location, Malecon within 5 minute walking distance. Good restaurants across bridge to the South, about a 10 minute walk. If you're willing to sacrifice a bit of comfort and overlook the cleanliness, it's good deal due to the location. Don't expect an upscale hotel. It is an old hotel, to be fair, keep this in mind. I chose this place since I needed a place on short notice, this was the best I could find, location-wise.

The bad: Found hairs and bugs in one of the beds, so kids decided to sleep on the sofas in the living area. A toothbrush was in the bathroom trash, some paper on the floor. Some sand found on the sofa. So cleanliness was certainly not up to par. There's no sign at the entrance indicating the hotel's location, you have to check in at Hotel Encino around the corner. You pretty much have no choice but to park in the garage across the street if you have your own vehicle, so be aware of this. Beds were hard, not comfortable, but I was tired enough it didn't matter too much. Be sure to check the beds, bathrooms and overall cleanliness when they do the pre-inspection if you do stay here. Noise in the hallways is very noticeable.

Would I stay here again? No, unless my options were limited. However, if the rooms were as clean as they should be, it wouldn’t be so bad considering the price and location. I’d overlook the hard beds and give this place four stars.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lionheart33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews